We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.”
Review of Bancourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bancourt Hotel
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Sanshurst
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I had a wonderful stay here back in the 70's. I was in the area on business and stayed for 3 weeks. I have always held strong memories of the place as back then, it was a very good place to stay.

Fast forward over 40 years and how disappointing to return and see such a dramatic drop in standards. Gone is the family feel about the place, gone is the welcoming welcome, gone is the high standards and gone is the value for money of years gone by.

I revisited after so many years purely for sentimental reasons as I was in the area briefly for a funeral of a long time family friend., Wish I had not bothered. Shoddy standards, shoddy cleanliness and average service. Thanks for spoiling a lot of happy memories, I will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    64
    34
    24
    39
See reviews for
37
72
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

yes WOW wot a fantastic hotel spent the week here from 5th May till the 9th May and i loved it shame on people who say different so wot bout the pool 10mins away u ave the beach and a leisure centre but wot the hell there was 2 much 2 do food was great the rooms were brill i slept like a baby all week which i never do in my own bed and the staff were bloody fantastic a well fantastic family run hotel and would most deffo go bk xx thankyou 2 all staff making my stay fantastic

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Owner at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks for your enthusiastic praise we are glad you had such a good time. we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and i stayed in room 35 over the Easter weekend.Nice staff, cozy room and very clean shame about the swimming pool not working. Most of the meals served up cold and cooked in microwave ? Good job the weather was nice!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank karlospWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Owner at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately the pool is not proving easy to bring back on line without major reconstruction. The food is homemade and then chilled in our own kitchen. If it was cold when it reached you, I apologise and hope that you made the restaurant staff aware so they could remedy it for you. I'm glad you had a good time and yes the sun has arrived!! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

as said before the drinks were expensive £3 73 for pint of lager way above our price range.rooms were ok tea and coffee tray plenty of hot water nice towels, the only thing was the pool was out of order it would have been an asset but nobody said why it wasnt open. all in all it was ok...

Room Tip: ROOM 31 was over the front door sometimes you could hear other people chatting the smokers but it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
The price of a pint of lager and bitter is £3.50. Unfortunately the swimming pool had to be closed due to maintenance problems. We're pleased that you were happy with the rooms and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bancourt in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in Room 32 with a Group from 14th to 16th Feb 2014.Our Room was
reasonable campared with our friend in Room 17 whose heating was very poor,shower not
working and the ceiling light fitting fell!
Cooked food not to my taste Service was very good and friendly.I felt uncomfortable and not to be trusted having to pay £10 deposit for TV Remote Control,and was extra careful NOT to loose
the key this would have cost £50 and if you dared smoke even through the open window it meant £100 .Not sure if I want to go back

Room Tip: Choose Room on 2nd Floor Avoid Ground Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browneyesBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Owner at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
I’m sorry that your friend experienced some difficulty whilst at the hotel. Room 17 is on the same central heating/hot water system as room 32 and no one has reported the shower not working, but the ceiling light has been repaired. We have a £10 deposit for remote controls to ensure the next guest in the room has the correct facilities. You would be amazed how many go missing; it is the same with the keys. You may think it is just a key, but if lost it means that someone has access to the hotel room and the security of our guests is of paramount importance. We change the locks and keys which costs us more than the £50 charge. Smoking in our rooms is not permitted. When we have a guest smoking in the room – or through a window which always blows back into the room – we have to take the curtains down etc as people will no longer tolerate the smell of tobacco smoke in a room. This is why we have a cleaning charge – as a deterrent and to offset the cost of taking a room off line should I not have the staff to strip it the same day. This may seem like a lot of rules and regulations, but so many people think that even the legal side doesn’t apply to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Generally very satisfied with the hotel. Had some misgivings from reading past reviews, but no major issues. The shower was difficult to control, but cleanliness and food was good. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Bancourt Hotel and for your nice comments. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My birthday party was held on 27th January 2014. Several of my family and friends from all over the country came to the party and stayed the night at the hotel, and without exception praised their night's stay. Specific points selected for special mention by different people ranged from the warmth of the welcome and the excellence of the breakfast to the eagerness of the staff to please and the comfort of the beds.
My wife and I were delighted at the excellence of the hotel's amenities for our function and have already decided to hold any future celebrations of ours at the hotel. Furthermore I have already posted a comment on Facebook urging all my friends to use the hotel's amenities for any of their own visitors to the area!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BancourtHotel, Public Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your positive reviews about your Birthday Party here. We're glad you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you and your guests back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#37 of 87 in Torquay
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#56 of 87 in Torquay
935 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#87 of 87 in Torquay
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashley Court Hotel
Ashley Court Hotel
#82 of 87 in Torquay
383 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#54 of 87 in Torquay
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Property: Bancourt Hotel
Address: 55-65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bancourt Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Torquay, South Devon, at the Heart of the English Riviera, this family run no smoking hotel is perfect for exploring the surrounding Devon coast and countryside. The Bancourt is open all year and offers great value for money. The hotel makes an ideal destination for groups, individuals and families, whether you are looking for a short break or holiday. You can relax and make use of the hotels facilities. We have a large secluded gardens, WiFi available at no charge and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing