We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice a short-break with children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trelawney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trelawney Hotel
Ranked #48 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice a short-break with children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were here for two nights. Rosie and Jim were very helpful. Room 15 was really good size for the family with three children. Room was comfortable. Breakfast menu was good choice of cereals, fruits and full English. Great for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SousChef43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    37
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
47
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This place was great. A very warm welcome from a lady who gave as advice on some things to do including a £1 ferry ride. The breakfasts were full English with cereals, fruit if you wanted. I heard Jim taking alsorts of orders for poached eggs on toast etc and he made what was requested. Location is about a 15 minute walk from the main tourist area. Would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh lancs england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in August, Hotel was very clean, the room was small be but enough for what we wanted, Rosie and Jim were very helpful and put us right on things to do and see.
Beakfast menu gives you a good choice from cereal to a full English.
Nothing was too much trouble for them and was made very wellcome.
If we ever go back to Torquay will book again to stay hear.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhino chad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were looking for a short break in Torquay at short notice and when looking around the available ones we came across the Trelawney which looked good value for money with the rooms we wanted. We were apprehensive at first because you never know what you will get, but we were not disappointed with what we got. Rosie and Jim are very friendly and the hotel is very clean and friendly. We always felt very comfy and at home. The breakfast side bar and cooked breakfast was most welcoming in the morning. We most certainly will be staying at the Trelawney again next year on our Torquay holiday.

Room Tip: If you are not good on stairs request a lower level room. Top floor rooms on the front have good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel was very good value for money. We stayed here for 2 nights from the 7th to the 9th of August and the owners were helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough for you, suggesting things to do around Torquay, giving the whole experience a pleasant and more personal experience than you get from other hotels. The hotel was clean and tidy, the breakfast was lovely and well laid out and it had a great location, only a few minute walk from the seaside. If I go down to Torquay again, I would definitely consider staying with Rose and Jim at the Trelawney Hotel again. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinno_and_lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Having seen the reviews, we were looking forward to staying. But we were very disappointed with cleanliness, on the day of arrival I had to wash the bathroom floor plus the waste bin wasn't emptied from previous guests. We found clumps of hair on the bedroom carpet , and the room was dusty, overall cleanliness was very poor. One day it hadn't even been serviced at all so we complained . We were offered a complimentary drink. I took pictures as proof . I complained when we got home, but the reply from the owner was . I suggest you watch less television. IE: The Hotel Inspector. I was disgusted with this comment. On the plus side beds were comfy, and breakfast okay. Would NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelawneyhotel, Owner at Trelawney Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
This review left by the lady who emailed us and threatened to publish photographs unless we gave her a full refund. We refused
Enough said.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

myself and my wife spent a delightful weekend in torquay firstly to attend the match between afc wimbledon and torquay and to enjoy torquay it's self, we stayed at the hotel trelawney and may i say we couldn't of made a better choice for value, service, and friendlieness, full english breakfast was just right to start the day off with. Jim and Rose could not of made us feel more welcome, Jim is a season ticket holder at torquay so to offer to give us both a lift to the game said it all.Will definetly going back.

Room Tip: room 4 as a four poster bed, faces main road traffic was not that bad thou
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#47 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#46 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#32 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashwood Grange Hotel
Ashwood Grange Hotel
#60 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.0 mi away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawney Hotel

Property: Trelawney Hotel
Address: 48 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
#31 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trelawney Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Trelawney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawney Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing