We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly relaxing place to escape”
Review of Trelawney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trelawney Hotel
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We can't fault this place. The hotel is fronted with a well kept garden full of flowers, the rooms are decorated tastefully and the hotel is superbly located not far from the marina and the train station. We had a great nights kip, the rooms were perfectly clean, comfortable, we had a good breakfast and were well hosted. A really nice 24 hours away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe99982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a last minute get away for me and the husband. When we arrived the hotel owner moved his car to enable us to park. Parking is not an issue there if the hotel is not full, worth checking when booking.

Staf are husband and wife team and are very very accommodating. The bar was handy and reasonable. Dinner is available at the hotel I believe but we ventured into town most evenings as it was in walking distance.

The room was very nice and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept on. I think the matresses were memory foam, or at least they felt like it. Hotel was very clean and light and airy not like some of these period houses where owners end up making the look like something out of Hyancyth Bookea (probs spelt that wrong).

I would definately stay at the hotel again, it was priced reasonable, £54 per night for double room includding breakfast. Breakfast was fresh and plenty available for those with a larger appetite. Well worth the money.

Trelawney Hotel
48 Belgrave Road
Torquay
TQ2 5HS
United Kingdom View Map
Trelawney Hotel
48 Belgrave Road
Torquay
TQ2 5HS
United Kingdom View Map
Tel: 44 01803 296049

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are busier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisoncornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night, 1st June. We could not fault it. We had a standard double room which was still a really good size with everything you would need. Comfortable bed, decorated to a very high standard, clean and well presented. More than you would expect for the reasonable rate they charge. Breakfast was included which was delicious, full english with all the trimmings. The public areas are extremely well presented, everything feels new and fresh. The owners are friendly and welcoming. The location is fantastic, walking distance to the beech and some fantastic restaurants and bars a coupe of minutes walk away. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dons24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just got back from another great stay. Rosie and Jim fantastic hosts who make you feel very welcome. Rooms very clean and comfortable with modern decor & ensuite bathroom. Food was good.We will definately go back for another stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed for 1 night, as had a family wedding nearby. Great little hotel, more of a b&b than a hotel in my opinion, but was a lovely place.

Rosie and Jim were very welcoming hosts, rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. (Much more than my own bed I have to admit).

Location is perfect, close to all you need, breakfast was the usual English or continental and arrived very quickly after ordering.

I whole heartedly recommend the Trelawny Hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed for one night with a large group of people. Jim & Rosie were lovely. Really make an effort to make you happy. They dont normally take such large group bookings as us as it can be pretty noisy and they tend to have familys and couples who dont want to be woken up in 2am in the morning to a bunch of drunks. With their kind nature we tried our best to keep the noise to a minimum (which hopefully we all achieved). Breakfast was a little full on for the staff as we all decided to come down at the same time but they made sure that we were not all forgotten. Rooms are all indvidually decorated, which I think is such a sweet touch. Bathrooms are tiny and the shower is poor and extremely hot...but very clean and didnt put a dampner on my stay. Overall this hotel is very sweet, owners are very lovely. We were all very happy!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a good shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Jim and Rose(owners) are very nice ,friendly and helpful people.we stayed for 3nts and paid £170.00,in a four poster ensuite room.bathroom very small,as is the shower,which 'dribbled' more than showered (they did clean the head as this spewed black bits on me.)too no avail.
we felt the room was far to small for a four poster bed, decor rather dark.
.the traffic was extremely busy even for march!Jim explained this was due to road works,and obviously out of their control.:-)
breakfast was uneventful apart from there beautiful bacon...don't change your supplier! poor choices of fruit..none fresh...very cheap yogurt.I really can't label this B&B as a luxurious hotel as the blurb suggests but as a B&B that is friendly and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrygirlSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#25 of 86 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#48 of 86 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#44 of 86 in Torquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#24 of 86 in Torquay
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#41 of 86 in Torquay
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 86 in Torquay
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawney Hotel

Address: 48 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#30 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trelawney Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul and Liz welcome you to the Trelawney Hotel in Torquay in the heart of the English Riviera. Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation, with all the warmth and comfort you’d expect from a family run establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trelawney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawney Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing