We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place,great food”
Review of Bancourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bancourt Hotel
Ranked #84 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly place,great food”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed twice,and would go back.entertainment is good and different each night.food is lovely,our room was spacious.only negative thing was pre booking evening meals,but can't complain about anything.staff polite and smart.maybe a little dated,but we didn't go to admire the wallpaper

Room Tip: Can't comment on other rooms,we had upper floor family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Bancourt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    64
    34
    24
    39
See reviews for
37
72
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hotel room ok, just problem getting into bath for shower!!!good chioce of food
at each meal, although Toast a problem for breakfast.
entertainment the three nights was very good, we would go again.
Bus stop into town centre, or Newton Abbot, or into Paighton or Brixham, 5/10 minute walk
bus run every 12 minutes so dont forget you bus pass, or good deals for families

Room Tip: We were at the back people in the front of hotel said more noisy there was alift to all floor or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lainey3771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel and for your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future. We do have a few rooms with a walk in shower that are available on request, just mention you would prefer this when you make your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Admittedly booked as a last minute Bank holiday weekend break but really don't know where to start.
1- Poor car parking facilities not adequate at all for the amount of rooms as described on Hotel website - although most of the guests were part of 2 coach parties and the 2 coaches took up the majority of the spaces.
2 - Reception staff were absent most of the time and we had to go and look for them to collect and hand in room key. Maybe a bell or intercom would help!
3 - Staff attitude left a lot to be desired - not saying anymore about that 1!
4 - We stayed in room 35, which had no door dampener on a very heavy door to slow it down, so it banged very loudly if you didn't catch it quick enough. Decor in room is very dated, dirty and not very comfortable. The shower cubicle had hairs (not ours) in the bottom of it and there was mould all over the shower head. Chambermaid service not done on Sunday - not told about this.
5 - It was impossible not to hear what was going on in other guests rooms - No and closing the window would not have helped, as the majority of noise came from the bed banging against the wall!!!
The atmosphere of this hotel in our opinion verges on a hostel - not a hotel!!
We did not eat here, so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodski22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
I'm sorry that you were not happy with your stay at the Bancourt. We have at least 25 parking spaces and the coach takes up only 5, we don't state on our website that there is a space for every room. The problem with the door closer and cleanliness were not reported during your stay, therefore could not be rectified. Sometimes Reception Staff are called away from the desk, to serve in the bar or deal with other guests, therefore cannot be at the desk at all times. I have passed on the suggestion to get a bell, but in the meantime, there is a sign in place to ask guests to go to the bar, which is adjacent to the reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just returned from coach trip with Leisuretime, staying 4 nights at The Bancourt Hotel. We were party of 2 OAPs, 2 adults, 2 small children and all of us enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are very helpful and the food was excellent. Would definately stay here again. Thank you to all the staff of The Bancourt Hotel for making this an enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bancourt and for your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Room was clean and the staff were by and large friendly, the location was good, flat walk to the beach, the lift was interesting it was a lottery what floor you ended up on which was amusing, breakfast was nice, if you are looking for value for money I would recommend staying here

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nealthesaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Bancourt, and for your positive comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. I have not had any reports regarding the lift, but I will get the engineer to have a look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The welcome was good, however once we got to the room the laughter stared, this was just a collection of events. Beds, broken and had to sleep with feet at the head board because of the downward slope of the bed. Bathroom full of mold and smell.

Went back to reception no one there.

In the morning, when to say something and the man there took the keys and vanished straightaway with another group.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harveyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I’m sorry you were not happy with your room during your stay. There is always a member of staff on duty on reception, unfortunately other guests’ requests may have taken them away from the desk briefly. I’m confident that we would have been able to resolve the problems should a member of staff been informed. We get numerous compliments on how clean the hotel, especially the rooms, so it would be helpful to know which room you were in so we can rectify the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Staff nice but didn't seem able to help. Asked if they did soya milk was told they do, asked for soya milk on my cereals was told they don't have any. So had no choice but to have jam on toast only. They did give me a full refund back on my breakfast. Shower nearly falling off the wall. No hot water. Have to ask for tv remote and pay a £10 deposit refundable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinkerbellamessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I’m sorry you were not entirely happy with your stay. We do not advertise, or say we are a four star hotel, nor charge four star prices. We ask for a deposit for the remote control to ensure they are returned. This means that all televisions have a remote control for future guests to use. Regarding the soya milk, unfortunately it is not something we use on a regular basis therefore we do not keep it in stock. Usually they would be requested in advance and we would then make sure we have it for your stay, but as it wasn’t booked until the evening before, it wasn’t possible to get any. You reported the shower on the morning of your departure, we did offer to go and repair it but you said you were leaving. The maintenance man found it was just that the door had come off the runner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow International Hotel
1.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#53 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Regina Hotel
The Regina Hotel
#54 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#36 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Property: Bancourt Hotel
Address: 55-65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bancourt Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Torquay, South Devon, at the Heart of the English Riviera, this family run no smoking hotel is perfect for exploring the surrounding Devon coast and countryside. The Bancourt is open all year and offers great value for money. The hotel makes an ideal destination for groups, individuals and families, whether you are looking for a short break or holiday. You can relax and make use of the hotels facilities. We have a large secluded gardens, WiFi available at no charge and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing