We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the wonderful Somerville”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Revisiting the Somerville gets better every time. This wonderful 5* accommodation has a great location, superb hosts, stunning decor, wonderful breakfasts and so many added extras!
We highly recommend the Somerville and can't wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I rarely write reviews but I felt that this stay deserved it. I seriously don't know where to start.
The welcome was friendly & professional. Without even asking we were given a map of the area and recommendations of where to eat and avoid.

The decor is simply stunning, it's clear the owners take a lot of pride in their establishment. It is clean, beautifully decorated and every little thing has been thought of to make your stay perfect.

Our bedroom was beautiful, the beds were so comfortable we literally lay in the all afternoon whilst it was raining. The bath, oh my god, free standing roll top with a TV!!! We felt like a movie stars.

The following day the weather was beautiful. After having an amazing cooked breakfast (which proudly boasts locally sourced ingredients), we sat out in the their garden, again a lot of time had gone into this space.

We felt so relaxed there and also very special, nothing was too much trouble.

Being honest I didn't expect this when booking. The prices are ridiculously low for the standards of service and facilities. We have already booked to go back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Tell the owners what you are here for. They are so helpful they will recommend the right room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merboy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lost count how many times we have stayed at the Somerville and each time is as good as the last. We returned this year for a 5 night stay in the garden suite. The refurbished courtyard area and new seating is comfortable for an evening drink. Rooms are decorated to a high standard with furnishings that match the taste of the décor. Breakfast is outstanding as usual. We hope to return again later this year. Thank you both.

Room Tip: Garden area is good for evening drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim10SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have visited the Somerville over the years, and I have to say it just gets better
Cleanliness is superb, stayed in the garden suite and it was superb luxury with ample space
Breakfast is cooked to order and the homemade cakes are to die for
Would highly recommend
5 star quality
Great location

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place , never have we stayed in such a clean luxurious B&B, a hidden gem
Right from the start we knew it was going to be special ,from the complementary homemade cakes available to have with you afternoon tea to the show stopping breakfast!

It was simply the best and we will be returning very soon
Thankyou

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Natalie0470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited Torquay for the first time and used Trip Advisor to help choose where to stay. We were not disappointed; the hotel lives up to the reviews. Excellent locations, short walk downhill into the beach front, shops /bars /restaurants.
We stayed in the garden room which had patio doors leading to a small private enclosed courtyard excellent as you could leave the doors open during the night for air. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Far too many extras to mention but you get the impression anything a guest might forget to bring or require would be accommodated. This is a very well run establishment which manages to be small and friendly but offer very high standards.
Breakfast was as previously mentioned by many was exceptional. Quality products, cooked perfectly and the selection of fresh fruit, and natural organic products was a delight.
We will defiantly return if we are lucky enough to be back in Torquay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Sommerville Hotel is gorgeous,the owners have wonderful taste .
We stayed in the garden suite ,plenty of room amazing bathroom and first class housekeeping.
Beautiful private patio area.The breakfast is cooked to order and the innovative buffet makes an interesting change from the norm .Great location for harbour and babbacombe.
We would definitely stay here again.Highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
535 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
813 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
379 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#9 of 149 in Torquay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £76 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money in 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing