We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentine's weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lawnswood Guest House
Ranked #89 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Valentine's weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

For Valentine weekend we decided to go back to Torquay. Angela the owner met us at the door, we were later than planned due to the weather. We were on the ground floor next to the front door so no stairs and next to the dining room so we knew when it was breakfast as you could smell the bacon. The room was clean and the chocolates and and bottled water were a nice touch. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was superb. Def recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWilliams190760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    37
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
114
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Visited Lawnswood for a second time.As usual the welcome was excellent,we arrived early but the room was ready.Heating was on and the room was very clean and tidy.Chocs on the bed,bottled water,tea,coffee etc provided.The breakfast was great,full english together with fruit,yogurts,unlimited hot drinks.Very close to town and seafront.Good parking to the rear and free on road parking at the front of the property.Will visit again in the future.Close to good pubs and local shops.Great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCOLLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having just returned from 2 nights at the Lawnswood, thought I would share our thoughts. Let's get the not so good out of the way: our ensuite was miniscule, as pointed out in other reviews, the towels were poor quality and perhaps the décor in our room could have done with a little TLC (really nothing major). However, on the positive, the cleanliness throughout could not be faulted and our twin beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was really excellent (yummy!) - freshly cooked, plentiful and well presented - and far better than in many large 4 star hotels. Angela and David were friendly, happy to chat and share suggestions for days out. Lawnswood's location is good and the 3 dedicated parking spaces at the rear of the property was a distinct advantage (although with plenty of on-road parking immediately outside or very nearby it wasn't a problem). We paid £50 per night for our twin room on a B&B basis which was exceptional value for money (in comparison with other Torquay guesthouses/hotels where we have stayed and paid much more).
In summary, is this the best place we have ever stayed? No, it's not. Would we book again? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor-Doe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We needed somewhere to stay in the Torquay area as we were catching up with family over from Spain, this proved an excellent choice, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, there is also plenty of choice if you don't want a full cooked breakfast. The parking area at the rear of the property takes 3 cars, it looked a bit tight, so we chose to park in the surrounding roads and had no problem parking. You are within easy walking distance of the town centre. David and Angela will give you a very warm welcome, nothing is too much trouble. We would definitely use the Lawnswood again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontypridd
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I cannot understand the couple of reviews in July, We stayed in room 6 and to say it was discraceful is absolute nonsense. We would not have stayed in the room if it was. Its not the Ritz if you want this pay for it. We had everything we wanted. Okay there was a bit of grout in the shower, no big deal. Everything was clean. Lovely fresh smelling bedding and towels. Angela and David were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was first class, piping hot and plenty of choice, to be honest better than we have had in a 4 star hotel. We didn't expect a view so were not bothered by this. It is a shame when unfair reviews are given, They work really hard to make it comfortable. Please don't be put off. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms cannot comment on the others as we did not see them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My sister and I visited Torquay last weekend and stayed here. The room was ok (#4) – bathroom tiny, bed hurt, but overall ok, breakfast good, location alright, but I didn’t get the b&b feel at all. When we arrived, the lady, who I assume is Angela (she didn’t introduce herself and was not introduced the whole time), handed us our receipt and took us to the room saying maybe 7 words and definitely no smiles.
The following day, we met her husband who was much nicer and quite friendly. When we were ready to leave, the woman whom I assume is Angela was being difficult about holding our luggage after check-out – basically saying no, but as soon as David walked in he immediately took care of it. If not for him, I would have rated it even lower. This B&B is totally overrated!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toks F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnswoodtorquay, Owner at The Lawnswood Guest House, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
many thanks for your review. Not sure what a B&B feel is, we're certainly not a hotel and are many many happy returning guests feel we are an excellent B&B.
On a point of clarity which im afraid you didn't mention we were more than happy to look after your bags (until 4pm in this case) as we do with many guests who are waiting for train or coach departures, but we were not happy to let you keep the keys for the room as we needed them for arriving guests. clearly no hotel or B&B will let you keep keys when you have departed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

When we arrived we were greeted OK. We were showed our room which was room 6 on the ground floor. Looked OK to start with but when we looked out the window the view was of a untility room and the back of a washing machine. The smell of damp and stale water was awful at night with the window open. The bed was small and the ensuite was a joke. 4ft by 4ft internally. The shower was so small it was difficult to turn round and the tiles inside the shower were broken and badly filled with grout. The toilet seat kept moving everytime you sat on it.
There was nowhere to sit and enjoy the weather at night. The only place to sit out at night was usually taken up by the owners leaving no room for guests.

Room Tip: Whatever you do ensure you are not in room 6. Disgraceful that this room is let
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawnswoodtorquay, Owner at The Lawnswood Guest House, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Many thanks for your review, my wife and i are happy to accept reviews good or bad as long as they are correct.
however to clarify;
Room 6 is our ground floor room which has had many happy guests in who have found it more than comfortable. The bed is of usual size for a double room 6ftx4ft. we don't claim any of our rooms have massive en suites, we're not the 'Grand' or 'Imperial' hotels. the en suites are more than adequate for guests needs and requirments.
We DO have a patio area for people to sit which everyone enjoys especially as it has the sun all day long on it. this night in question my wife and i decided to have our evening meal outside, and we did offer to move, the guests said it was fine, but clearly not.
once again thanks for your comments, but a more precise review would have been more applicable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#46 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ashfield Guest House
#98 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#11 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bahamas
The Bahamas
#105 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brooklands
Brooklands
#100 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawnswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawnswood Guest House

Property: The Lawnswood Guest House
Address: 6 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawnswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lawnswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawnswood Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing