We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Bancourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bancourt Hotel
Ranked #81 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 9 May 2014

yes WOW wot a fantastic hotel spent the week here from 5th May till the 9th May and i loved it shame on people who say different so wot bout the pool 10mins away u ave the beach and a leisure centre but wot the hell there was 2 much 2 do food was great the rooms were brill i slept like a baby all week which i never do in my own bed and the staff were bloody fantastic a well fantastic family run hotel and would most deffo go bk xx thankyou 2 all staff making my stay fantastic

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Owner at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thanks for your enthusiastic praise we are glad you had such a good time. we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and i stayed in room 35 over the Easter weekend.Nice staff, cozy room and very clean shame about the swimming pool not working. Most of the meals served up cold and cooked in microwave ? Good job the weather was nice!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank karlospWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Owner at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately the pool is not proving easy to bring back on line without major reconstruction. The food is homemade and then chilled in our own kitchen. If it was cold when it reached you, I apologise and hope that you made the restaurant staff aware so they could remedy it for you. I'm glad you had a good time and yes the sun has arrived!! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

as said before the drinks were expensive £3 73 for pint of lager way above our price range.rooms were ok tea and coffee tray plenty of hot water nice towels, the only thing was the pool was out of order it would have been an asset but nobody said why it wasnt open. all in all it was ok...

Room Tip: ROOM 31 was over the front door sometimes you could hear other people chatting the smokers but it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

The price of a pint of lager and bitter is £3.50. Unfortunately the swimming pool had to be closed due to maintenance problems. We're pleased that you were happy with the rooms and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bancourt in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in Room 32 with a Group from 14th to 16th Feb 2014.Our Room was
reasonable campared with our friend in Room 17 whose heating was very poor,shower not
working and the ceiling light fitting fell!
Cooked food not to my taste Service was very good and friendly.I felt uncomfortable and not to be trusted having to pay £10 deposit for TV Remote Control,and was extra careful NOT to loose
the key this would have cost £50 and if you dared smoke even through the open window it meant £100 .Not sure if I want to go back

Room Tip: Choose Room on 2nd Floor Avoid Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank browneyesBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Owner at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

I’m sorry that your friend experienced some difficulty whilst at the hotel. Room 17 is on the same central heating/hot water system as room 32 and no one has reported the shower not working, but the ceiling light has been repaired. We have a £10 deposit for remote controls to ensure the next guest in the room has the correct facilities. You would be amazed how many go missing; it is the same with the keys. You may think it is just a key, but if lost it means that someone has access to the hotel room and the security of our guests is of paramount importance. We change the locks and keys which costs us more than the £50 charge. Smoking in our rooms is not permitted. When we have a guest smoking in the room – or through a window which always blows back into the room – we have to take the curtains down etc as people will no longer tolerate the smell of tobacco smoke in a room. This is why we have a cleaning charge – as a deterrent and to offset the cost of taking a room off line should I not have the staff to strip it the same day. This may seem like a lot of rules and regulations, but so many people think that even the legal side doesn’t apply to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Generally very satisfied with the hotel. Had some misgivings from reading past reviews, but no major issues. The shower was difficult to control, but cleanliness and food was good. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Bancourt Hotel and for your nice comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My birthday party was held on 27th January 2014. Several of my family and friends from all over the country came to the party and stayed the night at the hotel, and without exception praised their night's stay. Specific points selected for special mention by different people ranged from the warmth of the welcome and the excellence of the breakfast to the eagerness of the staff to please and the comfort of the beds.
My wife and I were delighted at the excellence of the hotel's amenities for our function and have already decided to hold any future celebrations of ours at the hotel. Furthermore I have already posted a comment on Facebook urging all my friends to use the hotel's amenities for any of their own visitors to the area!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Public Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your positive reviews about your Birthday Party here. We're glad you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Having just looked at the NEGATIVE comments about this Hotel i would just point out to those people my Title. I arranged a coach party for 40 people for New Year 13/14. and as i wrote in the Comments book "The Best Yet" which was echoed by the rest of the party. Some of my party complained to me later in the evening how upset they were that they had to hump their cases up stairs as they were elderly. My response:- You're fault. There's a lift for starters, Alan had come onto the bus to welcome us saying that cases would be delivered to their rooms, therefore, end of. Initially the complaints were that we are to far out, but they arranged a taxi and at just over £1each into town things became acceptable. Nobody made any complaints about food which was a wide and varied menu, Staff, all of which were related, the downside, ---the're from Yorkshire---L.O.L. {There are no foreign nationals) were friendly and helpful. On entry to our room waiting for us, 2 plates with a mixture of sweets, fruit , and cakes, a very welcoming thought, okay, not on a silver platter, worth a complaint----Nah I can only comment on my room 24. Two bed-side lights either side, one side the switch is on show, but the other no sign of a switch, tried various other switches but still the light stayed on. Time for a shower, cold water, let it run but remained cold. In the evening mentioned it to staff, Room24 the switch is hidden behind the headboard which you need to pull forward, "Have you pulled the chord for the shower? What chord? told where it is. Silly little things which should be sign- posted to ease any problems. Is it worth a negative response ----Nah,, Entertainment, both nights Brilliant. Late night snacks were brought out each night. Overall impression, NO COMPLAINTS. So much so we are looking forward to our return for this years New Year party as we have booked. Thankyou to all the people involved in making our stay well worthwhile and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Bancourt and for your nice comments. We're glad you and your group enjoyed your stay for New Year and look forward to welcoming you back again to see in 2015. (P.S Not all the staff are related!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,314 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#53 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Address: 55-65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bancourt Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Torquay, South Devon, at the Heart of the English Riviera, this family run no smoking hotel is perfect for exploring the surrounding Devon coast and countryside. The Bancourt is open all year and offers great value for money. The hotel makes an ideal destination for groups, individuals and families, whether you are looking for a short break or holiday. You can relax and make use of the hotels facilities. We have a large secluded gardens, WiFi available at no charge and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing