We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY”
Review of Bancourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bancourt Hotel
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Arrived at the Bancourt Hotel around 3.10pm Saturday 5th August to find the reception completely deserted, 15 minutes later a woman arrived to book us in. We were given room 48, when we finally got to the room after what seemed endless corridors we were horrified. The room was of ample size as was the bathroom it had tired cheap looking furniture and curtains falling down but the best was to come, there was more human hair completely covering the carpet than we have on ours heads, this room had obviousley never been hoovered for months. Then after inspecting the tea tray found a big clump of someones hair on that YUCK! Rang down to reception to complain and a few minutes later someone came with a key to another room, this room was just as bad so refused that. We were then offered the choice of two other rooms of which the one we chose was said to be the best they had available (we hope you have chance to view our photos as they will show you just how good this room was...... NOT). The standard of cleaning for this hotel is zero, we wondered if the cleaner was visually impaired. If any of the rooms were cleaned this year we would be very suprised. After we got settled in our 2nd room we felt that dirty we had to have a shower, unfortunatey there was no chance of this as the shower cord was that bloked up and caked with sh**e no water came out of it, was not impressed having to sit in the bath admiring the fine selection of mould spores that covered most of the walls, floor and ceiling oh and not to mention the huge cobwebb that covered the inside of the door frame. If we had to sum up the Bancourt Hotel we would say it was worth around £10.00 per night not the £65.00 we paid through Booking.com. This hotel makes Faulty Towers look like the Ritz. We would recommend nobody to stay at the Bancourt, these hotels should be made to update their photos on a regular basis when advertising through booking companies.

Room Tip: A good room????? they aint got none
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank raybould666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    64
    34
    24
    39
See reviews for
37
72
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Clever photographs hide very dated furniture and fixtures. Foisty smell on arrival and some quite steep steps up to the foyer. However, for what we paid although the hotel itself is disappointing bed comfy and room clean, Shower acceptable, breakfast good, coffee terrible, staff friendly. Ok if you want cheap for a short stay, but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Clevedon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

we have a wonderful holiday at the Bancourt Hotel, the staff was just great and helpful, nothing was to much trouble for them, meals was great, we was self drive but the company at the table was great. only thing that was wrong the ( rooms needed a bit of a tarting up) but we would go again. thank you all for our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nigthts the hotel staff were very friendly on arrival and open the bar as soon as we requested the rooms were of a ok standard but clean and tidy they also went out out there way to provide breakfast on the saturday morning as we had a early and were also very helpful when we had a snorer and someone wanted to move room at 4am wouldnt recommend for a luxury break but cheap and cheerful yes

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Sorry must be 2 Bancourt Hotels in Torquay. Arrived as part of a Coach Party. Tea on arrival , facilities in Hotel explainedand transport links. Cases taken up to our room. Room and toilet clean, ample tea and coffee, hot water and a TV that worked. Towels changed on a daily basis if required.
To address some of points raised in previous reviews lets nit pick. Certainly in some parts of room the paint could have been touched up along with some grouting in Toilet. No Power Shower but water pressure in taps and copious amounts of hot water meant that once water temperature set it remained constant throughout shower. A deposit of £10 for TV remote a bit strange but what's the problem hand it back in with your key when you leave and get the tenner back! My wife and I are both Vegetarians but found the choice of meals very good, tasty and served very efficiently. We have had poorer food served us in 4 star Hotels! Both Reception and Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.There is also a Pool in the Hotel
Location of Hotel approx 30 min level walk from harbour or approx £5 by taxi. A Torquay "Land Train" will take you part of the way buy you will still have a approx 15 min walk to Hotel. A garage shop nearby or approx 10 mins away a Spar shop.
It is a "budget" hotel and should be reviewed as such but budget or not My wife and I would be happy to stay here again or recommend it to friends

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veggie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Budget accomodation but fail to understand why a family owned business seem to make no attempt to give the place a makeover.Gives the impression the owners cant be bothered for any attention to detail or any pride in their hotel.
Staff keep saying they are"doing the place up" but does not look as though it has not been touched since the 1950s.
Ok if you dont mind waking up in the morning looking at old grubby carpets
and decor and curtains your granny would have had.
Why owners dont take a trip to Homebase and carpet store is beyond me.
Ruth the hotel inspector would have a field day here.
Money spent here would enable higher rates .
Plus points staff good,food reasonable .
Hotel could be so much better but in danger of losing one of there 2 stars if they dont get a paint brush out!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TGDSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

With a coach full with mainly over 60's We arrived at the Bancourt Hotel to be greeted with scones and tea or coffee. We had the hotel explained to us. Our cases were offloaded and taken to our room. In the room we were greeted with a good size Easter Egg each !!! We had excellent entertainment every evening. We were lucky with the weather we only had rain as we left the Bancourt. The food was good and plentiful. There was entertainment every evening with just 2 games of bingo. The heated indoor pool was very good and warm and unlike many hotels it was " Free " we would rated excellent value for money.

JT & BT of READING

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#40 of 87 in Torquay
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
935 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
383 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#56 of 87 in Torquay
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Property: Bancourt Hotel
Address: 55-65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bancourt Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Torquay, South Devon, at the Heart of the English Riviera, this family run no smoking hotel is perfect for exploring the surrounding Devon coast and countryside. The Bancourt is open all year and offers great value for money. The hotel makes an ideal destination for groups, individuals and families, whether you are looking for a short break or holiday. You can relax and make use of the hotels facilities. We have a large secluded gardens, WiFi available at no charge and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing