We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than your money's worth, highly recommended!”
Review of Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hudson Hotel
Ranked #62 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More than your money's worth, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you have traveled abroad recently and expect low class accommodation this this is a lovely surprise. Great for families and singles, perfect location. Very clean and lovely friendly staff. Fantastic balcony rooms with full amenities . We used this hotel for business as the price was amazing for the location but are planning a family holiday there very soon.
Thank you hotel Hudson for fitting us in on a last minute reservation when we just turned up on your doorstep!

Room Tip: Ground floor or basement rooms for east access, upper floors for amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    61
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
13
103
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and it gets better every year Brian is a great guy very helpful a great choice for breakfast see you soon Brian great location for pubs and restaurants our room was clean and tidy we will be back in the near future it was a long drive back to preston but was well worth it good luck Brian give my love to torquay xxxxxx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We only stayed one night at the Hudson. We were met by the owner Brian who was extremely friendly and very helpful. we asked for recommendations for a restaurant for the night and he was only too happy to help. The room was clean and spacious and the hotel is only a couple of minutes away from restaurants and bars. Breakfast was great too- overall a great stay and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have just come back from Torquay after spending 2 nights at the Hudson Hotel.
When we arrived, we were met by the proprietor Brian. He was an extremely nice man who went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. Even after completing a long shift, through breakfast to bedtime, Brian was always there with a smile. We were definitely impressed especially at Breakfast time, as nothing was too much trouble, and as I have a tendency to always deviate from the menu. However, whatever I wanted I got!
So, would I go back to this lovely quaint little hotel where we were so well looked after?
ABSOLUTELY!!!!

Room Tip: Just call in advance to secure a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattynoo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Have just spent two nights in a superior room. Great room with plenty of space, and very clean. Only 2 minutes walk to the pubs and restaurants. And the cooked breakfast is great. If we ever come back, we will head straight to the Hudson.
C & M...NZ.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cdkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the Hudson hotel the staff were very friendly the room was clean and had all you would expect from a good b&b the breakfast was very good with a niece selection it is also in a great location(on a slight hill) I would have no hesitation in staying here again

Room Tip: close enough to sea front, shops, and night life but still far enough away for a bit of piece
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for a birthday weekend and booked 2 nights. On the first night we were woken at 11:45pm by someone trying to kick our door in. It turned out to be the very drunk girlfriend of the member of staff who was staying in the private flat/room opposite ours. A domestic occurred and as we were unable to get a response from the bell in the hall which is there to call the staff, we ended up ringing the police, waiting for them to come and letting them in. The girl was arrested but of course by the time it all got sorted and quietened down it was 2:45am. We attempted to get some sleep with the sofa barricading the door as we felt so unsafe. We asked to see the manager at about 8:15 next morning (didn't want our breakfast as we were so tired/upset). We told him we were leaving and asked for a full refund due to the horrific incident. he refuses, saying we could have a refund for the night we weren't staying but we had stayed the first night so he would keep the money. We disagreed with him and he eventually agreed to refund the whole amount, but his apology was somewhat hollow and he kept saying that he hadn't had any sleep ether as he had been woken at 2:30am by a text about the incident. If he was on the premises I really don't know why he didn't hear the whole thing as it was VERY loud and went on for over 2 hours. We ended up going to the Imperial Hotel, who were absolutely lovely to us and gave us a fabulous room and lots of TLC. If we return to torqueay we will definitely stay at the Imperial.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briney1, Owner at Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
I am sorry to learn of this complaint in regard to their stay at Hotel Hudson.
However, I am pleased to note that it was nothing to do with the standard of the accommodation offered or the choice availabilty of breakfast menu.
The problem appears to be with a couple of guests that stayed opposite there room who had an argument during the early hours of the morning. As I understand matters they were noisy and became abusive between themselves. One of them was kicking their door by mistake, Had the disturbed guests not taken the matter into their own hands by ringing the police but sought assistance by ringing the reception bell then matters may have been easier to resolve. I would respectfully point out that during the check in process it is made quite clear to ALL guests that there is a bell situated opposite reception, their is also a notice on reception and also a notice in the customer information folder in every guest room. It's worth mentioning that a German shepherd dog resides on the premises and although the disturbed guests intimated the bell was rung several times without success it would have been impossible for me not to have heard it ring or any other noise for that matter by way of the dog barking. He has a very loud bark! I only became aware of the situation later on that morning by way of an answer message.On the following morning , I offered my appoligies several times to the disturbed guests for their unfortunate experience.They both seemed to be disinterested and it became immediately clear to me that they wanted to leave before breakfast. In fact they had both thier coats on and cases packed. As a gesture of goodwill I refunded 100% of the accommodation fees to them.
Further, but not least, I am pleased that they completed their other night in Torquay at the 4**** Imperial Hotel which has a very high reputation. Hotel hudson is catorgrised as a 4**** guest house accommodation which of course cannot be compared like for like.
I cannot understand why they did not book into The Imperial Hotel in the first place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#27 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#42 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#59 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel

Property: Hudson Hotel
Address: 545 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 250 metres from Torquay harbour, our guest house provides superb quality bed and breakfast accommodation just a short distance from a bustling array of shops, restaurants and bars. There are 10 spacious bedrooms, each with a stylish shower room, digital TV, seating and coffee/tea facility. Free wi-fi is available to all guests. This superb venue has recently been awarded FOUR-STAR status by Enjoy England. A fully licensed hotel, we are able to provide a wide range of wines, beers and spirits for you to enjoy in our sizeable bar or while relaxing on our raised front patio, taking in the views across Torwood Gardens. The bar will also be open to the public on Saturday evenings from 5pm during the summer season (April to October). Accommodation prices start at just £27.50 per person, per night. There is guaranteed free car parking available for every hotel room (one car per room). Breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9.30am, starting with tea or coffee, fruit juice, toast, cereals and fresh fruit, followed by your choice of full English or continental breakfast (special diets catered for). We are a gay friendly hotel. Our guest house does not have family rooms and we do not take children under 12 years of age. No pets allowed. Groups by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing