We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have ever stayed in”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The attention to detail is fantastic, the owners and staff are always so polite & will go out of their way to help you. The rooms are plush. I never sleep very well when I'm away from home, but I get a solid nights sleep when in one of their beds.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelli0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

This is my 3rd time at The Somerville and yet again Grant and Adam provided excellent service within a beautiful boutique hotel. The room was amazing, modern facitilies including bathroom TV (which I utilised whilst in the bath and shower!) i-pod docking stations and flat screen TV's with digital channels. The cleanliness of this hotel is second to none and the breakfast is plentiful, fresh and cooked to order if you please.
I look forward to returning in the near future as it really is a 'home from home' and I recommend this to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lladven09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The owners, Adam and Grant, are wonderful hosts: extremely friendly and quick to give helpful advice about local restaurants - made bookings, too. The room was spotless and the breakfast superb. Can't praise them enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We have just enjoyed a 3 day break at The Somerville and we can unreservedly recommend it to anyone.
Good location, 5 minutes walk the Shops, Harbour and good Restaurants, and ample, secure parking.
Our room was clean and intrestingly furnished. The shower room was modern and very clean.
Breakfasts were superb, the best scrambled eggs I have had in many a year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Sommerville for our 10th wedding anniversary.
On arrival, we were upgraded to a room with a massive double bed and double shower.
The room had the usual tea/coffe tray, but there were other nice touches - i.e. jelly babies and Devon water. Downstairs, there was fresh milk as well as cookies and other chocolate biscuits for guests to help themselves to.

The breakfast room was very light and airy and the breakfasts we delicious. On the second morning, the owners' sausage dogs joined guets at breakfast!

When we checked out, we were given a voucher which offers return guests the chance to gain a discount on rooms within a set time period.

The hotel is in a great location and is very quiet. Service is spot on: helpful but not intrusive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stew13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

i am a salesman that travels round the whole south of england and wales.
i am very fussy where i stay and when i find a place that is perfect i always return.
normally i would not write reviews but i have been so impressed with all my stays at the somerville hotel that i need to tell others about this little gold mine of a hotel.
it is beautifully designed,and has went into every little detail like the soap,chocolates,devon bottled water and bath robes.
the boys adam and grant make you feel so welcome and are always a pleasure to talk too.
the hotel is also perfectly located for access to lovely eating places and bars without any noise.
i have to say it is by far the best hotel i have stayed in the uk. i return time and time again and cannot imagine that anybody could be disappointed with this place.
give it a try :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My husband booked the hotel as a surprise- a short break out of a very hectic work/life period. It was perfect, not just beautiful furnishings but every attention to detail has been carefully thought out. You only need to turn up with your clothes- everything you need is there. The bed was so comfortable it was like sleeping on a cloud- including the pillows -everything is top quality. It was impossible to get out of though- but worth it when you taste breakfast- it was amazing!
I felt like a pampered princess and left feeling totally relaxed- better than a spa !!
Will definitely return and we know our family would love it too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliejules25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
521 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
812 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#7 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing