We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value, super friendly reception and a great night's kip!!”
Review of Trelawney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trelawney Hotel
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I stayed here as was working in the area just before Christmas.

The place was getting decorated whilst I was there, and the whole hallway had been plastered. However - the owners had the whole place cleaned up and clutter free for me on arrival - and nothing was too much trouble

The room was small, but extremely well decorated and bed was really comfy....

I stay in a lot of places working around the country, and for the room rate - this is one of my absolute favourites and would recommend to anyone looking for a great place to rest your head

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed here again October 2012. B&B rate £55 really fab. Rosie & Jim are great hosts, very accommodating. I love this place. Good location, comfortable rooms.The rooms are decorated individually. Cannot fault anything.

Room Tip: I have stayed in 2 different rooms on 2 occasions and could not fault either, one superior and one s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnetteJones1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed for one night over the weekend as a trip down for my partners Birthday. Room rate was £55 for the night which I think is very reasonable for this type of accomodation.

It is only about 300 yards (downhill) to the coastline and about a ten minute walk to the main bay with all the local restaurants and attractions, so very well postioned.

The room was cosy enough and the decor modern looking, the bed was very comfy, we had en-suite shower, 4 poster bed and a plasma tv with about 30-40 of the usual free view channels.

Breakfast was hearty and excellent - full english was superb and looking back at previous reviews and picking up on the idiot who put the one negative review on here back in 2010, when I ordered and poached egg it was not a problem and very tasty too boot. Made freshly by the poor chap in charge who's wife normal does the cooking but was not very well (this was only the 2nd time in five years he'd done the breakfast shift!)

Would happily recommend to friends and would consider for accomodation again when we return to Torquay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grauters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for our wedding anniversary. We booked a room with a four poster bed and I have to say I have stayed in many a 5 star hotel and this was every bit as plush although smaller of course. The room was clean and well kept, the bathroom was small but clean and nice and bright. Rose was very helpful when we arrived very early and showed us to some parking around the back which is very limited. Jim also recommended some restaurants and possible trips to do during our short stay, All in all I would recommend to anyone and if we venture back to Torquay I would definitely try to book here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taz_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Myself, husband and son stayed in the Trelawney Hotel for 4 nights. Rosie and Jim are fab hosts and the breakfast is lovely. They made a particular effort with my little boy, which he enjoyed. We stayed in a family room that was modern, spotless and comfortable. The price we payed was excellent for the room standard. We honestly could not fault it and will some day return I hope. I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda135479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just got back from two nights at the trelawney with four friends. A very warm welcome awaited us from Rosie and we stayed in room 12 & 15. The first thing that amazed me was the amazing decor, comfy beds and everything was spotless. Jim was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was plentiful and filling and nothing was too much trouble. Overall I would highly recommend the Trelawney and will be difinitley going back!!.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had a super family break taking over more than half the Trelawney Hotel. Many late nights in the bar and keeping either Jim or Rosie up to the early hours of the morning but we all got up much to Jim's suprise for a 8.30am full english breakfast with extras.The bedrooms are very comfortable with all required amenities.Plenty of suggestions for eating places. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#41 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
412 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#51 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawney Hotel

Address: 48 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#30 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £43 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trelawney Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul and Liz welcome you to the Trelawney Hotel in Torquay in the heart of the English Riviera. Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation, with all the warmth and comfort you’d expect from a family run establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Trelawney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawney Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing