We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”
Review of Trelawney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trelawney Hotel
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for four nights in May, definately recommend to anyone who enjoys a delicious home cooked breakfast, cleanliness, and superb hosts.Very nice location, about 10 minutes from Torquay town centre. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in Room 9 for 3 nights. It was pleasantly decorated, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and very generous. Rosie and Jim were great hosts - friendly and helpful in every possible way. We would certainly recommend the Trelawney Hotel to anyone. The location is very convenient for a holiday in South Devon.

Room Tip: Room 9 at the back of the hotel was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a lovely stay here, spent 1 night on sat 9th Nov but now wish is was longer. We were originally booked into room 9 but wanted a room with a bath so we asked if there was 1, it was no trouble at all for Rosie she moved us to the best ever room 15 huge, the bath is big enough to swim in :). It's friendly warm & you get the personal touch unlike the big hotels where they just want your money, Jim came over to us & all the other guests & spent a little time chatting, that was great. I've got to say the breakfast was lovely & hot, again you don't get this with the bigger hotels as everything is under a hot plate & dry, our food was cooked to order & piping hot, with endless tea, coffee & juices. We will definitely be going for another visit. Thankyou Rosie & Jim :).

Room Tip: We staying in room 15 right at the top, no good for people with difficulty getting up & down sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileysandicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were here for two nights. Rosie and Jim were very helpful. Room 15 was really good size for the family with three children. Room was comfortable. Breakfast menu was good choice of cereals, fruits and full English. Great for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SousChef43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This place was great. A very warm welcome from a lady who gave as advice on some things to do including a £1 ferry ride. The breakfasts were full English with cereals, fruit if you wanted. I heard Jim taking alsorts of orders for poached eggs on toast etc and he made what was requested. Location is about a 15 minute walk from the main tourist area. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in August, Hotel was very clean, the room was small be but enough for what we wanted, Rosie and Jim were very helpful and put us right on things to do and see.
Beakfast menu gives you a good choice from cereal to a full English.
Nothing was too much trouble for them and was made very wellcome.
If we ever go back to Torquay will book again to stay hear.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhino chad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were looking for a short break in Torquay at short notice and when looking around the available ones we came across the Trelawney which looked good value for money with the rooms we wanted. We were apprehensive at first because you never know what you will get, but we were not disappointed with what we got. Rosie and Jim are very friendly and the hotel is very clean and friendly. We always felt very comfy and at home. The breakfast side bar and cooked breakfast was most welcoming in the morning. We most certainly will be staying at the Trelawney again next year on our Torquay holiday.

Room Tip: If you are not good on stairs request a lower level room. Top floor rooms on the front have good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#41 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 85 in Torquay
412 reviews
1.1 mi away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#51 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawney Hotel

Address: 48 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#30 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £42 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trelawney Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul and Liz welcome you to the Trelawney Hotel in Torquay in the heart of the English Riviera. Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation, with all the warmth and comfort you’d expect from a family run establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Trelawney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawney Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing