We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Easter weekend away”
Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely Easter weekend away”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed two nights over the Easter bank holiday with a friend. Lovely house house with high cealings, a terrace and a sun room. There was a well equipt bar with a 'bring your own' policy and we particularly enjoyed having a gin and tonic each evening in the cozy lounge before heading out for the evening. Our hosts were amazing and made us feel at home right away, they were keen to recommend restaurants in the local area (which were excellent) as well as day time activities.

The full English was magnificent however there was a breakfast menu which catered for all tastes.

Reall enjoyed our stay in Torquay and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    47
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
82
347
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Is a great place to stay, made my wifes 40th memorable, owners are wonderful, helpful, lovely welcome, lovely place, would reccomend it to Friends and family, will stay again, thankyou,Paul and suzanne,

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suedehead232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My girlfriend and I spent two nights at Cary Court while visiting family, and had a wonderful time. Paul and Linda were excellent hosts and the house was very comfortable. After dinner both nights we took advantage of the byo bar and verandah for a few relaxing drinks. I'm glad we found this gem of a place and we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explora13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We recently returned from a 3 night visit at Cary Court.

Not being used to staying in guest houses of this or any other nature, this was a new experience and one which we can genuinely confirm was well worth the visit.

The accommodation is well positioned about a 10-15 minute walk from the main centre of Torquay. The hospitality was first class from our hosts. The grounds are well kept with a tropical feel which must be very pleasant when the sun is out. We did not try out the pool but this is another plus for would be visitors.

Our room was a little dated but nonetheless was comfortable. Although by no means the cheapest accommodation available in the area, we felt it offered reasonable value and would gladly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertsglobetrotter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Just returned from out 6 day break in Torquay. The Cary Court is a wonderful place to stay. Our room was lovely - very comfortable, very clean and very quiet! The house is large and airy with a nice feel, well decorated with period furniture and comfy chairs in the lounge area to snuggle in. The large garden is situated among tropical plants with secluded decked areas to sit in and relax. There is also a good sized heated swimming pool. The breakfasts are excellent.... endless tea/coffee/fruit juice with a large choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurts and an excellent full english that set us up for most of the day. Paul and Linda are wonderful hosts - very cheerful, helpful and approachable. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendyjohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Lovely friendly atmosphere!. Paul and Linda are Charming Hosts. Great advice on what to do, where to go and eat. Delicious Breakfasts. Beautiful Room. We would definately recommend and hope to return one day. C and M

Room Tip: We would recommend the room "The Gulf of Mexico"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Paul and Linda were great hosts. Polite, attentive and accomodating. The standard of cleanliness in the rooms was superb. The communal areas were homely and well decorated. A special mention has to go to the tropical gardens and superb swimming pool. Which added a touch of luxury to an already superb experience.

There was a good selection for breakfast and all the food was fresh and well cooked. Especially enjoyed the scrambled egg and salmon! Paul and Linda were very accomodating when it came to specific dietary requirements.

the only down side, was the poor wifi reception but that was a small point to the overall positive experience. Would definitely go again, have recommended Cary court hotel to friends and on Facebook.

Thank you Paul & Linda
Jibrail family

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 87 in Torquay
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
852 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Property: Cary Court Hotel
Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool ( seasonal - open from the end of May to end of September ) surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing