We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hudson Hotel
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

What a great time we had at the Hudson, great breakfast well presented, great host, great room (with private balcony and entrance) generally just a great place to stay and we will be going back again. Well worth a visit.
The only down side was parking the car at the rear of the hotel, Seagulls just loved our car......
The hotel does have free parking and you can unload and load right outside so no real issue.

Room Tip: Ask for room "one" cant vouch for the others for obvious reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    62
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
13
104
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Spotless hotel. Rooms immaculate. I could open the windows for fresh air on a very hot day, which is not always possible. The proprietor could not have been more helpful and friendly. The breakfast was served in a comfortable, spacious and well appointed room. The portions were perfectly adequate, and of good quality. Perhaps a start half an hour earlier at 08.00 would suit attendees of conferences. I would certainly recommend. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Mine was a couple of floors up, which was no problem for me, but a less able person should ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed here having purchased a deal on Groupon. We stayed for three nights and could not fault our stay. We were able to walk there from Torquay station (about 20/25 mins), and received impeccable service from our arrival. Our room was lovely and airy, tastefully decorated and had a nice little en-suite. Only grumble would be that wi-fi reception in our room wasn't strong, but it was fine in the lounge downstairs, so that worked for us.

The hotel was very central, 5 mins walk from the shops and the marina, and lots to do nearby. Breakfast was really good, unlimited cold breakfast (cereals, toasts, yoghurts etc) followed by a cooked breakfast.

We would definitely stay again, and are already planning to come back in the summer.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Second time here and still a great place to stay. The staff are friendly and the rooms clean and fresh. We were due to meet friends (who were also staying at the hotel) for a meal and popped down for a quick drink at the bar before we went out ................ many drinks later we were still chatting to David, the barman. It was a pity we had made plans as we could have easily stayed at the bar all evening. The drinks were not overpriced, in fact cheaper than most of the bars in town. There were a lot of locals calling in whilst we were there and also having a drink or two, obviously apart from ourselves even the locals think highly of this hotel. A good location to town and the bay and within walking distance, if you have the stamina to Babbacombe! Many thanks Hudson for hosting a great weekend and we will be back again. Jen and Lee

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Lovely B&B, a great base for your time in Torquay. The location is fantastic, right near the front & promenade only a short walk to the town centre. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and shops, and it isn't in the congested area where there are 100s of B&Bs which makes it all the more peaceful. We were able to park our car no problem at all, which is always a bonus!
The room & en suite were bright, airy & clean and the bed was comfortable.
Paul & David are lovely and made us feel very welcome. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My brother and I Stayed for two nights and we were very happy with our short stay. Down to every small detail you would expect from a 4* hotel but better. We were also delighted with the range of breakfast that were displayed out and on the menu.
Very warn an welcoming hotel, with pleasant staff. Would defenatly visit again next time I'm in the area :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielhide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband an I stayed for two nights.. Great hotel. Spotlessly clean. Two min walk to bars and restaurants.. Paul was great. Oh and lovely breakfast. Thanks again! See you in the summer!
Lyn and jim

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chickie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#36 of 87 in Torquay
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#46 of 87 in Torquay
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Regina Hotel
The Regina Hotel
#60 of 87 in Torquay
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel

Property: Hudson Hotel
Address: 545 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 250 metres from Torquay harbour, our guest house provides superb quality bed and breakfast accommodation just a short distance from a bustling array of shops, restaurants and bars. There are 10 spacious bedrooms, each with a stylish shower room, digital TV, seating and coffee/tea facility. Free wi-fi is available to all guests. This superb venue has recently been awarded FOUR-STAR status by Enjoy England. A fully licensed hotel, we are able to provide a wide range of wines, beers and spirits for you to enjoy in our sizeable bar or while relaxing on our raised front patio, taking in the views across Torwood Gardens. The bar will also be open to the public on Saturday evenings from 5pm during the summer season (April to October). Accommodation prices start at just £27.50 per person, per night. There is guaranteed free car parking available for every hotel room (one car per room). Breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9.30am, starting with tea or coffee, fruit juice, toast, cereals and fresh fruit, followed by your choice of full English or continental breakfast (special diets catered for). We are a gay friendly hotel. Our guest house does not have family rooms and we do not take children under 12 years of age. No pets allowed. Groups by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing