We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been bettered”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Deciding on a few days Autumn break, wee looked on the Interent at hotels. All we had in mind was 'south coast' and started to brows. We saw The Somerville, Torquay and we immediately attracted. We booked four nights and enjoyed excellents, a comfortable room beautifully appointed, with severall thoughtful touches; freshh milk, afternoon cookies, available fruit and up to date notes on restaurants and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

The Somerville is a great place to stay. We only stayed one night as we were only here to attend a lecture, but we wished we were staying longer. The owners are very friendly, extra helpful & run a great guesthouse.
I would rather stay somewhere like this than a big, impersonal hotel & I am sure the room quality & breakfast wouldn't be as good. The beds were very comfy & we had a good nights sleep, very quiet. There was every facility you could want in the room including freshly baked biscuits you could help yourself to from the fridge outside. The bathroom was extremely clean with good quality toiletries. The shower heat was a bit variable according to how many other people were using it, but this often happens. We were in the downstairs garden suite, so there was even a little courtyard to sit outside with a coffee.
The choice at breakfast was vey good, I particularly liked the fact that you could personalise it & choose any combination of cooked food that you liked.
Parking is also available here, so that is a bonus, saves looking around the town & saves money! There is also free wi-fi which worked very well.
All in all I couldn't fault it & we will definately be returning. Well done boys, an example to others!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodyoneshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night break to Torquay where we struck gold. The Somerville was absolutely wonderful. The owners Adam and Grant have definitely done their homework and seem to know the exact ingredients for a perfect place to stay.

The whole hotel was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. The bed was so comfortable that if it wasn't for the breakfast I would have stayed in it all weekend.

The breakfast was beautifully cooked to order using fresh local ingredients. This set us up for the day until we returned each afternoon to the free home-baked cookies, which were delicious. The extra touches made all the difference to our stay and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed at this lovely hotel with family and friends for a family wedding and cannot recommend highly enough. The rooms were absolutely beautiful with every possible detail though of by the owners. The breakfasts were first class and the whole place had a lovely atmosphere. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaLJLRoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We booked three nights here after reading the trip advisor reviews. From check in until we left we were impressed with every detail of our stay. Adam and Grant have created an excellent package, combining great style and personal service. The attention to detail was evident, from the classy toiletries to the lavish breakfasts. Hector and Oscar were so lovely. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saleriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The attention to detail is fantastic, the owners and staff are always so polite & will go out of their way to help you. The rooms are plush. I never sleep very well when I'm away from home, but I get a solid nights sleep when in one of their beds.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelli0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This is my 3rd time at The Somerville and yet again Grant and Adam provided excellent service within a beautiful boutique hotel. The room was amazing, modern facitilies including bathroom TV (which I utilised whilst in the bath and shower!) i-pod docking stations and flat screen TV's with digital channels. The cleanliness of this hotel is second to none and the breakfast is plentiful, fresh and cooked to order if you please.
I look forward to returning in the near future as it really is a 'home from home' and I recommend this to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lladven09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#3 of 150 in Torquay
506 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 150 in Torquay
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#6 of 86 in Torquay
1,072 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marstan
The Marstan
#2 of 86 in Torquay
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 150 in Torquay
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £74 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and Southwest B&B of the year for 2011. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay
The Somerville Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing