We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, lovely B&B, good location”
Review of Trelawney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trelawney Hotel
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great proprietors - Rosie & Jim. Lovely rooms,comfy beds, good shower, great breakfast. My husband & I treated my elderly in-laws to a weekend away and I couldn't have chosen a better B&B. When I initially made the reservation online, I requested a room downstairs or near a lift for my in-laws. I was called back almost immediately by Jim who confirmed they did not have a lift or ground floor rooms but our rooms are next door to each other and close to the stairs. My in-laws have the same set up at home, so they were comfortable using the stairs. I thought it great that we had joining rooms. At breakfast we were surprised that there were more guests in the B&B, it was so quiet. We shall certainly stay again if they have availability when we return to Torquay.. Highly recommended. Thank you Rosie & Jim for running a B&B the way it should be!

Room Tip: If you have special requests, post your request on your booking enquiry/reservation. They will call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteJones1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Our 5 day break with my elderly parents was made extra special by the warm welcome we received from proprietors, Rosie and Jim. The service was excellent as were the breakfasts the rooms the cleanliness and the friendly hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt completely at home. It was lovely having the bar in the lounge area. We shall certainly be back! Ann and Mick, [----]

Room Tip: the back of the hotel is much quieter ., as the front is on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniecoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Nice hotel, clean and well-decorated rooms, good breakfast, very friendly and co-operative hosts. The beach ( not a nice one) is a short walk from this hotel. Overall a pleasant stay and will highly recommend this hotel. Only complain is that there were no toilet brushes provided.

Room Tip: Room 15 is THE best room... It is newly re-decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NidhiA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This was a lovely b and b; it was clean the rooms were great the breakfast was lovely and there is even a cosy little bar. The owners Rosie and Jim were wonderful and couldn't gave been more accommodating. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Well what can I say, I am back again in Torquay and after losing the faith in privately owned hotels such as 'The County' I booked myself in for a three night stay at the 'Trelawney Hotel'. A mature couple called Rose and James own and run the hotel, they are very warm and helpful hosts and nothing ever seems to much for them to help you.

For example my room was on the top floor and I was have trouble connecting to the free wireless internet they offer. I asked if they knew anywhere local that I could connect to the internet and without a thought James offered to open the bar for me and then suggested moving my room down to the first floor as they had one that was free, which I accepted.

Another example of their excellent service was on the morning of my departure I had an early start, needing to leave before they started serving breakfast. I asked if I could settle my bill the night before and Rose kindly offered to prepare my breakfast earlier than the scheduled time.

The hotel itself is very nice and from what James was telling me over a pint one evening, they have had the whole place gutted and brought in to the 21st century. Both rooms I stayed in were very clean and comfortable with modern décor and a tv with a good range of channels.

In my opinion Rose and James set a standard that guest house owners and dare I say larger hotel groups should learn from. Hospitality, Food and Accommodation for the prices they charge are excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garywilliams2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

He have just come back from a 4 day break in Torquay and although the weather wasn't great we had a fantastic time. Jim and Rosie made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Rosie's breakfasts are the best on the south coast! Jim is fantastic, full of local knowledge and he can tell you the best places to eat. You won't be disappointed staying at the Trelawney. Great location. Very Clean. Very modern and trendy with new en suites and LCD tvs in the rooms. We stayed in room 9 at the back of the hotel and it was very peaceful. With regards to parking, Jim will help you find somewhere to park- he even let us park in his space around the back! As mentioned, nothing is too much trouble with these guys. We will definitely return for even longer next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H11OUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The proprietors, Rosie and Jim, along with supporting staff were all brilliant. Very helpfull, freindly, knowledgable.
The rooms that we had were lovely, extremely clean, well decorated and appointed, lovely comfy beds, flat screen telly, tea/coffee making facilities,good ensuite bathroom.
Harbour, shops, bars etc a short walk away. We will defiately return, brilliant !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlthebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#25 of 86 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#48 of 86 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 86 in Torquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#24 of 86 in Torquay
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#41 of 86 in Torquay
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 86 in Torquay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawney Hotel

Address: 48 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#30 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trelawney Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul and Liz welcome you to the Trelawney Hotel in Torquay in the heart of the English Riviera. Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation, with all the warmth and comfort you’d expect from a family run establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trelawney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawney Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing