We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful find”
Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A delightful find”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is a beautiful B & B with close proximity to the harbour. Paul and Linda are excellent hosts who know who to make their guest feel completely at home. Our room was bright, comfortable and quiet. Friendly, amusing Paul was very helpful with maps, recommendations for a restaurant, etc. We would definitely return and stay longer than one night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    47
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
81
347
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

4 night stay with friends from the local MG car club. Hotel as friendly as ever, good breakfast and BBQ Saturday was OK just a pity about the weather. The bring your own alcohol is a winner with most people. There is a small bar area with refrigeration to keep it cool. There is a pool for those who wish to use it.

Overall a well run hotel that is comfortable and pleasant to stay in.

Room Tip: The four poster rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pschmgoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We spent 9 wonderful days in August this year at Carry Court. We would like to say special thanks to Paul and Linda as they are just more than hosts, but talented managers who found the way how to make one's holidays relaxing and rememberable. We are still missing the breakfast as it was more than just simple food - that was a real ritual of the morning for me and my husband. The room was very clean and stylish, though the weather made us feel a little bit cold inside, but it didn't spoil the whole picture. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke, hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This was our first stay at Cary Court but we felt at home immediately - Paul and Linda were excellent hosts indeed - aside from the superb (and substantial !) breakfasts they arranged maps and driving tours for us so we could enjoy some great days out combined with good eateries and rest stops, and were also were very helpful in coming up with restaurant and theatre booking options (including offering to collect tickets for us). The hotel was very comfortable (We had two rooms - ground floor 'Adriatic' and first floor floor 'India' which were both very clean and cosy), with a beautiful garden and outdoor pool (unfortunately the weather wasn't with us to enjoy that) and was very quiet with no traffic noise – which was just what we wanted. As mentioned in other reviews the 'bring your own' bar setup was a great idea if you wanted a drink before / after dinner. The hotel was a five minute easy stroll down into town and parking was very easy for us.
All in all a wonderful hotel run by fantastic hosts - which we hope to visit again next year!

Room Tip: For those less able to deal with stairs the ground floor 'Adriatic' room was ideal - as in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We had a great stay at Cary Court. It more than met our expectations. Our room was very clean and comfortable, as was the whole hotel. Lots of antiques and quirky ornaments around. The garden was lovely. Unfortunately the weather was not warm enough to try the pool, but t looked good. We had super breakfasts. Paul and Linda were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. Paul gave us good advice on places to visit and where to eat. The hotel is in a good quiet location in walking distance of the harbour. We especially liked the diy bar!! (fridge, ice, glasses and lemon - you just provide the drink!). Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahFGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was our first stay at Cary Court, highly recommended by a friend. Paul and Linda are great hosts and made our stay so very special. Breakfast is excellent, our four poster room was superb, as were the lounge and dining rooms. The gardens and the koi pond are very exotic, a shame we did not have enough time to enjoy all that was on offer. We will definitely recommend to our friends and are making plans for a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Thanks Linda & Paul for another wonderful & relaxing stay, you are both great hosts and your full english breakfast is to die for!!!! We particulary enjoy the free full bar set-up you provide, where you can bring your own alcohol refrigerate it & enjoy at anytime day or night, this is a fantastic facility that we find works very well. look forward to seeing you both next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,875 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#4 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
848 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Property: Cary Court Hotel
Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool ( seasonal - open from the end of May to end of September ) surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing