We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family day out!”

Babbacombe Model Village
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Babbacombe Model Village is Torquay's most popular and visited attraction. Representing British life and culture over the last five decades all in miniature. Animated scenes, along with touches of very English humour bring it all to life. Taking you on a fun, informative and nostalgic trip through the 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s to present day, it has appeal for all ages. Famous for its lovely setting in 4 acres of award-winning gardens that are a delight to experience all year round. NOTE: Opening times signify the admission times - opening to latest entry.
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely family day out! Not the best if u have prams but with older children walking around its great. Good price and lovely little coffee shop and gift shop. Some stuff could do with updating but nothing major.

1  Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review and very pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed their visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,211 - 2,215 of 3,034 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Really enjoyed this day out. Theres plenty to look at with all the different miniature scenes would highly recommend it

Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review and very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were on holiday in Torbay for a week and I had seen a leaflet about the model village, although I have to admit it didn't initially appeal to me. My partner really wanted to see it however and so we went along. I am so pleased that we did - we all absolutely loved it!

I could spend hours here looking at all the models. I particularly liked all the witty business names. We had our toddler son with us and unfortunately he does not have the same staying power as us, so we only spent 90 minutes or so there, but we will definitely visit again when he's older.

He loved the model trains however, especially Thomas, and he also loved the boats you can drive and the fire breathing dragon.

There's so much detail in the models - impossible to spot in one visit - we're still noticing things just from our pictures that we didn't notice on the day - like the Duke & Duchess of Cambridge on the steps of the hospital.

The fish in the lake were brilliant as well - spend the 50p to feed them - I've never seen so many fish all trying to jump out of the water!

This is a really great day out for anyone and a must if you are in the area.

1  Thank sw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review and very pleased to hear that everyone enjoyed their visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When we saw the cost for entry we thought it was a bit expensive £10.50 per adult but went in anyway.
It was definitely worth the money ..... Would definitely recommend. There was a little quiz for the children so they had to look for different things which seemed to work well for the kids we saw. ......It was amazing with all the little details and it was huge too so yes. Was worth the entrance fee. ...... Even the dragon breathed fire !!!!

Thank durhamwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review, very pleased to hear everyone enjoyed their visit and you found it worth the money!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A nice model village although at over £10 a touch expensive. Since the last time I've come 15 years ago it seems to be missing trains running around the village which I sadly miss (or may be I remember it different when younger) They had one train going around but badly needs more . I liked the comic references of the shops and vans models and for the kids they have to spot the "where's wally models dotted around the displays. What was nice was the high viewing area of the village plus the areas added under cover such as an Eastenders display and a 4D cinema plus a smaller under cover area at the back of the site which included star war models and other film models. An area decked out for Alice in Wonderland for childrens parties to. For 50p you can feed the carp by the bridge with a hand full of pellets

Thank Mark1374217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review and pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We do still have the main model railway track running around the garden, along with a shorter train track and tram railway in the model city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babbacombe Model Village also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing