We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somerville is a very good B&B”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2009

This has to be one of the best B&Bs in Torquay. There is ample parking, rooms are clean, bathrooms have plenty of hot water, and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was home-cooked and excellent. Hospitality was top notch; Grant and Adam could not have been more helpful in suggesting good restaurants and helping with reservations for a trip to Greenway.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wollochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

Didnt think that much of Torquay but this b&b is something else! The weather was very dull and damp when we arrived but on seeing the interior of the b&b we were much much happier. Our room was small but perfect! The furnishings were just stunning and the bed was the most comfortable i have slept on. Attention to detail was excellent (all the fixtures and fittings were something else!) and the room was extremely clean. Breakfast was marvellous. There was a large selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and some very yummy freshly made smoothies. The hot breakfast (scambled egg, bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms) was extremely tasty and well cooked. The decor in the lounge area was so luxurious (take a look at the picture!) and our hosts and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. I have no negative comments to make...not one! The price is very inexpensive for the quality. If you go to Torquay you MUST stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This was my seventh stay at the Somerville - I stay at this wonderful hotel on business, and drive a long way out of my way to stay here as its so great! I'm always welcomed with open arms & like a friend by Grant & Adam, which means so much after a long day driving around Cornwall & Devon. The rooms are always immaculate - every single one I've stayed in has been of an equally luxurious standard & I even tried out their new duck filled matress topper on this visit - its little touches like this that set this hotel apart from the rest. Its in a fantastic location close to the town & breakfast is beautifully done. Just dont even bother trying any other hotel - this is no.1!...

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicciStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We thought that the earlier reviews might be too good to be true, but they were not, since we have absolutely no hesitation in giving a maximum score under each heading. The public rooms were beautifully decorated and furnished, as were the bedrooms. Everything was immaculate throughout. The bedroom and en suite facility were very tasteful and comfortable, providing everything one could expect, plus a number of unexpected extras.
The breakfasts were beautifully prepared and served, with a very wide choice, The service was uniformly excellent: thoughful, professional and friendly. The charm of the two proprietors was only exceeded by that of their two little dogs. We would recommend the Somerville to anyone without hesitation, and look forward to finding a reason to stay there again. Deserves more than 100% if that were mathematically possible!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The Somerville is in a great location and has loads of parking - a big plus for guest houses in Torquay from what we could see. Adam is a very charming and accommodating host, even allowing us a room change when we indicated we were used to a larger bed. Excellent full English breakfast cooked by Grant. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We have just returned from a lovely weekend stay at the Somerville. Adam and Grant were very welcoming, especially as we were a party of three, with a rather boisterous and inquisitive 2 1/2 year old. The boys offered infromation of places to visit and helped with booking vegetarian restaurants.

The room was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and very comfortable. The beds were great (even for a husband insomniac whol slept all night!) The Somerville compares easily with most of the boutique hotels that I have stayed at.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others who are looking for a little luxury and personal touches, like home backed biscuits every afternoon. Grant's cooked breakfasts were great and I only have one question-when is the restaurant opening?!

Thanks again from all of us- my little one is already asking when we are going to stay at Mr Adam's house again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Could not recommend The Somerville highly enough - it's a gem - exceptional, spotless, faultless. The outside is unpreposessing, but inside it's a haven of stylish, plush comfort, warm staff and faultless service.

We received a cheery welcome on arrival, were shown to our rooms promptly and had all the room and hotel services explained to us - were even given a map and shown a good walk and local cafe/bar on the journey - the introduction was not intrusive, just the right amount of info and chat to make us feel welcome and settle us in. The rooms were stunning, plushly decorated, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Every need had been anticipated and provided - from the ironing board discretely tucked away, to lovely cosmetics in the bathroom (even mouthwash!), a cafetiere - with proper coffee and fresh milk & cookies no less, to satellite TV and a clock alarm with ipod/iphone recharger in the bedroom. There was a ven vegetarian hot breakfast option on the menu, which is a rare treat indeed. Breakfast was fresh and well presented, everything catered for yet again, and, when I had finished, I was asked if my plate may be taken away - it's a small thing, but good manners go a long way and little polite touches like this make me melt.

Service was friendly and efficient throughout, from housekeeping to front of house, to waitress service - really felt there was a genuine interest in our having a good stay and that all the staff worked together as a team and had pride in their lovely hotel.

My friend and I have been fortunate to stay in some of the top 5* hotels in the world - there is nothing they do that the Somerville don't do just as well, but perhaps the Somerville put more thought into it and have more joy in doing it.

My only criticism is that Torquay isn't good enough for them. I hope the resort can pull its socks up to meet them!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_D_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
519 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
811 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 149 in Torquay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £72 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing