We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel”
Review of Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hudson Hotel
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This hotel is perfect, the staff are so friendly and are happy to help, nothing is ever a problem. Car parking is easy, and if by any chance there is no room in the car park at the back of the hotel there is another FREE car park a short walk away. The location of the hotel is a perfect distance to the harbour (2 minute walk away). The rooms are absolutely perfect, we recently stayed in one of the balcony rooms which was brilliant, very spacious, clean, comfortable bed etc etc.
We have been to Torquay for years and have stayed in other hotels on the same strip, however, since we stayed at the Hotel Hudson we havent stayed anywhere else, and will always go back to this hotel when we next visit Torquay.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    61
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
13
103
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel is way past it's best. The parking is a nightmare round a narrow alley at the back, and you have to walk down very steep narrow steps to reception. There is room for 3 cars MAX. Other overflow parking on the road up a hill 1/4ml away...too far with luggage!! The hotel smells damp and evrything is outdated. Our room was cold with only one very small radiator by a window, and this was off most of the time. Nowhere to put anything in the bathroom, not even a towel rail. The hotel is on the main road and you walk up several stone crooked steps to the entrance. Its NOT 24hr reception. The chap who runs the hotel is friendly and makes beakfast on his own every morning, but it's quite basic. Don't be fooled by photos...it's barely a 2star set up and we were glad to finish our 2 day stay. We only booked it on a Groupon voucher offer of #210 off!! The bed was huge and very hard with a thin foam-like duvet. Didn't sleep well...only 1 pillow and a stained silk cushion each. No eating except breakfast. ...Next door is a tumbledown filthy hotel thats about to collapse in rot. Overgrown with ivy and filthy curtains... its empty as a long term dispute but very creepy!!

Room Tip: We had room 9...next to the fire escape at the top byt he back door. Can't recommend it. The own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briney1, Owner at Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
I am sorry to learn that this hotel was described as very 'basic accommodation'.
In answer to the guests comments I advise the following:
1) There is a garunteed FREE car park space for every room/overflow 3 mins walk.
2) Reception located by WIDE steps 3)Free loading/ unloading bay is situated opposite hotel 4) This 4star guest accommodation does not have 24 hr reception or the services of a NIGHT PORTER (I would suggest that this guest would be more suited to staying at 5 star hotel in future) 4) Gas central heating IS ON MORNING AND FROM EARLY AFTERNOON AS REQUIRED/ fully double glazing ( Potable heaters are ALWAYS available on request 5) A shelf is sutuated in the bathroom 6)4 star rated accommodation requires towel rail only where there is a window 7)No more room! *** I would suggest the cust refers to other reviews*
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a groupon deal and were pleasantly surprised by the proximity to the centre of Torquay and also the quality and cleanliness of the rooms. I have stayed in a few B&B's before that were like staying in a run down granny annex and this could not have been further from that description. Everything was extremely clean with some nice decorative touches and the room we stayed in (7) was a really good size.
The main rooms downstairs were really lovely with high ceilings, wooden floors and nicely decorated. The best part (apart from very comfy bed and sheets) was the array of breakfast choices and a very high quality cooked english breakfast which the hubby enjoyed, I had eggs both mornings cooked as you like them and served very promptly.
The owner was very friendly and spoke to us a little about the history of Torquay and recommended a local pub to try.
All in all the Hudson was brilliant value for money, the only thing that could have improved our stay was wifi access.
Laura & Adam

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room on a lower floor if you are not good with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just left and I was pleasantly surprised how great the whole experience was . Really reccomed this hotel for anyone of any age. Really happy !!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSeaton12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights on a groupon voucher and had a really great time! Our room was really nice, very tasteful and very clean. We had a great view of the harbor and all the pretty rooftops. (Only possible downside is that we would have loved a little mini fridge)
The location is really perfect, you can walk right down to the harbor in about five minutes, where there are lots of restaurants, and then continue walking down the road into town where there's loads of shops and stuff. There are two beaches nearby (one much closer, but the other is a do-able 20 minute walk) and the harbor is really lovely.
The breakfast was also really good! Many places just want to give you cereal and toast now, but this includes a full big plate of cooked breakfast goodies, and you can choose if you want all of it or just some and he brings it right out.
There's one gentleman who seems to man everything at the hotel and he was really lovely, he gave us directions to the beach and held our bags for us on the last day when we wanted to wander around a bit more.
There's also a nice lounge with a tv, piano, and bar, where you could relax in the evenings.
Only caveats: we were up on the top floor and there's no lift/elevator, so you have to walk up three flights or so. That was fine for us because we're both 21, but if you might have a problem with that, definitely ask for one of the ground floor or first floor rooms. Also, our internet was very spotty up there, which the owner said happens a lot in that room, so we just hung out in the lounge whenever we wanted better service!
In short, everything is really tastefully decorated, very quaint. It's not like walking into the Ritz, but somehow it's so nice inside that you don't even care. Extremely clean, fantastic service, great location, great breakfast, and really nice rooms. It was quite quiet when we were there, but I think this would be a great option for families.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed for two nights on a Groupon deal and had a great time! The hotel is on the doorstep of the harbour and the shops if you don't drive, but then has parking out the back if you do. Brian and the team were really lovely; nothing seemed too much. Our room was clean with some lovely decorative touches and the bed was large and comfy. Breakfast was well presented and included lots of yummy options, including locally sourced produce. There is also a nice bar and lounge on site. We had a great stay and thank you for making us so welcome! Linda & Terry.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed at the Hudson for two nights 26th-28th May 2012, room number 6 a single room. I was apprehensive about a single room fearing it would be small and dull. I was pleasantly suprised it was bright and airy, high celing and three high sash windows. The layout of the room was a little odd and the flat screen TV tinny (about laptop screen size) But i wasn't there to watch TV so no drama. Overall the hotel was really good for the price (£30 a night B&B, breakfast was adequate, I'm veggie and just had toast and cereal)

On a few pernickety points this hotel/B&B is listed as four star. The towels were not changed or the room cleaned while I was there. There is no lift, not an issue for me but potentially an issue although it is worth noting there are ground floor rooms the steps that lead up to the hotel are steep. That said the guy on reception was friendly and helpful and I'm sure if asked would be happy to help. With these plus a few shabby shelves and decor I find it hard to belive this hotel/B&B would be considered by any traveller as four star. Grate value, grate location, clean accommodation yes four star no. Would defiantly stay here again though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#28 of 87 in Torquay
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#41 of 87 in Torquay
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#22 of 87 in Torquay
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Regina Hotel
The Regina Hotel
#53 of 87 in Torquay
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel

Property: Hudson Hotel
Address: 545 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 250 metres from Torquay harbour, our guest house provides superb quality bed and breakfast accommodation just a short distance from a bustling array of shops, restaurants and bars. There are 10 spacious bedrooms, each with a stylish shower room, digital TV, seating and coffee/tea facility. Free wi-fi is available to all guests. This superb venue has recently been awarded FOUR-STAR status by Enjoy England. A fully licensed hotel, we are able to provide a wide range of wines, beers and spirits for you to enjoy in our sizeable bar or while relaxing on our raised front patio, taking in the views across Torwood Gardens. The bar will also be open to the public on Saturday evenings from 5pm during the summer season (April to October). Accommodation prices start at just £27.50 per person, per night. There is guaranteed free car parking available for every hotel room (one car per room). Breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9.30am, starting with tea or coffee, fruit juice, toast, cereals and fresh fruit, followed by your choice of full English or continental breakfast (special diets catered for). We are a gay friendly hotel. Our guest house does not have family rooms and we do not take children under 12 years of age. No pets allowed. Groups by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing