We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly unique hotel, with luxurious rooms and a personal service.”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I have stayed at the Somerville Hotel many times and it is the one hotel in Torquay with the luxury and personal service that I search for when seeking a hotel. I highly recommend Room 12 which is tastefully decorated to a very high standard, which has a lounge with french doors leading onto your own patio and lawn. However all rooms are individually personalised, further creating that 'individual boutique hotel feel'.

It is one of the few hotels in Torquay with an appropriately sized car park, and late breakfasts are also available. It has the perfect location, which is close to all the amenities. (Recommend No. 7 Restaurant - for fresh fish)

Grant and Adam - the Proprietors simply offer the very best in service and no request is ever too great for them.

I must also mention the super returning guest discounts offered, which make the next trip even more tempting, which means I will return again and again!

A very higly recommended hotel, and one can see why the hotel is rated so highly ,due to it's attention to detail and service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

The Somerville Hotel in Torquay is exactly what it says on the web-site (www.somervillehotel.co.uk). 5 star guest accommodation on a bed and breakfast basis that doesn't cost the earth. Adam, Grant and the team make you feel at home the moment you step over the threshold. Extremely high quality rooms with attention to luxurious detail at the fore. The breakfast is great!
Only a few minutes walk to the harbourside but if the Torquay hills get too much, the frequent bus service (32/32T) between Torquay Central and Babbacombe stops just a hundred metres or so from the Somerville's front door.
I plan to visit the Somerville Hotel, Torquay again and again. I recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulliver56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We would like to thank Grant and Adam for a wonderful stay at their lovely guest house. All the good comment are true, my boyfriend and I are very fussy people and Iwecould not fault this place, the room was spotless and the decor beautiful in the whole place. I loved all the little touches they have thought of such as milk and cookies for the guest, all the complementary items in the room ranging from body lotion to mending kit, and real coffee, we've stayed in 5 star hotels that don't even offer these kind of extra's. We also appreciated the warm welcome and the overview of good places to eat and things to do. We will back not to visit Torquay but just to stay in the actual place, it was that fab. A must for anyone wanting a little bit of luxury at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyanite0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Just like to say a big thank you to the owners Adam and Grant for making me and my wife very welcome! I'd like to echo all the other reviews and say that if you are looking for a hotel in Torquay you'll be hard-pressed to find a better hotel to rival the Somerville! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbiddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Yet another fantastic stay in the Somerville Hotel, and most certainly will not be our last! Room was immaculate, breakfast delicious and the service faultless. We adore Adam and Grant who run the hotel and love their company, it's nice to meet people who run a hotel and have such fantastic personalities, a rare find.
Look forward to seeing you soon :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeycunard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

I came to Torquay to spend sometime with friends and chose the Somerville because of good reviews. I was not disappointed. On arriving I was given a warm welcome and found all the staff friendly and approachable throughout my stay. I was in room 4 which was more than adequate. The bed was comfortable and extra pillows were supplied. There were sweet little extras that added to the welcoming atmosphere and good tea making facilities. Everywhere was very clean and well decorated.

The breakfast was lovely with a choice of cooked English breakfasts with views towards distant Victorian villas and woodland. The Babbacombe road can be busy but doesn't seem to intrude and all windows are double glazed.

I would definately recommend this very well run hotel and will be booking this again.

Rob

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Credacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

What more can we add to all the great reviews already added...the Somerville is a great place to stay and from the moment we arrived Grant & Adam were great hosts The breakfast was a great way to start the day both the continental selection and the choice of cooked breakfast available was terrific. The afternoon cookies were also a great touch.

The rooms were clean and bright and the B&B itself was just relaxing and peaceful. We was impressed by both the green policies used by the hotel and the local produce used, very refreshing touches.

Adam and Grant were great hosts from the moment we arrived, Grant gave excellent recommendations for food, drinks and visiting. The hotel is close to the centre of Torquay only a few minutes walk down a slight hill but a good bit of exercise after breakfast.

We were fortunate to be introduced to Oscar (ozzy) on our visit and we hope he is doing well.

The only small thing I can recommend is that the guys get a bigger coffee pot for the morning.

Great stay, highly recommend the somerville.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
505 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 86 in Torquay
1,071 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 86 in Torquay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £75 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing