We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks again :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yardley Manor Hotel
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Great two night break - me and my fiance decided to have a last minute short break in Torquay, we stayed at the Yardley manor hotel.
Nice friendly family run hotel, great food,drink and atmosphere down in the bar. Definitely will be returning again sometime this year see you then :).

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamesknight123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Yardley Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

A warm welcome followed by a complimentary room upgrade and drinks in the bar, what fantastic service! This hotel is in a brilliant location, quiet but within a few minutes walk of the centre. Clean, friendly & excellently priced, I'd happily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short break in Torquay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve076388, Owner at Yardley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for a lovely review,
we have passed on your comments to the family Staff.

Regards

Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Me and a friend went to stay in the Yardley manor hotel for a weekend break, it was more like staying with friends and family. On arrival a young girl checked us in straight away, she was very polite and friendly. We had booked a twin room which was very clean and spacious, a lot of people have mentioned about the hotel needing refurbishment but the room we stayed in was fantastic and I don't understand how someone could slate the place it's great value for money.
Breakfast was amazing and massive and the waitress who is also one of the owners(Jackie) was friendly and recommended great places to eat.
I love the fact that it is a family run hotel and Steve and Jackie are doing a fantastic job. I couldn't fault Yardley and can't wait to come back with my partner where we will enjoy the bar and introduce him to all the lovely locals. Thanks for making our weekend an enjoyable one and we will be back again soon in the future. See you all again x

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southamptoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel with a KGB voucher. The proprietor was a very friendly and helpful person but I definitely wouldn't pay full price to stay. The hotel is in need of serious redecoration to start with. Our room was very tiny but perfectly clean. The room did, however, need redecorating as the wallpaper was coming off the walls and there was a very dirty line around the room where I assume a border had previously been.

The bathroom was very small but adequate. It did not have any heating in or an extractor fan which made the room very cold and all fitments had become rusty. There was liquid soap and shower gel for guests to use which was a very nice touch. I would recommend that the hotel provide larger towels in the bathroom as I don't find a small bath towel adequate, especially when the room is so cold and you want to wrap yourself up when you come out of the shower.

I wouldn't recommend eating in the restaurant. When we checked in we were asked to chose our meal straight away as the hotel was very busy and this would help the kitchen staff. We did this but, when we went down for dinner, there was only one other table with diners on. The room where we ate our meals was quite grotty. There was even a vacuum and cleaning equipment in the room. The food was extremely basic (I wouldn't want to pay the prices which were advertised on the blackboard). I had to return mine as it was cold too. We did not enjoy the food at all. We didn't sample the breakfasts so I cannot comment on the quality.

I was extremely pleased that the centre of town was only a 5 minute walk away so we could enjoy an evening out and did not have to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

had a very pleasant 2 night stay with one evening meal & a delicious breakfast each morning. Room was clean & on initial entry ok but small details spoilt it - no valance sheet & little simple things that had not been finished when decorating. The evening meal was fine except for the fact that we checked in 7pm & were told we had to eat by 8pm! looked a bit like a work in progress as there were loads of new mattresses in the hotel foyer. Was fine on a cheap deal but not sure if I would pay full price

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayesnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just had two nights at The Yardley Manor and it was lovely. The landlady Jackie and her family were really friendly and welcoming and also the locals in The Griffin Bar which is part of the hotel. The room was spotless and very comfortable, Had a really great nights sleep and then went down to fab breakfast. The food in the bar was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend and we will be going back. Thanks jackie!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chekkasouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel with a KGB deal and it was excellent value for money.
We were upgraded to a sea view room, it was lovely and clean, warm and comfortable.
We ate at the hotel the first night and have no complaints about the meal which was plentiful.
Breakfasts were also plentiful.
It was a comparatively short distance to the town and front.
Free Wifi.
I would say there is still more work to be done at the hotel but would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The sea view room was really good.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#30 of 87 in Torquay
589 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#49 of 87 in Torquay
13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 87 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 87 in Torquay
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#17 of 87 in Torquay
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yardley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yardley Manor Hotel

Address: Museum Road, Torquay TQ1 1DW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £53 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yardley Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yardley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yardley Manor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing