We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I was hoping from Torquay.”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #6 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Exactly what I was hoping from Torquay.”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This is a lovely place, very clean with a great attention to detail. Adam couldn't have been nicer and gave us great tips for dinner (thanks Sharon!) and we had a great first night to our honeymoon - hence the rating for sleep quality! I liked the decor, where it is a bit more is more, but if you are in the mood for a fun place that is really well run by nice people (excellent breakfast by the way) and has two cute dogs as well, then go here. We'll be back next time we are in that part of the world without doubt.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
798
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We really enjoyed our short break here. The room was lovely; breakfasts were excellent - and the dogs a pure joy.... you'll have to visit to find out what we mean! Thanks for making the break so wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lichieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My husband booked this hotel as a treat and what a treat. We were greeted with a glass of bubbly and given useful information :eg where we could eat , boat trips and places to visit. We parked the car for 2 days and was able to walk easily into the town. We will be back later in the year. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenpeaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St John's Wood
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2010

A lovely hotel, very welcoming and helpful owners, beautiful rooms with excellent finish and lovely products. Breakfasts were generous and delicious. Excellent value for money, I would recommend extremely highly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicSJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We have just returned from a stay at the Somerville where we have spent 4 nights in room 4 ( the Somerville Suite)
This has ben one of the most relaxing breaks we have had for many years, and this was due to the fantastic room we had and the staff at the Somerville.
The room itself was very large, clean and had everthing that you could want, ours included bathrobes, mineral water and an amazing bathroom with a TV over the bath!, and unlike the hotel chains our room had character and style.
The breakfast included both a buffet style continental breakfast and a cooked to order breakfast which was prepared and cooked to perfection and of excellent quality.
The staff are the crowning glory of this hotel and all were very friendly, helpful and were very informed about local resturants and places to visit.
Finally with easy parking and a 5 minute walk into Torquay the Somerville in perfectly located, yet far enough from town to peaceful and relaxing + free Wi Fi + Cookies in the afternoon

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iprodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Somerville Hotel for 4 nights in May, It is a beautiful hotel with 1st class accommodation. The welcome is great, and breakfast is excellent. My husband and I run a business in Manchester with 55 staff, we work all around the country and I would not hesitate to place members of staff and customers at the Somerville.

The owners also have 2 beautiful sausage dogs which are loveley.

Can't wait to go back.

Anne & Trevor Barton, BOLTON.
BOLT

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaxterAA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Amazing, Very spacious suite, great location, car parking, great value for money , a true small boutique hotel and lovely professional staff,,,,,,,,, Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davros2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,889 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,382 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 87 in Torquay
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing