We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant.”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2010

I enjoyed my time at The Somerville. The rooms were gorgeous and the decoration was lovely. The breakfast was organised and tasty!! The hotel was in a quit area and a little walk from the town centre so was perfect! Me and partner are hoping to visit again in the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwaite91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2010

Initially booked three nights, decided to stay another night. Yes this hotel really is that good. Everything that has been said before is true, Lots of little touches to make it special. It is outstanding and Adam and his team run are to be complimented on their running of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

This was our second visit to the Somerville and we did not think they could improve on our last visit, however they did, The refurbishment to our room was perfect.

The dedication of all the staff was notable and again the breakfast was perfect with so many choices.

We will definatley be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fixmix2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Absolutley excellent in every possible way. Every need catered for with beautiful rooms and service and extra bits to make your stay very special however short. Would recommend to everyone...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graceDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Close to everything, not short of things to do. The service from all the people who work there was brilliant, the comfort was brilliant. not a single fault found. will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

If your looking for a top quality hotel in the Torquay area, that wont break the bank but offers 5* accommodation, look no further, book it now

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

friendly, welcoming, comfortable and extremley great value for money ! Beautiful fresh recently refurbished rooms , elegantly decorated. Nice treats too . Quiet location , off street parking and great breakfast.. cannot fault at all ... have already booked again .. !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyjYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
505 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 86 in Torquay
1,071 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 86 in Torquay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing