We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cally and Tom”
Review of Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hudson Hotel
Ranked #63 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Brilliant! A lovely stay in a lovely room. With the room being nearly as big as our flat. Really enjoyed our weekend and will definatly be going there again. Good location with the town and the beach metres away. Modern and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cally92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Hudson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

AAAAmazing, can I just say thankyou for an amazing stay. myself and my mum loved our 4 day stay at the Hudson, nothing was too much trouble.

the room was clean and beautifully presented.
the hotel is 2 mins walk from the harbour, but you would never know, it is so quiet.

the cooked breakfast by the singing chef was lovely. extras were available. but there is so much choice you will definetly be full.

you made my mums time away with me, truly one we will never forget. thankyou so much.

we will definetly be visiting again. :) :)

j norman / f king . Nuneaton warickshire

Room Tip: the lower double room is beautiful and has it's own sofa, entrance/patio. truly lovely room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My boyfriend and i visited Torbay as we were wanting to visit the Elephant restaurant in celebration of my birthday. Really we were looking for a clean. affordable place for the night and that is exactly what we got.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Brian who had given us a courtesy call during the late afternoon to see what kind of time we would be arriving - this was a nice touch. Brian was a friendly gentleman providing us details of where to park our car free of charge (this was ideal!) and showed us to our bedroom. We had a balcony room which was great - my boyfriend is a smoker so was able to enjoy a cigarette on the balcony and the views were great!

The room was huge as was the bed - plenty big enough for 2 people sharing! I would agree that the towels were rather small - me and my boyfriend are not the largest of people but had we known they were so small we would have brought our own! We did have a bit of trouble with the shower (the knob fell off & was stuck on freezing cold water) - however after a bit of playing about my boyfriend remedied the situation and i enjoyed a lovely hot shower. The shower gel dispenser was empty which was a little dissappointing, but there was a small bar of soap ready for our use.

The location of the Guest House is fantastic - it takes just a few minutes to walk down to the harbour where there is a great choice of restaurants. We went to Amici on the Friday night (literally a stones throw away!) and enjoyed great Italian food. Hennessy Cocktail is extremely close by too, serving very reasonably priced cocktails.

We enjoyed the breakfast on Sunday morning - served from 8.30am - 9.30am this was a little bit of a struggle being so early for a Sunday morning, however we were glad we set our alarm. My boyfriend enjoyed the full english and i had scrambled egg on toast with bacon - Brian was extremely accommodating to individual requests so was nice to have free choice.

At £60 p/night this is great accommodation - you get a lot for your money and it is nice to support a local business run by such a nice personable man.

Room Tip: Opt for a balcony room
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The term Hotel Hudson is misleeding. Actually it is a guest house.
The guest house is centrally located and the owner is very friendly and helpful. I stayed in room no. 6 (small but ok for 1 person). The sink is in the bedroom and had only cold water. Shower and toilet are ensuite. The room has a coffee- / teamaker, alarm clock / radio, wardrobe and TV. The breakfast was served from 8.30 to 9.30 am and tasted good (toast, juice, water, jam, full english breakfast, etc.).
The room no. 6 needs a renovation very badly based on the time of my stay (Oct. 2012). The room didn´t look like the pictures on the website or the website of the travel agent.
It was very cold in the room at night. The radiator stopped completely during nighttime (I guess from 10 pm to 6 or 7 am / timer?) although it was very warm within the rest of the building, eg hallway. During daytime the radiator didn´t work properly. There are some stains on the wall and on the carpet. One night the roof was leaking due to heavy rain (but only one night).

I don´t know the other rooms, but I wouldn´t stay in room no. 6 again. Although the price was good and the owner was nice and helpful.

The hotel is ok for 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room no. 6. (Oct. 2012)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxtrott1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The room was nice enough, the towels were tiny and looked more like hand towels than bath ones, the complimentary toiletries only amounted to the wall mounted dispenser (which was empty), check out by 10:30 was a bit too early, the breakfast was mediocre (although this might have been down to the previous nights powercut rather than the chef).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian P, Owner at Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Hotel Hudson replies:
 
1 Each guest is provided with one hand towel and two bath towels.

2 I agree that the dispenser in that particular room was empty, but this was due to a fault that had occurred the previous day. However, there would have been a miniature bar of wrapped soap placed in the shower cubicle for the guest's use.

3 The 10.30am checkout time is standard for all the guest houses in Torquay - although we can be flexible, when asked. (I would respectively point out that this establishment is a 4-star guest house, not a more expensive 4-star hotel, where the checkout time would normally be up to mid-day.

4 The power cut to which the customer has referred to - the first one in seven years! - happened at 8.25 am - five minutes before all 14 guests were due to arrive for breakfast. However, all 14 guests were able to have a full English breakfast, served with scrambled egg, instead of fried egg. We made customers aware of this.
 
I do hope that this clears any misunderstandings that may have arisen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel Hudson based in Torquay it was my anniversary. I have been coming to this hotel for many years and always stay in the same room and on this occassion I was so disappointed. The owner is the same but the other person who did the housekeeping has now left and you can really notice the difference! The standard of the hotel has gone down including the room , there were stains on the ceiling and wall, an iron burn mark on the floor, the shower cubicle grouting was mouldy, tiles in the bathroom were cracked and the toilet was not clean please see attached photos. This is rated as 4* accomodation, hardly! It used to have that pristine feel about it, sadly it doesnt feel that way anymore, dont get me wrong its probably a lot better than other hotels around the same area and it is of a modern design which is nice.

One further gripe, the breakfast situation. The breakfast is plentiful and varied but the owner Brian is running around trying to serve so many people at one time, that when you request items, he either forgets or brings you what you didnt want or you have to wait ages. Why not have more staff on weekends?

Location is excellent, free to park your car and you can walk into town very near to shops and restaurants, plenty of choice. This hotel is not suitable for disabled people, very steep steps.

Room Tip: On the front of Babbacombe road, most sunniest.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todda191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

stayed at the hudson end sept, friendly welcome upon arrival from owner brian. hotel is clean and rooms are nicely decorated and serviced daily. breakfast was a selection of cereals/toast/fruit and then a full cooked english breakfast if you were still hungry. location is perfect as 2 min walk to harbour with a selection of good resturants and pubs and regular boat trips to brixham and dartmouth. great location, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms. would recommend.

Room Tip: room 4 is a large room with a balcony, located on the front of the hotel, views of the harbour and g...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#34 of 87 in Torquay
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#40 of 87 in Torquay
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#53 of 87 in Torquay
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#22 of 87 in Torquay
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel

Address: 545 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £61 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 250 metres from Torquay harbour, our guest house provides superb quality bed and breakfast accommodation just a short distance from a bustling array of shops, restaurants and bars. There are 10 spacious bedrooms, each with a stylish shower room, digital TV, seating and coffee/tea facility. Free wi-fi is available to all guests. This superb venue has recently been awarded FOUR-STAR status by Enjoy England. A fully licensed hotel, we are able to provide a wide range of wines, beers and spirits for you to enjoy in our sizeable bar or while relaxing on our raised front patio, taking in the views across Torwood Gardens. The bar will also be open to the public on Saturday evenings from 5pm during the summer season (April to October). Accommodation prices start at just £27.50 per person, per night. There is guaranteed free car parking available for every hotel room (one car per room). Breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9.30am, starting with tea or coffee, fruit juice, toast, cereals and fresh fruit, followed by your choice of full English or continental breakfast (special diets catered for). We are a gay friendly hotel. Our guest house does not have family rooms and we do not take children under 12 years of age. No pets allowed. Groups by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing