We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN HERE ON EARTH”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #8 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DERBYSHIRE
1 review
“A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN HERE ON EARTH”
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We were greeted by a very warm reception and luggage taken to our room.

The room was elegant, clean and fully equipped with everything you could need. It is just a short walk from the main town and marina. I couldn't possibly say what I liked best as from going to bed in the most comfortable bed, and being greeted at breakfast with smiles followed by the best breakfast and widest choice you could want. Thank you Adam and Grant for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELTESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
765
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My wife and I stayed in the garden suite for three days at the end of June. What a lovely place to spend a few days. A nice seating area away from the bedroom and a delightful bathroom. All that and use of the garden. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP999_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Somerville Hotel for 3 days after our wedding and we did not want to leave. The hotel is spotless, the staff and owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is superb. The room was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable but it is the little touches at this hotel which make it stand out from the rest. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandJHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowley Regis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

The best hotel in Torquay in my view. Service is excellent and breakfast fantastic with everything you could want from cereals,fresh fruit and juices, yoghurts and smoothies to locally sourced bacon and sausage. The rooms have that special luxury with feather and down pillows and quilts that you simply sink into and complimentary teas, coffes, water and biscuits. Adam and Grant provide those extra touches which make this a five star experience from beginning to end.
There are cookies available for that midnight snack or mid day hunger pang and luxury shampoos, conditioners, soaps etc. in the large, airy bathroom with power shower.
I have been at Halloween and the decorations are second to none. You have to go just to experience it. Look out for the knitted characters in all of the rooms or treat yourself to one of the even more luxuriuos suites; one of which has been recently refurbished with a lounge area and 2 flat screen TV's.
From the moment you drive up to the Somerville with it's large car park and beautiful gardens you will feel relaxed and ready to enjoy a fantastic break in a fantastic guest house. Torquay itself has something for all ages with theatres, an array of top class places to eat (I particularly recommned 7 Fish Restaurant for that special night out) a bowling alley and pubs and clubs. Or you can just take a stroll along the harbour and watch the boats, fish and seagulls. I just keep returning time and time again to The Sommerville.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazza92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Adam and Grant the hosts were friendly, attentive and their attention to detail was second to none. This hotel deserves every one of it's 5 stars....and more. We stayed in the Somerville Suite and it was plush, opulent, with an incredibly comfortable bed and the bathroom had a real wow factor. It is ideally located and very quiet at night despite being only a 10 mins stroll from the centre of Torquay, and had it's own car park. Do not even consider booking anywhere else in Torquay, you won't find anywhere as lovely as the Somerville. We loved our stay there and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FifiBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

we kept looking at the reviews for the somorville and in the end chose to stop there what a nice place to stay the rooms are first class also breakfast and service was great a lot of thought has gone into making your stay very relaxed what the other reviews say are very true you could not ask for more well done to all at the somorville well worth the 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Few hotels get the number of consistently good reviews that the Somerville does. Our stay for four nights in a deluxe room was just as we had hoped for from reading all the other reviews. Our room was clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated with a lovely ensuite. The bed was king size, pocket sprung and very comfortable. The room was a little small with very few areas to place things not stored in the one wardrobe or chest of drawers but this is a small point. Worktop space was also at a premium so do not over pack. Breakfast was a real pleasure and a great way to start the day. Good food, well presented and served with a smile. The hotel is run by two perfect hosts who seem to go out of their way to give a friendly welcome and ensure guests enjoy their stay. We would stay again if in the area and would recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socratees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#9 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Property: The Somerville
Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing