We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Good for Disabled”

Babbacombe Model Village
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Babbacombe Model Village is Torquay's most popular and visited attraction. Representing British life and culture over the last five decades all in miniature. Animated scenes, along with touches of very English humour bring it all to life. Taking you on a fun, informative and nostalgic trip through the 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s to present day, it has appeal for all ages. Famous for its lovely setting in 4 acres of award-winning gardens that are a delight to experience all year round.
Spennymoor
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not Good for Disabled”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We visited the Model Village in June,my wife has mobility problems,we were very surprised at how steep all the paths were,we were not made aware of this ?,also it was quite cold,so we bought some soup from a vending machine,it was disgusting and cost £1.50 each,so we wont be going back

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SpennymoorNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, General Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for your review and highlighting this issue. The Model Village is built in a steep natural valley a site that, 50 years ago, was deliberately chosen for its natural beauty. Whilst this does add to its charm and sets it aside from other model villages, it does mean some steep paths. At the gate we do highlight the issue to people and offer for people to have a look first, however, disabilities do vary greatly in type and severity, some are apparent, some are not, and we do have to be sensitive to people's perceptions of their own ability - which also vary greatly. So we have to be careful not to offend people and unless the disability is obvious or people tell us, we can only hope that people have done a bit of research prior to the their visit. We also do make the situation clear in our leaflet and website. Thank you for highlighting the soup in the vending machine, this is new and we will investigate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,759
    648
    152
    48
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“So much to see”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have been here several times and never tire of the lovely displays so cleverly crafted. It is a lovely place to take children from toddlers to teens.Well worth the entrance fee.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a good few hours”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

They are always improving this lovely attraction, have been many times, during the day and at night, and i never tire of it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.devon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great little place”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

we went to this model village and it was great, very well laid out we went when they covered the whole place in artificial snow and made it into a little winter wonderland, i have been here before money years ago, and it hadnt changed much apart from the snow blanket, we would definatly go again hopefully next time we will see the light show in the evening, the staff seem fairly helpfull but you only see them when you purchase tickets and food, we took our own food but the menu looked nice for the cafe, the eastenders set looked great too....

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Excellent"”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Babbacombe Model Village was excellent, the children loved it....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babbacombe Model Village also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing