We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can thoroughly recommend Cary Court”
Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Lemgo, Germany
2 reviews
“I can thoroughly recommend Cary Court”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

An elegant, comfortable, tastfully furnished B & B with excellent service. All facilities are of the highest order, including the exotic garden and pool area. The breakfast offered is scrumptious with ample coffee or tea.
I was pleasantly surprised at the warm welcome we received on arrival and the unforced and natural friendliness of Paul and Linda through out our stay. They offered splendid advice when asked and their recommendation on where to dine was invaluable.
My sincere thanks for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Our two bed room was super.....very quiet, sufficient wardrobe space. a good bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLemgo_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    46
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
344
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Spotless, excellent breakfasts, a really comfortable bed, great service, off street parking and a five minute walk from the harbourside restaurants. Great service and good value in Torquay ? Yes - Really ! Top notch....

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thefolksonthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuss, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Linda and Paul are excellent hosts! They helped us to find nice places to visit and were able to give us exact driving instructions. Also a booking for a theather visit was made for us.

The fully English breakfast was very good! We felt very welcome and looked after.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol uk
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This was our third visit to this gem of a hotel in an ideal location for torquay town . We always look forward to our stay here,Paul and Linda are great hosts, the hotel is very homely has lots of character and gorgeous furnishing. A garden room to read a pool in the garden to swim , advise on trips or places to visit advice on resturants helpful happy place will be visiting again. Excellant ...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy2too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

we had a great stay at cary court.the hotel was lovely,clean and spacious bedroom.comfortable bed and a large shower.the large garden and swimming pool were a very nice touch.shame we did not have the weather to make full use of them.finally linda and paul were great.linda even booked tickets for our nights out for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The right destination was important but once there, location and stay was a must to get right!

Before we set off from home, Paul & Linda gave us a curtesy call, so they would be on hand to greet us both.
The moment we arrived, Linda was there to give a warm, friendly & very professional welcome, showing us all we would need for our stay, Paul, took full charge of our luggage/bags taking them straight to our room.

The room was perfect, bright, airy, clean, the bathroom had a huge shower & the bed, one of the best we have slept in, so cosy.

No bar facility so we were allowed are own wines/beers with full use of kitchen, fridge & ice machine to finish off our refreshments.
Breakfast had a full choice to suit all, cooked and served to a high standard, always there to ask if anything more was wanted or needed.
Pool & garden area, was cosy, private from neighbouring hotels, liitle private seating areas, also showed Carp Fish to look at.

We were looked after 100% & know I am looking to arrange another stay as soon as I can!!!

Thank you Paul & Linda x

Room Tip: Pacific Ocean Room, my favorite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at Cary Court and was so impressed the first time I chose to bring my family back to celebrate my 60th birthday.
The hotel is very welcoming and Paul and Linda cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. I am a light sleeper but even though you are within a 5 minute walk to the centre of Torquay you hear very little noise.
Sitting by the pool as well as using it of course was great this time and the weather was kind to us. Being so close to Torquay gives you a wealth of restaurants to try in the evening and being so close you can easily walk in even if you need to get a taxi back!!
The evening meal of course in Torquay is dependant on whether you can fit one in after one of Linda's wonderful breakfasts.
I don't often give a five star rating but this hotel is well worth a visit so book it soon.

Valerie from Southampton

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2holiday91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Property: Cary Court Hotel
Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool ( seasonal - open from the end of May to end of September ) surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing