We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fully reccommend to family and friends wishing to stay in Torquay”
Review of The Bahamas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bahamas
Ranked #103 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Carmarthen
1 review
“Fully reccommend to family and friends wishing to stay in Torquay”
Reviewed 22 September 2010

John & Sonia very friendly and helpful ,really enjoyed our stay room very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. would certainly recommend to friends and family looking to stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robl082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    30
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
56
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I travelled to Torquay with a friend for a Christening nearby but made a weekend of the trip. The strength of the reviews was what made us choose the Bahamas. Those reviews were spot on.

Let's be honest - from the price you pay you clearly aren't going to be getting the Ritz but the room was clean, modern and comfortable. I stay in hotels all over the country with work and this room was superior to many that cost twice as much. Some of the communal parts of the hotel were slightly dated but what matters to me most is the private space and that was immaculate.

What really makes The Bahamas is John and Sonia - the owners. Genuinely friendly helpful and they make you feel so welcome. We drank in the hotel bar for a couple of hours on both nights we were there and had a great time chatting to John, he could easily just be your mate sat with you - he appears to be able to hold a conversation with anyone on any subject!

If and when I need to return to this part of the world I will choose The Bahamas without a second thought and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjp116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Our recent stay at "The Bahamas Hotel" was excellent. The hotel was clean & the room had everything we needed. The cooked breakfast was lovely & plenty of it! The bar was available in the evening.

The location is perfect for either going to the beach (only 5 min walk), visiting the town or exploring all the local places of interest.

John & Sonia were so friendly & gave some great suggestions of places to visit.

We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We would recomend "The Bahamas Hotel". We were on a 2 week visit from Australia, went to Torquay for the weekend, booked this hotel by chance on the internet. Arrived to a very friendly welcome with plenty of local information, a room with a comfy bed, and a breakfast to die for. Ideally located within walking distance to the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyharry35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Clean room was of a reasonable size and the bed comfortable. Off road parking was available although limited. A comfortable walk to the marina, sea front and surrounding area where there was a variety of places to eat, drink and amuse yourselves. Lots to see and do in and around Torquay for all ages. Hosts created a home from home atmosphere with their warm, friendly, helpful manner. We only stayed for three nights on this occassion but we will go back but for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleybosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest,Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The Bahamas is on a main road but it is set back, and is so quiet !
It is Clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable.

Excellent Breakfast (not too much, not too little, just right!)

We had a very relaxed comfortable stay, John & Sonia are excellent hosts, very friendly who have a great local knowledge of where to eat and visit, a credit to Torquay !
We will be back, Superior room please !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed at the bahamas hotel in July of this year where the owners are very friendly, breakfast was great. The location of the hotel is really good as you have the sea front within 10-15 mins walking distance, where you will find a number of facilities for all including the riviera centre(swimming pool) , pitch and putt, the abbey etc. Rooms really nicely decorated and equipped with modern facilities. Would defintely come back here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue30051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#30 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#99 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bahamas

Property: The Bahamas
Address: 17 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahamas is a family run guest house hotel offering a friendly, relaxed and informal atmosphere for couples, families and the business traveller. The hotel offers a range of bedrooms all of which have full en-suite facilities, digital TV, free broadband internet access, individually controlled central heating and complimentary toiletries and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel offers quality guest accommodation operating on a bed & breakfast basis, with ample free parking for all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahamas Hotel Torquay
The Bahamas Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing