We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere & service”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #6 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & service”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

What a fantastic place to stay - so much offered for a very reasonable price. We were immediately welcomed with a cup of tea & we loved the old fashioned decor & nick knacks. Our bedroom was very clean & had some lovely touches like the sweets & was very quiet, despite being on the ground floor. Breakfast was superb. A wonderful buffet plus a fantastic selection of home cooked hot breakfast meals made with fresh, local ingredients. We would definitely stay again. What a treasure we found - and so close to the town centre yet far enough away to be quiet at night. Service first class & personal - great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
797
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in the garden suite for two nights, a luxurious and comfortable two days. Attention to detail, with the extra touches that you just do not see in most guest houses. Immaculate throughout, and you are guaranteed a great nights sleep. You waken to a superb breakfast, and the service is first class. A few reviews have mentioned the two dogs, they are no issue at all. The town is only a short walk down the hill, and we had the advantage of tesding the Somerville own list of where to and not to dine. We would recommend the Greek/Turkish restaurant, great value for money. I don't review often and we are not part of the complaining set!! However, we both felt that our stay at the Somerville needed to be read by anyone looking for some where to stay in this part of England, I will recommend to family & friends this guest house and to any one staying in Torquay. Thank you for a relaxing stay, and we will return in the future. (If we can get in, based on these reviews!!)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex,uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Agree with all the previous comments left as we really enjoyed our 3 night stay here-wished we could have stayed longer.
Location ideal for walking into Torquay.
Good room-very clean and comfortable.
Excellent choices for breakfast-excellent service-nothing was too much trouble.
Loved all the extras (sweets in the room, cake and fruit, rose in bathroom).
Great hosts-would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholidaymaker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in room 1 for four nights and found it to be very comfortable. On arrival we were given information about the local area, including places worth visiting and restaurants to try, this was very helpful and we ate out at two of the suggested places - No. 7 and The Old Vienna, they are fabulous restaurants.
Back to the room: The bed was really cosy and we slept well. Although room 1 is on the ground floor near the hotel car park, this is only a small parking area and is not busy, so we were never disturbed. The bathroom in room 1 is modern and was very clean.
The breakfasts at this hotel are better than much larger hotels I have stayed in - a more than ample breakfast buffet including cereal, porridge, muesli, croissants, LOADS of fruit ready prepared, yoghurts, juices, bucks fizz...I've probably forgotten something, there was so much! THEN there's the cooked breakfasts menu - Eggs Royale and the cooked English breakfasts were delicious. Staff at breakfast were friendly and attentive, service was swift and polite.
The Somerville is located approximately a 10 minute walk to Torquay harbour, not a jaunt at all. A slight hill to walk down and then back up, but it was no problem for us.
There is nothing to complain about at all! Most unusual for me :-) Thanks for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are on the ground floor if you have difficulties with stairs. Room 1 has a shower whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Warm friendly welcome where we were shown to our room and given information about
the routine of the hotel. The room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. We slept soundly every night. The breakfast was exceptional with quality cereal, fruits, yoghurts and a wide range of cooked choices to order. There was fresh fruit and cake available to eat at anytime throughout the day. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twycross
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

What a fantastic boutique hotel, a very warm welcome from the owners, Fabulous room , very comfortable and clean. Nothing was too much trouble.Small details had not been overlooked, sweets in the room and fruit and cookies were available in the afternoon. An excellent choice for breakfast and very nicely cooked and presented along with a choice of fruits, yoghurt, cereals and pastries. I would strongly reccommend if you are visting torquay.

Room Tip: looks like all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Location is great. Our room with ensuite was excellent. It really felt a treat to stay at The Somerville! Little extras are provided for guests, eg sweets on bedside cabinet, fresh rose in bathroom, bottled water in fridge, fresh organic milk, even cake that you can help yourself to. Breakfasts were lovely and service excellent. Adequate car parking. Do not hesitate to book, you will not be disappointed. We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoodandBadPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing