We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cake as well!?”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #7 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cake as well!?”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I recently took my Fiancé away for his 30th Birthday to the Somervile for 3 nights. We also took our 6 month old son as well who was pleasantly welcomed by one of the owners. As soon as we arrived we were made to very welcome and showed around not just left to find our own room. The room itself was fab! Although a deluxe room the owners put up a cot for our baby which was ace. The room was very well decorated and I liked the little touches with the sweets at the side of the bed and how they presented the toiletries in the ensuit. I also ordered a bunch of flowers through The Somervile for my fiancé so that they were in the room when we arrived and I have to say for the money they were well worth the price! Absoultey stunning. The breakfast was also fantastic, clean and well presented. I liked how the baked beans were in a pot not the mess up the plate of food! The staff were all very friendly and polite. Really enjoyed our stay and felt very welcome. And they even had cake that you could help yourself to... Amazing! Thanks for having us, we'll be back! X

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBirdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
790
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham westmidlands
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the garden suite at somerville for 4 days,Great place the roll top bath with TV was outstanding,had our own private garden to sit and take in the beautful surroundings,Great location just a 5 min walk down to the beach and shops,Breakfast and service were the best, fresh fruit each morning, in the afternoon we were all treated to a homemade cake and fruit,you just could not fault the place,this is definetly a jewel in the crown.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a Quiet location with a touch of class outside space this is the b/b for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinky026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

we have been a number of times definetly one of the best and the only place to stay in torquay convenient location cakes and biscuits available to help yourself when you make a cuppa all nice little touches rooms vary from standard to suites what ever your budget commands all nicely laid out the hosts are very attentive without being intrusive breakfast lovely and plenty of choice they also have a new self catering apartment have to give it a go when next down

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clingonshave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stay away a lot and like to choose small places as I have long since got bored with the chain hotels. Sometimes it can be a bit of a lottery but when I discovered the Somerville I really do think that I hit the jackpot.

I know Torquay well since I used to live there and family commitments bring me down a lot and I am so glad that I now have a really decent place to stay. The attention to detail is quite amazing and you can see that they are constantly striving to make the experience better and better. I stayed in a suite and was really glad I did. There was a lovely amount of space and the place oozed quality. Breakfast was probably the best I have ever seen and puts the big hotels to shame. The Somerville is not the cheapest in Torquay BUT for pure value for money I don't think it can be beaten

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and book a suite - you get loads more space and it is worth the extra....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Revisiting the Somerville gets better every time. This wonderful 5* accommodation has a great location, superb hosts, stunning decor, wonderful breakfasts and so many added extras!
We highly recommend the Somerville and can't wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I rarely write reviews but I felt that this stay deserved it. I seriously don't know where to start.
The welcome was friendly & professional. Without even asking we were given a map of the area and recommendations of where to eat and avoid.

The decor is simply stunning, it's clear the owners take a lot of pride in their establishment. It is clean, beautifully decorated and every little thing has been thought of to make your stay perfect.

Our bedroom was beautiful, the beds were so comfortable we literally lay in the all afternoon whilst it was raining. The bath, oh my god, free standing roll top with a TV!!! We felt like a movie stars.

The following day the weather was beautiful. After having an amazing cooked breakfast (which proudly boasts locally sourced ingredients), we sat out in the their garden, again a lot of time had gone into this space.

We felt so relaxed there and also very special, nothing was too much trouble.

Being honest I didn't expect this when booking. The prices are ridiculously low for the standards of service and facilities. We have already booked to go back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Tell the owners what you are here for. They are so helpful they will recommend the right room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merboy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lost count how many times we have stayed at the Somerville and each time is as good as the last. We returned this year for a 5 night stay in the garden suite. The refurbished courtyard area and new seating is comfortable for an evening drink. Rooms are decorated to a high standard with furnishings that match the taste of the décor. Breakfast is outstanding as usual. We hope to return again later this year. Thank you both.

Room Tip: Garden area is good for evening drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim10SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,826 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
510 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
476 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing