We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant hotel”
Review of Bancourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bancourt Hotel
Ranked #84 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed for a weekend at this hotel and although my very first impression when I walked it was that it was a bit dated, I have nothing at all to complain about. The beds were very comfortable and very clean. Our room was more than adequate and the staff in the restaurant worked tirelessly and very efficiently to get our meals to us as soon as we sat down. I was very impressed with the amount of choice on the menu and especially being a vegetarian, I was definitely spoilt for choice, which is unusual. The food was excellent. It was a good 15 minute walk to the seafront but a very nice walk. The hotel has a swimming pool too which was nice to use on a very hot weekend. I have not been to Torquay before but will definitely go back at some point. It has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hils12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Bancourt, and for your nice comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    64
    34
    24
    39
See reviews for
37
72
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Rooms were very poorly ventilated, beds were very uncomfortable. Carpets in the room looked like they have never been cleaned by the amount of hair imbedded into it.

Night porter/bar man was a complete idiot, soon as he realised I was 3 other lads he automatically assumed we were there to cause trouble and have us a "talk" about how we should behave! There's words for people like that!!

As there are so many b&b's around I would defo avoid this place and look elsewhere for a more friendly, cleaner environment

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adamccfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Owner at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We are sorry that you felt your experience of the Bancourt was less than satisfactory. Nothing was reported to Reception during your stay so we had no way of addressing any problems. The Night Porter has 25 years experience dealing with single sex groups. Although all groups are very amenable at the start of the evening, the end can sometimes be a different tale. (Example of this in a review in April..)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

went on a weekend break with just go coach tours 5th to 8th july . stayed at the bancourt the staff were very polite and friendly the service we got was 100% our room was very clean and tidy excellent meals served at breakfast and dinner and a lovely garden to relax in and the entertainment was brilliant . my husband and I will certainly be going back to this hotel again we highly rate this hotel .

Room Tip: room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpad196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
I would like to say thank you for taking the time to review the Bancourt Hotel, and for your kind words. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 1/7/13 for 4 nights.
We travelled with National Holidays last minute.
This hotel is very clean and the rooms were spotless.
We had a front room and had to leave the windows open as it was so hot. The road at the front is very busy so it is very noisy.We could have asked for another room but didn't bother so that's not a failing of the hotel at all.
The beach was a good walk down a long road. About 15 minutes. It's another 10 minutes to the town centre. There is a bus service but we did not use it.
The owners of this hotel work so hard and I could not fault their huge efforts in keeping their customers happy. I am assuming it is family run. I wish them all the best during this difficult economic climate. I will make sure everyone is aware of what a great place this is.
The food was very good and we had a great variety every night.
Everyone on our trip seemed to enjoy this trip so well done to the Bancourt Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarky212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
The Bancourt is a family run hotel, and all the family and staff work hard, so its always nice to receive positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and thanks for your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We held our wedding here on the 22nd June 2013.

What can i say apart from WOW!
After a couple of small hiccups at the beginning of our booking i had my doubts about how well it would all go on the day.....How wrong I was!!!

The day couldn't of been more perfect! Kimberley was a absolute star, She took charge of all our guests as soon as they arrived and directed them to where they needed to be and kept them informed as to what was happening / where they should be.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't in our favor but we did manage to get some lovely shots out in their lovely garden!

The ballroom where we held our reception looked amazing! The staff at the hotel had put out all the decorations we had left with them and everything looked perfect!

We went for a sit down meal which came out on time, the waiters/waitresses knew exactly who was having what without having to ask. (We had over 60 guests!) and no-one had to wait around for theirs.
The food was delicious, All our guests commented on how nice their meal was & also the evening buffet too.

All the equipment for the microphone for our speeches was all set up and ready to go & while this was happening staff whisked our cake off and cut it all up for guests to have after - again no-one was left waiting for theirs it all seemed to be brought out in one go.

They turned our room around really quick already for the evening do.Everything seemed to run like clockwork without a hitch. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Our bridal suite which was included in our booking was really nice too - Four poster bed with ensuite. It also had lovely views over the gardens. This ended up being a god send for us just to escape for a little bit to chillout and take it all in. Plus pretty handy not having to travel after the reception was all over.

Breakfast was once again very good. Helped ourselves to a selection of cereals, fruit, toast & juices then ordered a full english breakfast.

Overall we couldn't of asked for a more perfect day! Thankyou to Kim & all the staff at the hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolipop2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your wedding reception held here. We are glad that everything went well and you and your guests all enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

weve just had a weeks holiday,staying @ the bancourt hotel torquay,the food was excellent,the waitresses were speedy,polite& helpful.The hotel itself is not star rated,even though the decor is a bit dated, the cleanliness & upkeep was generally good.The only downside to it was, its not on a bus route & unless you have transport of some kind or a good set of legs,its a tidy walk to the town

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186220David_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay at the Bancourt Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Booked up the Hotel online for £30.00 - I just needed a place to stay after what was going to be a glass or 2 in Torquay. Walked back to the hotel and there was a Party going on. got to my room and did not hear anything of it.

Slept well and up (a little late) - room was a single. Clean, Shower was good. No issues just did what it said.

Staff were great and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveH745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bancourt. I'm glad that you enjoyed your night in Torquay, and that you found the hotel good. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#53 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Regina Hotel
The Regina Hotel
#54 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#36 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Property: Bancourt Hotel
Address: 55-65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bancourt Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Torquay, South Devon, at the Heart of the English Riviera, this family run no smoking hotel is perfect for exploring the surrounding Devon coast and countryside. The Bancourt is open all year and offers great value for money. The hotel makes an ideal destination for groups, individuals and families, whether you are looking for a short break or holiday. You can relax and make use of the hotels facilities. We have a large secluded gardens, WiFi available at no charge and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing