We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly and accommodating”
Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly and accommodating”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I would defiantly recommend Cary Court!
As me and my boyfriend were traveling by train rather then car, I emailed ahead asking whether it was possible for us to drop off our suitcases in the morning (before the very reasonable check-in time) so we would be able to go off and explore for a while, utilising out first day. I was delighted to learn that this was possible, and we arrived by taxi at about 11, greeted by the very friendly and welcoming owners. They gave us a quick tour and assured us that our suitcases would be locked in our room for us, which was brilliant.
The building its self was lovely, and the owners really stood out as they offered to help with any planning of activities and travel. They have put together a folder of many of the local restaurants and cafes, and are very knowledgable about the area and all the things available to do.
The B&B itself is unlicensed, however they have a little bar area where you are welcome to store and prepare your own drinks which was lovely. We stayed up for hours each night sat out on the veranda enjoying a glass of wine and each others company.The breakfast was good and the rooms clean and comfortable.
Clary Court is located on a hill which is a bit of a trek up from the town but its defiantly worth it!
The few problems we had, such as a boat we were booked to go on not turning up, were taken on by the owners as if it had happened to them, and sorted out immediately without us even asking for assistance.
A brilliant stay all in all, and If I ever find myself re-visiting this area I know where I will stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    46
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
344
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The "bar" in the title has nothing to do with alcohol !

I refer to the whole professional set-up. From the moment one enters Cary Court it is obvious that everything is in "apple-pie" order.

Paul helps with the luggage, he gives all necessary information regarding the layout and where to visit and eat in his own inimitable style.

I could write pages and pages giving a thousand reasons why everyone intending to visit Torquay should stay at Cary Court.

It is not necessary however because it has all been done before. The friendly, knowledgeable owners Paul and Linda are faultless.

Quality oozes throughout this beautiful residence.

I recommend that anyone thinking of venturing into the b and b business should visit and see how the professionals do it …...... What you will learn is that successful businesses don't happen by accident.

Hard work with nothing less than 100 percent commitment and not penny pinching is the ONLY way to succeed.

Cary Court is the proof.

Top notch chaps !

Thank you Paul and Linda for a a very enjoyable stay.

M and G.

Room Tip: I would presume all rooms are comfortable and decorated to a very high standard. We had the Pacific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GordonandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This relay is the best stay in Torbay. Great hosts, great rooms and great food. The guest house is an easy walk for the Beaches, and the Town centre, You really don't need to look any farther this is the stay in town. We will be coming back again next year and have been recommending this stay to family and friends.

Rick and Kathy, Northampton.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet we stayed in the front south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were greeted by very friendly and helpful hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Cary Court is a lovely property with beautiful bedrooms and communal areas. Wonderful breakfasts each morning!! Great location. Super service all round

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very good spot, owners are very friendly and helpful in planning activities around Torquay and beyond, they are knowledgeable, an intimate experience. They have a lovely patio to sit and drink, a pool and garden with outdoor fishpond. Great also for those with kids who can maximise their exploring skills.
I would definitely use this place again if I am back in Torquay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tafara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGfromTQ, Owner at Cary Court Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Whatto Chaps, thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed staying at Cary Court. It was interesting meeting you and Rudo. Good luck to you with your Business Administration and Good luck to Rudo with her Social work. We look forward to seeing you down here again on the Riviera. Cheers Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a great time Paul and Linda are great hosts the hotel is fantastic very clean great location a very steep hill is quite a challenge we will definitely go there again the garden is so peaceful a great pool and sun lounge area,s

Room Tip: We had the Aegean suite a nice lounge every thing you need is their
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anthony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGfromTQ, Owner at Cary Court Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Another bench mark achieved.. 300 reviews. Wonderful! Thanks to all who have stayed with us and have posted reviews on Trip Advisor, as you know ewe work very hard to make your time with us as enjoyable as we can, its nice to know that the effort is appreciated. Thanks again , here's to the next 300, kind regards Paul and Linda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Cary Court Guest house.

Linda and Paul gave us and excellent service and very useful tips for trips and restaurants. They are wonderful hosts, and make you feel at home.

The hotel is colonial style and beautiful decorated. The hotel is a good base for day trips in the beautiful surroundings and also good place to rest afterwards. The hotel has a lovely garden with a nice swimming pool.

The breakfast is excellent. Especially the bagel with cream cheese and salmon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Henrikkock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,818 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
820 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Property: Cary Court Hotel
Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool ( seasonal - open from the end of May to end of September ) surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing