We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly. No hesitation in...”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Really friendly.
No hesitation in returning again.

Adam & Grant looked after us really well, accommodating our young autistic son.

Thanks both
See you again soon.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

This was our second stay and, once again, it was virtually impossible to fault this excellent boutique hotel under any heading. The whole place is beautifully decorated and furnished and immaculately maintained; the welcome the warmest you could ask for; the breakfast menu is varied, and freshly cooked using top quality ingredients. Even as past president of INA (the International Nitpickers Association) I find it impossible to give the Somerville less than a full score on all counts, and would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We have stayed at several places in Torquay over the years but have never stayed somewhere that is as clean and well presented as the Somerville, the attention to detail was outstanding, it was just a shame we couldn't have stayed longer but, will not hesitate to go back again in the future. I would certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends and know that they would feel the same as we did. The location was perfect as we like to walk or use the public transport when away and so this was convenient for doing both.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolahouse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

This is the second short leisure break that we have shared with our friends at this fine Hotel.
On the first visit we were delighted by the décor & how spotless the place was as well as the very warm welcome we had.
Since our last visit I can report the standard of the Hotel has risen to an even greater status as the owners have improved this Hotel to an even higher standard. The rooms and customer service are as good as any 5 star hotel that we have ever visited.
The breakfasts are freshly cooked to order, to a very high standard, are truly delicious and well presented, they set you up for the day exploring the fantastic local area. I would fully recommend this Hotel to anyone who appreciates the finer things in life. We are all looking forward to our next visit to the Somerville in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordsCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Hi,

We stayed at the Somerville for two nights at the end of June and it is everything that the site and other reviews say it is. I was intially looking at the Grand and other larger hotels, however, I was drawn to the Somerville after reading the very good reviews. They offer a very personal service, lovely, well appointed rooms that larger hotels can not match. The extensive breakfast of fruits, yoghurts, cereals, juices etc, etc (even bubbly) is very well done and their cooked breakfast will set you up for the day and is wonderful. Parking is very good and the location is literally a few minutes walk from the harbour. I am highly recommending the Somerville to friends and family and we will be going back their later in the year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We were greeted by a very warm reception and luggage taken to our room.

The room was elegant, clean and fully equipped with everything you could need. It is just a short walk from the main town and marina. I couldn't possibly say what I liked best as from going to bed in the most comfortable bed, and being greeted at breakfast with smiles followed by the best breakfast and widest choice you could want. Thank you Adam and Grant for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGELTESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My wife and I stayed in the garden suite for three days at the end of June. What a lovely place to spend a few days. A nice seating area away from the bedroom and a delightful bathroom. All that and use of the garden. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP999_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
813 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing