We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I chose Cary Court for our Jubilee Long Weekend because of the tripadvisor comments - and I wasn't disappointed. Even before we arrived, I realised that we were going to a place where the owners knew all about hospitality. We wanted a twin room which wasn't available at the time of booking on line, but Linda said she would swap rooms around to accommodate us. They also very kindly offered all of the information needed to book a taxi from the station, but collected us and took us back at the end of our weekend.
We had our very own tour guide, as Paul told us all about the locations we drove past and offered excellent recommendations for restaurants and pubs.
The guest house itself was a delight and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent and it really did feel as if we were staying at a friends house.
I work in hospitality and I can honestly say that Paul and Linda were born to do this. Lovely people and so good at what they do. I could not fault one thing about Cary Court and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at Cary Court 3 nights over the Jubilee weekend and couldn't have had a more welcoming and enjoyable visit. Linda & Paul were excellent hosts. Our rooms were spotless with every convenience and "maid" service each day. Breakfast was cooked to perfection with every taste catered for and plenty. The gardens were so interesting and peaceful - we were never in a hurry to go sightseeing. With Banana, orange, olive trees and grape vines all of which fruit and so many other exotic shrubs and plants it was beautiful. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We decided to stay here for a long weekend in May [The same as the torch tour] In total we stayed 2 nights in the Caribbean room. The room was clean and well tended, the Gardens are fantastic and located where they are you really do have a sense of peace and tranquility, something we were looking for. Paul and Linda looked after just about everything we needed including plenty of hints and tips of things to see and do. The breakfasts and catering was splendid and to a good standard and in all fairness couldn't ask for more. Would happily stay again.

Paul and Linda thank you very much. [almost as good as Madeira!]

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagnumUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed here for one night on 28th April as we were in Torquay to watch Derren Brown's show. We have never stayed in a B&B before as we have always opted for chain hotels and we didn't know what to expect. It was lovely - we were greeted with such a warm welcome and given a tour. There is a bar that is designed for you to bring your own alcohol and store it there which I thought was a nice touch. The owner also went out of his way to give us travel directions to the Derren Brown show and directions on the way home the next day. It was £90 for us to stay there which took the shine off it a tiny bit as a chain hotel would have been cheaper but it is still a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Having stayed in Torquay quite a few times, this is by far the best gem of them all. Lovely rooms and garden, really quiet but close to the town as well. Great hospitality and definitely top of the list for a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedLeafFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The hotel and the gardens are perfect place to relax for a short break. The hotel is conviently located within a short walk of the town centre. The hotel has a 'Byo' ( bring your own) bar which is not only very cost effective but is great idea particularly for groups. This facility allowed or party of 8 to have a few drinks and chat together before heading out and again on our return. The breakfasts were delicious with a great choice of food available. The owners Paul and Linda are very friendly, helpful and a great source of local knowledge, they really make you feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 663Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Carey Court last weekend in a party of 8. It was a real treat to stay in such a lovely house. Perfectly located for the harbour (just ask Paul for the shortcut) the rooms are clean, spacious and reek of colonial charm. Linda and Paul are very welcoming hosts who are also happy to leave you to your own devices in the BYO bar and beautiful gardens. Too cool for the pool but the weather was certainly good enough for us to sit out in. This is a very lovely retreat from the hussle and bussle of Torquay town, but only 5 mins away from the pretty harbour, restaurants and nightlife. We are a sad group of middleaged wannabe hellraisers, but Carey Court worked its magic on us instantaneously and we returned home very relaxed and with some hilarious memories. We hope to return soon if Linda and Paul can bear to have us back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,072 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £103 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool ( seasonal - open from the end of May to end of September ) surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing