We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yardley Manor Hotel
Ranked #50 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is family run establishment that is a bit ‘work in progress’. Having said that, the helpfulness, friendliness, freshly cooked to order breakfast and their wi-fi system cannot be faulted. Going through an online booking system, our booking was a bit of a mess but it was sorted without any problems at all – but we would book direct next time. Yes there will hopefully be a next time. Excellent value for money, great views from our premium twin room and great location being just a short walk to the harbour and its many restaurants. A relaxed break - thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissieche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave954000, Front Office Manager at Yardley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for placing a review, we have been running the hotel now for three years and over that time put monies aside to carry out repairs and upgrading programme, to completely renovate the hotel would cost hundreds of thousands of pounds of which we do not have, so constructively with what profits we get we plough that back in and that’s your “work in progress” that you see happening. Sorry to hear of your issues with the booking agent and yes please ring the hotel to book.
Thanks for mentioning the wi-fi, breakfast, value for money and location. It does what it says !! Thank you.
Steve & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Booked as a last minute whim at £34 a night b and b. Room was very cosy as it was single occupancy. Tastefully decorated with tea and coffee. Bathroom was clean and tidy and looked recently refurbished. Very good position for getting into town, close enough to walk but far enough away to be quiet. My only complaint, and it's more an observation than anything, would be that the reception is not manned full time and you do find yourself waiting around for someone when you ring the bell. I would definitely come back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Panther14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve076388, Owner at Yardley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for the nice review and thank you for bring up the issue with reception.

You are correct we do not have a fully manned reception at all times, we feel that this is not important 24/7 and a wasteful resource to stand there all the time, the person who is working the bar also checks guests into the hotel if there is no one in the office/ reception, sometimes if the bar is dealing with a customer that has to be concluded before they go to reception this can take a minute or so, it is no different to other hotel and b&bs where you ring the doorbell and may wait some time to be met by the proprietor to check in as you do not have a key! I’ve been there, working all around the country before running this hotel, standing outside in the rain or cold waiting for the door to be unlocked after ringing the doorbell.

It’s very off putting for us to have other reviews indicating that the reception is never manned and that there was no one around at all during the stay, from this end I say that there is a press for service button at all times at reception and we DO respond to the call, everyone gets checked into their rooms somehow don’t they! the bar staff are working from 3pm until 11pm (at least), where you can talk to them on any issues or just a chat if you do not wish to press the service button. At breakfast there is always 2 staff working from 7-30am till 11am(kitchens) seasonally the restaurant service will be run and swimming pool staff are at their posts, I will probably be seen sweeping ouside or cleaning the pool and checking water quality / maintenance. all are family members in a family run Hotel, so you can speak to anyone of us. We really are there it’s just that you’re not looking!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at this Hotel just before Easter, its the third time. Jackie and Steve and their family are lovely people they make you so welcome and nothing is to much trouble. The room was large and clean and a very comfortable bed with a view to the sea. The breakfast was good and although we didn't have a evening meal I'm sure it would have been excellent. Plenty of parking space and only 5 minutes walk from the sea. Good value!!.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janiceandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve076388, Owner at Yardley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review, We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards Jackie Steve and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed using a K G B deal and was good value for money.It is well located a 5 minute walk down hill to the town center .The room was large and clean but a bit dated and and the shower was not very strong .The bed was great and we enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep.There is continuing improvement going on in the public area and the Griffin bar is going to be altered later on.The breakfast was good and the evening meal was ok.All the staff where friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyaylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve076388, Owner at Yardley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thanks for the review, The hotel is being updated on a maintenance plan that is ongoing, We have many different types of rooms from 6 foot wide beds to budget 4foot 6inch. you must have been on our top floor as you indicate that the shower pressure is not that strong, its that of a general gravity feed shower, im happy you have mentioned this as i can inform that one of the works inprogress is to improve pressure with shower pumps and these are being installed in May. Torquay is renowned for cheap accomodation and that makes a huge catch 22 for hoteliers as improving rooms take a lot longet to carry out due to very low profit and careful budgeting. if people coming into the area would pay a little more then of corse hotels could be inproved quicker, unfortunetly thats not going to happen. we are even more burdened due to most B&Bs having not to pay any business tax as they are under the threshold, they then slash their prices rather than make the profit not paying tax and enhance their premises, so where we have to pay the full tax hurts us even more. But we enjoy trying to make a go of it.
Again thank you for the comments

Steve, Jackie .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a terrible one night stay in this hotel. Poor in every respect and we cancelled our second night. The room was grubby despite it being the beginning of March which I assumed was the start of the season. We cancelled our second booked night and moved to somewhere nicer. Cold shower in the morning and giving us breakfast at 7 was considered quite a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve076388, Owner at Yardley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Jenni B, that’s not a very nice heading is it, very hurtful and damning. Due to the content we first believed that it was a fictitious false malicious review and were fuming, we were even more concerned when it was established that it was from an actual guest, So Due to the distasteful heading and horrid review I have no alternative but to defend the hotels position.

Everyone has a right to put their experiences and thoughts of their stay on this review web site but when it comes to downright rudeness with hurtful wording within a review (we have had now 13 against 147 excellent and very good views) we just don’t understand why, especially when these reviewers don’t give the hotel establishments a chance to rectify any issues in the first place, now you may say “well there shouldn’t be any issues in the first place”!! If you believe that then you are not living in the real world, things go wrong, silly things like boilers locking out, kettles deciding to go faulty, a door lock giving up the ghost, noisy other guests, door banging, running out of coffee and having to make some more quick because 10 people just walked in on breakfast all at once, and so on…Oh, also bad reviews on “there was refurbishment works being carried out” my answer is that there must always be ongoing works in hotels, That’s always, maintenance and upgrading just has to take place .FULL STOP. Look at any major hotels reviews, there will always be some kind of living being that will wish to slag off for some reason, even the best 5* Hotels get a bruising and yet these type of people reviewing must have had the same experiences themselves in their lives.. But then when writing they are god aren’t they!

Jenni, You turned up early before your business companions arrived and during check in the hotel staff told you that generally breakfast is between 8am to 9-30 am unless requested earlier, you requested that due to a business conference you and your colleague’s would have breakfast at 7am and we accepted that request. (most guests who stay at the hotel are here for a holiday or leisurely break and wish breakfast to be later and that’s why we indicate that you can eat earlier if requested. this was not considered a problem by us… In fact your colleague’s when informed that breakfast would be at 7am as booked in by YOU were taken aback and they queried “why on earth has she taken it upon herself to book breakfast so early without consulting us”, of which breakfast was then made later at 7-30am, not by us but by them. So rather then put the hotel down on this point please take it up with your conference buddies.
You indicate that you booked Two nights and cancelled the second, you didn’t, your company booked via booking agent (infotel) together with your business colleagues arranged to stay one night, you personally rang the hotel to request that your husband would be staying and you would pay the extra cost personally on check-in, this was agreed and booked in for you.
During the one night you stayed it was noted by staff that Your husband was probably the most rudest guest that has stayed in our hotel who refused to speak to staff at all and was considerably rude to my wife by not replying at breakfast when asked if breakfast was ok and had he finished so we could remove his plate, he replied with a wave of his arm and a flick of his wrist, how & why?. Your husband was also asked if he would like another cup of coffee again he just stared at my wife and ignored her, wy wife was only being polite in asking. From this end if your husband is “hearing impaired” and cannot talk then we apologise but we are sure via our cctv replay that he was in full flight of conversation with you so he is probably not and our first assumptions are possibly correct.

Your review is of course your review, but to say “we had a terrible one night stay, poor in every respect” are very harsh comments, especially when I can see a glint that all could not be that bad when you scored 3- location, 3- sleep quality, a couple of twos for cleanliness and value (you only paid £15 for your husband so how can that be poor value! so it wasn’t poor in every respect was it. Ok, you do indicate a score of 1 for room but then many people review us that the rooms are very good, so I surmise that the room was that bad for you because (a) you really do require 6* quality at all times, even when staying at a 3* establishment and damn a place because they cannot deliver your ridiculous idealism (and why should they, go and book into a £200 per night hotel if you want that), or (b) you were marking not the room as the room (it’s lovely) but reviewed the room of the experiences and moods within that room from the both of you, of that I can understand, How can we be blamed and given a bad review when you are revealing that it was more your mood pattern, high expectation and aloofness that was being brought into question of the review.

I also feel hurt and quite angry that you didn’t even attempt to air any concerns with us at the time. Why are there certain people who love to be dramatic and damning on writing reviews but do not have any backbone by talking to us about any issues and help us to be better hoteliers, I call this type of people Grubby not the hotel. Dr Jenni B, Please contact your work colleagues who Stayed at the hotel who attended the conference, these Dr’s will concur with what we have mentioned, im sure they will put you right on the breakfast times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for a few days over Easter for my Birthday.
We arrived early and asked if we could park in the car park which they had no issue with.
When we returned later on in the day we had a friendly welcome and were told they had upgraded us to a bigger room free of charge. We thought this was great.
The room was a good size, clean, king size bed, had plenty of storage and a nice en suite.
Also a nice sea view in the distance.

Breakfasts each day were good and the Griffin bar was a nice place to start the evening with friendly locals and good bar prices.
As a few others have mentioned the hotel is a little tired looking but they are in the middle of decorating and I wouldn't let this put you off.
This is a nice family run hotel and every one we met was friendly, welcoming and helpful.

I would recommend staying in this hotel and would return. If you want a hotel in a great location, free parking and excellent value for money then don't hesitate and book Yardley Manor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chen873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Me and my husband went away for the weekend for my birthday.
All I can say is that this has to be the best hotel we have stayed in. We felt so at home there, and the owners are fantastic. The room we stayed in had lovely decor and an ensuite. Both room and ensuite where spotlessly clean.
The griffin is defiantly worth a visit. The locals drink in this pub and defiantly made us feel welcome, along with the owners.
Location wise, the hotel has a great spot. Faraway enough, to enjoy a bit of quite. But only 2 minute walk from town.
If you like your home comforts and appreciate a friendly family pub/hotel, then this is the place for you.
We will be returning, thank you for having us.

Room Tip: Room 22 was defiantly worth an upgrade for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toyah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve076388, Owner at Yardley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for a very nice review.
it was a pleasure meeting you both and the staff and locals had a great time having a drink with you both on your Birthday.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#28 of 86 in Torquay
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#47 of 86 in Torquay
16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#43 of 86 in Torquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 86 in Torquay
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#16 of 86 in Torquay
582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yardley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yardley Manor Hotel

Address: Museum Road, Torquay TQ1 1DW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yardley Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yardley Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yardley Manor Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing