We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out”

Babbacombe Model Village
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Babbacombe Model Village is Torquay's most popular and visited attraction. Representing British life and culture over the last five decades all in miniature. Animated scenes, along with touches of very English humour bring it all to life. Taking you on a fun, informative and nostalgic trip through the 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s to present day, it has appeal for all ages. Famous for its lovely setting in 4 acres of award-winning gardens that are a delight to experience all year round. NOTE: Opening times signify the admission times - opening to latest entry.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Day out”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The detail of the model village was very good, it was just a very quick trip round, which worked out expensive at £9.50 an adult. Perhaps it would take longer if you had small children

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 985lianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,909
    690
    160
    49
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely day out”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It is rather expensive- you can get discount vouchers in leaflets- but it is goof fun for adults and parents

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sanyijudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebburn
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Toytown”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Not suitable for persons with walking difficulties

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We travelled here with our 8 year old daughter who loved the tiny villages, the only thing I would say is that as well as having to pay to get into the model village you also have to pay to park.

I would allow yourself 2 hrs max to go round

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Very Expensive for the type of attraction”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Yes! this is a great model village and the largest in the country but by gum! its expensive. We visited here on the 10th April 2012 and it cost us £29 for two adults and one child. We were in there for approx 1 hr. Really! should it cost £9.50 for an adult and then they charge you an extra £1 for the 4D Film???? I would have thought £5.50 tops would cover the costs really as its limited need of staff around the park isnt needed which i witnessed on the day as there weren't any staff around the village only in the tea rooms. Great if you like model villages and a walk round but there are so many other places to visit that cost the same and will allow you to enjoy a full day out for the same price.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, General Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Two adults and a child would cost £26.50 at gate price not £29, though many people use one the many discount vouchers and offers around and pay less. The 4D cinema is charged separate at £1 pp as not everyone wants to see it. As this reviewer was only here an hour, I assume they didn't include the 4D as it would be near impossible to do this and the gardens in an hour especially as we also had our popular Easter Egg-head hunt for the kids which takes a considerable time to complete and win the chocolate prize The average visit length is about 2 hours based on on-site customer feedback, but about a third spending more than 2 hours with us. Over 90% rating us as average to excellent value for money. The admission prices are perfectly average for the area. The suggestion of staff not being needed around the park shows some naivety indeed. We have 9 skilled craftsmen and gardeners who maintain the gardens and models who, as most would appreciate I am sure, mostly work out of hours and out of sight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babbacombe Model Village also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing