We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lawnswood Guest House
Ranked #94 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
1 review
“Great Hospitality”
Reviewed 14 September 2008

We only stayed 1 night but wished we could of stayed longer as the Guest House owners were very friendly couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome and comfortable the rooms were excellent, very clean and inviting. The breakfast service was first class there was more than enough to eat and cooked to your requirement. When we visit Torquay again we will be stopping at this B&B and I will be advising my friends and family to stay.

  • Liked — Great Hospitality
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenjones99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    40
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
117
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2008

my husband and i just happened to have a few day s off together toward s the end of the summer season and thought we would grab a few nights away.
we found ourselves in torqauy and went for a walk to find a nice b and b near the town and seafront.
we came across the Lawnswood just 2 mins front the seafront and "tried our luck" to see if they had any rooms.
George greeted us so warmly and we were able to book in for 2 night s, our room was large and very comfortable. the guesthouse was clean, modern and lovely.
our friends did joke we had gone on a faulty towers type break but it was far from it .
the breakfast was great with plenty of everything esp hot fresh coffee much needed by my better half, to prepare for a day s shopping.
we have a 6 yr old son, and even tho he was nt with us on this break i would be comfort to bring him to the lawnswood knowing how comfortable and warm George and lee made us.
there is parking for 3 cars at the rear but we found plenty of spaces outside the front on the road which is free all day.
if you were looking for a welcome to torquay you would not find a warmer one.

  • Liked — the friendly welcome , breakfast , room size location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbellcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

My wife & I happened on this place by accident as we had arrived in Torquay just for a one night break & the guest house had a vacancy. I had no problem with parking o/s in the street, perhaps I was just lucky. We found the place spotlessly clean & apparently newly decorated. The bathroom was too small for my liking & access was restricted due to position of double bed, but it was spotless. Breakfast was perfectly adequate. George made us feel very welcome. Did not visit the RAF club next door & had no problem with any noise. Would I come back? Only if I had a room with a bigger en suite! Otherwise for friendliness & cleanliness it can't be beaten.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Size of en suite in our room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We have just returned from a lovely stay at The Lawnswood Guest House. Myself and my husband took our two very young children and although it is usually difficult to find somewhere which will cater for children, the Lawnswood was a real gem.

The rooms were ultra clean, George was so helpful and the breakfast was lovely.

We will definately be back.

  • Liked — Geroge the fantastic host.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bladegirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falmouth
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2008

we have just returned from a short break in torquay, we have returned to the lawnswood for the 5th time and compliment george and lee for their hospitality. This guest house is central for all attractions in Torquay and once again we were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our stay in this superb guest house. We have already booked for next year

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank roseaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights during August 2008. George and Lee were very welcoming and helpful with providing local information and recommending places to eat. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We parked at the rear of the premises when we were able to which was not an inconvenience even though we were with elderly parents. Used the RAF club next door for a nightcap and they made us welcome. Breakfast was good, we certainly didn't go hungry. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Very clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONMYWAYWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Westbrook Guest House
Westbrook Guest House
#80 of 149 in Torquay
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morley Guest House
The Morley Guest House
#87 of 149 in Torquay
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ashfield Guest House
#106 of 149 in Torquay
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#56 of 149 in Torquay
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Mulberry House
Mulberry House
#95 of 149 in Torquay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawnswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawnswood Guest House

Property: The Lawnswood Guest House
Address: 6 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawnswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lawnswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawnswood Guest House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing