We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Changed not for the better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hudson Hotel
Ranked #62 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Changed not for the better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Hudson based in Torquay it was my anniversary. I have been coming to this hotel for many years and always stay in the same room and on this occassion I was so disappointed. The owner is the same but the other person who did the housekeeping has now left and you can really notice the difference! The standard of the hotel has gone down including the room , there were stains on the ceiling and wall, an iron burn mark on the floor, the shower cubicle grouting was mouldy, tiles in the bathroom were cracked and the toilet was not clean please see attached photos. This is rated as 4* accomodation, hardly! It used to have that pristine feel about it, sadly it doesnt feel that way anymore, dont get me wrong its probably a lot better than other hotels around the same area and it is of a modern design which is nice.

One further gripe, the breakfast situation. The breakfast is plentiful and varied but the owner Brian is running around trying to serve so many people at one time, that when you request items, he either forgets or brings you what you didnt want or you have to wait ages. Why not have more staff on weekends?

Location is excellent, free to park your car and you can walk into town very near to shops and restaurants, plenty of choice. This hotel is not suitable for disabled people, very steep steps.

Room Tip: On the front of Babbacombe road, most sunniest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todda191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    61
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
13
102
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

stayed at the hudson end sept, friendly welcome upon arrival from owner brian. hotel is clean and rooms are nicely decorated and serviced daily. breakfast was a selection of cereals/toast/fruit and then a full cooked english breakfast if you were still hungry. location is perfect as 2 min walk to harbour with a selection of good resturants and pubs and regular boat trips to brixham and dartmouth. great location, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms. would recommend.

Room Tip: room 4 is a large room with a balcony, located on the front of the hotel, views of the harbour and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Steve and I stayed at the Hudson for 4 nights and enjoyed everything about it...The owners were friendly and very helpful, helping with cases up to our room... The room was very clean, modern and the use of the warm colours down to the towels were very good to the eye, the room was refreshed every day... Breakfast was very good with excellent choices, fresh fruit and yogurts also available every day. Hudson Hotel was minutes from Torquay and the lovely array of bars and restaurants.
I would recommend a stay here and hope to return in the future. Thank you for making our stay an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Look on the website, however all the rooms looked lovely and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

me and the wife have just come back from our first trip to torquay we picked the hudson by chance and wot a nice suprise it was clean the owner brian very freindly the room which was the ground floor balcony room was huge and clean. breakfast nice and hot very good choice of hot and cold items. free car park and if your into bowling theres an amf right across the road.and hotel itself is in great location as its only a 2 min walk to the harbour bars shops will most likely stay again if we go back to torquay again

Room Tip: if you want to pay that bit extra ask for the ground floor balcony room its nice and big and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

The bed was very cheap and nasty the bedsprings were sticking through the mattress. The towels were a disgusting brown colour - the bath mat consisted of a piece of paper that did not get changed over our two night stay. The television was too small making uncomfortable viewing. The cleanliness of both the bedroom and the dining room were poor definitely lacking a woman's touch. Service was very slow at breakfast with the owner juggling too many balls in the air - should employ more staff for peak time e.g breakfasts and guests checking out at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briney1, Owner at Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
I am sorry to hear that Mr Richards stay at Hotel Hudson did not match up to his expectations.
Firstly , I would just mention that this establishment is graded as a 4 star guest house as per the official web site and not as a 4 star Hotel as Mr Richard implies.
Most of the other reviews state that the accommodation is spotless and immaculate through-out which of course is in stark contrast to the coment made by Mr Richards. I regret that the paper bath mat was not replaced overnight which was due to an oversight and I offer my sincere applogies for this. This type of bath mat is being currently used in a 4 star hotel in Torquay. The television is of normal size which can be found in many other 4 star hotels. Service at breakfast has bever been a problem with any other guests that have stayed here. The colour of the towels match the overall colour scheme of the room and these had been previously comericially laundered. There is refurbishment taking place during the winter months (normal hotel procedure) which will include the bedroom Mr Richards occupied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

i have stayed here so many times now, and thats because its very clean ,lovely rooms, great breakfast ,parking , so friendly, brian and paul do a amazing job here you feel welcome and leave feeling that you want to go back ,also its so close to everything me my partner and friends highly recommend you to stay here, as we all will be again !!! :)

Mr Andrew Heseltine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Me and my partner who are both in out 20's wanted to celebrate our engagement and couldn't have picked a better B&B to stay in! Perfect place for people of all ages.

We were greeted when parking the car and shown our way in. Both Brian and Paul are lovely people and made us feel very welcome, especially on Saturday when we had a few drinks at the bar and met some friends of Paul and Brian who were all so lovely.

Breakfast was nice with lots of choice, Brain is very attentive and makes sure all your needs are met.

Our room was on the top floor and we had a view to a church which was nice. The room is decorated modern, with a nice en-suite and tea or coffee to make at our leisure.

Overall me and my partner had a great stay and would love to come back.

Thank you to all the staff at The Hudson your all AMAZING!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#27 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#43 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel

Property: Hudson Hotel
Address: 545 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 250 metres from Torquay harbour, our guest house provides superb quality bed and breakfast accommodation just a short distance from a bustling array of shops, restaurants and bars. There are 10 spacious bedrooms, each with a stylish shower room, digital TV, seating and coffee/tea facility. Free wi-fi is available to all guests. This superb venue has recently been awarded FOUR-STAR status by Enjoy England. A fully licensed hotel, we are able to provide a wide range of wines, beers and spirits for you to enjoy in our sizeable bar or while relaxing on our raised front patio, taking in the views across Torwood Gardens. The bar will also be open to the public on Saturday evenings from 5pm during the summer season (April to October). Accommodation prices start at just £27.50 per person, per night. There is guaranteed free car parking available for every hotel room (one car per room). Breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9.30am, starting with tea or coffee, fruit juice, toast, cereals and fresh fruit, followed by your choice of full English or continental breakfast (special diets catered for). We are a gay friendly hotel. Our guest house does not have family rooms and we do not take children under 12 years of age. No pets allowed. Groups by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing