We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Bancourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bancourt Hotel
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Sorry must be 2 Bancourt Hotels in Torquay. Arrived as part of a Coach Party. Tea on arrival , facilities in Hotel explainedand transport links. Cases taken up to our room. Room and toilet clean, ample tea and coffee, hot water and a TV that worked. Towels changed on a daily basis if required.
To address some of points raised in previous reviews lets nit pick. Certainly in some parts of room the paint could have been touched up along with some grouting in Toilet. No Power Shower but water pressure in taps and copious amounts of hot water meant that once water temperature set it remained constant throughout shower. A deposit of £10 for TV remote a bit strange but what's the problem hand it back in with your key when you leave and get the tenner back! My wife and I are both Vegetarians but found the choice of meals very good, tasty and served very efficiently. We have had poorer food served us in 4 star Hotels! Both Reception and Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.There is also a Pool in the Hotel
Location of Hotel approx 30 min level walk from harbour or approx £5 by taxi. A Torquay "Land Train" will take you part of the way buy you will still have a approx 15 min walk to Hotel. A garage shop nearby or approx 10 mins away a Spar shop.
It is a "budget" hotel and should be reviewed as such but budget or not My wife and I would be happy to stay here again or recommend it to friends

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veggie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    64
    34
    24
    39
See reviews for
37
72
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Budget accomodation but fail to understand why a family owned business seem to make no attempt to give the place a makeover.Gives the impression the owners cant be bothered for any attention to detail or any pride in their hotel.
Staff keep saying they are"doing the place up" but does not look as though it has not been touched since the 1950s.
Ok if you dont mind waking up in the morning looking at old grubby carpets
and decor and curtains your granny would have had.
Why owners dont take a trip to Homebase and carpet store is beyond me.
Ruth the hotel inspector would have a field day here.
Money spent here would enable higher rates .
Plus points staff good,food reasonable .
Hotel could be so much better but in danger of losing one of there 2 stars if they dont get a paint brush out!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TGDSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

With a coach full with mainly over 60's We arrived at the Bancourt Hotel to be greeted with scones and tea or coffee. We had the hotel explained to us. Our cases were offloaded and taken to our room. In the room we were greeted with a good size Easter Egg each !!! We had excellent entertainment every evening. We were lucky with the weather we only had rain as we left the Bancourt. The food was good and plentiful. There was entertainment every evening with just 2 games of bingo. The heated indoor pool was very good and warm and unlike many hotels it was " Free " we would rated excellent value for money.

JT & BT of READING

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had the misfortune to go to this poor quality hotel over the New Year. We paid £840.00 for a 4 night break for two, and we travelled there with Bowens, a coach company.
There was an unpleasant odour as we walked into the reception, and along with most of the hotel, our twin room was indeed ‘shabby’ with mould, holes in nets, stained makeshift headboard, cracked glass, no bathroom radiator etc, but the worst thing was the toothbrush mug that really was disgusting, residue covering it from other persons toothpaste, vile!! In fairness we were offered other rooms, a double, and a larger room with no shower. The room we did settle for eventually was in the basement area, a twin with a fully workable shower, albeit still a poor quality room, we just thought we would put up with it for a few days. Until we went to bed that is, and found the base of one bed had been previously broken. A piece of wood had been used to hold the mattress in place, but had collapsed into the base, along with the mattress.
The bed base was changed after the hotel proprietor came back from home to deal with it. Next morning we were offered compensation of £100.00 by the hotel proprietor which we politely refused, we had not booked directly with the hotel and thought we should deal with the problems on our return home. Bowens’ response to this was that we should not have chosen the room that was offered to us!!
After this refusal the mood changed, and we were then accused of shouting at the staff, which was untrue. The same evening, we were getting into bed and had a knock on the door from the proprietor and we believe her husband behind her, wanting to come into the room because they had a ‘smoke alarm alert’. There was no audible sound of a smoke alarm, and we doubt that this hotel has equipment sophisticated enough to detect or produce a ‘silent alert’. We got dressed and went to the reception, but no one was there, management had gone home, and staff were behind the bar. We felt then there was a situation developing where we were being intimidated and ‘set up’. The next day, New Years Eve, we hired a car and made our way home, no way were we prepared to stay for the atmosphere to deteriorate.
Be wary if you do have a problem, they might try the silent smoke alert on you too!
Through their driver, Bowens were aware of everything that went on at the time, but all they have done since is try to discredit us, and argue the points we raised in our formal complaint. They have proven that their customers really do not come first.
We have had no recompense from Bowens, even though their representative (driver) witnessed our problems and agreed with us. They have continued to question the validity of our complaint, even though we provided photographic evidence.
We suspect that the ‘Excellent’ review on this hotel is likely to have been made by friends/ family of the hotel owners. There is nothing excellent about this hotel.
Read the review headed ‘Great value for money’ 31st October 2011,
It says…. ‘smoke alarms fitted and working well’- how on earth would a holidaymaker know that?
We would not under any circumstance go to the Bancourt hotel again or travel anywhere again with Bowens.
You should both be ashamed of your customer service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank andydek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel on sat 10th march,room was terrible with old bunk beds,the deposit you have to pay is to high,I have previously stayed in the grand hotel near the train station,yet I didn't have to pay a deposit,while at the bar I got talking to a large hen night group from Plymouth and they stated how they had to pay £1800 deposit in case of any damage,a lot of this group were over 40 so I wouldn't of expected this group to cause damage.As for the breakfast well one word(shocking)all pre-cooked as when I ordered my breakfast they were in and out of kitchen in under a minute,bacon was dry sausage was hard to cut not nice at all.avoid like a plague.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lacosteUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

i dont know how they can call them selfs an hotel? more like a hostel for down and outs.old bunk beds ha i thought they were having a joke when they showed me our room . then they asked for £100 deposites each which they never mentioned when booking . the staff were rude and what they called breakfast well wont go there 1 off or may be the worst hotels i have ever stayed in so i would well advise stay away ......

Room Tip: no good rooms from what we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank henry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed at the Bancourt recently with a group of people.
It was an organised weekend and I, my husband and our friends, enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff were both friendly and courteous, and although the rooms were in need of a spruce up, they were clean and warm.
I have stayed in much more luxurious Hotels in the past so am used to good service and found the Bancourt had this in abundance.
I had a thoroughly good time there and will certainly visit again next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#58 of 87 in Torquay
940 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#71 of 87 in Torquay
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Howden Court Hotel
Howden Court Hotel
#18 of 87 in Torquay
228 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,876 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#83 of 87 in Torquay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Property: Bancourt Hotel
Address: 55-65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bancourt Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Torquay, South Devon, at the Heart of the English Riviera, this family run no smoking hotel is perfect for exploring the surrounding Devon coast and countryside. The Bancourt is open all year and offers great value for money. The hotel makes an ideal destination for groups, individuals and families, whether you are looking for a short break or holiday. You can relax and make use of the hotels facilities. We have a large secluded gardens, WiFi available at no charge and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing