We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and friendly B&B close to main seafront”
Review of Cary Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cary Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quiet and friendly B&B close to main seafront”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I stayed here for the late May bank holiday with my parents. The house is a grand Victorian villa set on a steep hillside (as is most of Torquay). It has a pool and a mature garden with some rare tropical plants in it. The owners are an extremely friendly and helpful couple who made us feel very at home, for example they picked me up from the station. They are knowledgeable about the local area and helpful in orientating you so that you get the most out of your stay. Breakfast is good - full English or smoked salmon & scrambled eggs. It was very clean, extremely quiet and my bed was comfortable. We had showers in our rooms, am not sure any of them have baths. There is a fridge downstairs to keep drinks and they provide ice, lemon, etc. The only criticism was that I found it quite cold so it didn't always feel cosy - they had turned the heating off but it was a wet weekend. If you are hot blooded and hate overheated hotels it might be perfect for you!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    44
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
329
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crockerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Cary Court. The house is pretty, and the pool warm. Charming hosts, who cook a delicious breakfast. They even have a gym in the cellar. We stayed in a lovely room, though the bathroom was a tiny bit narrow, but nicely done. 5 minute walk down the hill to the harbour and shops.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMSWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Very relaxed short break in a picturesque part of Devon whether on a boat or on land. Room and hotel clean and comfortable with period features. Hotel owners do their best so that you enjoy your stay. Slightly hilly location but can be avoided.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The hosts are so helpful and very friendly. The hotel is very clean and very pretty, loved the gardens and the pool!!!
Would definately recommend to friends!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviskl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Ssssssshhh!! Don't tell everyone! We've found a jewel in Torquay but like all jewels the more people who know about it, the less chance its available so keep it to yourself! Usually staying at 4 or 5* hotels I took a chance in booking The Cary Court Hotel as it was rated Guest House rather than Hotel, but what a fantastic surprise. The room we stayed in was as good (if not better) than most hotels, having an extremely comfortable bed, well decorated and spotlessly clean. A balcony outside the room overlooked the swimming pool and fantastic tropical gardens - including banana treas, oranges and lemons. The hotel is away from the main areas of Torquay which means tranquility, however is close enough to walk to all shops, restaurants and sea-front within 5 minutes. The hosts, Paul and Linda take pride in their knowledge of the area and are happy to help you plan your day-trips and restaurants - even have prepared printed trips so you can get the most out of your holiday exploring the coastline, and Dartmoor area. Thank you Paul for a very enjoyable day on the Moor.
It was my husband's first trip to Torquay, but after such an enjoyable stay at Cary Court, it won't be his last. I think we will now become regular visitors to this hotel. Its so nice to be greeted every day with smiles, humour and a couple who can't do enough for you. Perhaps I'll see you there some day!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz3818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We initially booked 3 nights at the Cary Court as we were down for a friends wedding and hoped that the previous T/A reports were accurate. We ended up staying 6 nights and used it as a base for touring the area - visiting National Trust houses and various other locations as far as Plymouth which was only an hour away. Paul & Linda are great hosts and really knowlegeable of the area. Nothing was too much trouble and our room was comfortable and spacious. The hearty breakfasts set us both up for the day and were served entertainingly each morning by Paul who could charm the birds from the trees and put a smile on our faces each morning. Thankyou Paul & Linda and good luck for the coming season.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Unlike lucky GardenerSue, we PAID for our second and most recent stay at the Cary Court — but we still thought it was brilliant! Comfortable and quirky, with lush tropical-style gardens (just beginning to sprout madly as the weather warmed during our stay), it is a splendid setting in which to be decadent. And, while the proximity of lots of good eating-places at the bottom of the hill is very bad for the waistline, the climb back up to the hotel after a good nosh restores one's sense of virtue (not to mention one's thirst for a nightcap in the Cary Court's BYO bar). We will definitely be back, repeatedly.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nileflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#5 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cary Court Hotel

Property: Cary Court Hotel
Address: Hunsdon Road, Torquay TQ1 1QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cary Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cary Court was built over a century ago on part of the Cary Estate. It is a "Plantation" style house, peacefully situated in the leafy Warberries, a quiet conservation area, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, theatre, night life and Marina. Cary Court is a Bed and Breakfast Guest House offering tastefully and comfortably furnished accommodation with a mixture of period and Antique pieces. The bedrooms, some with Four-Poster beds some with King-size beds are all en suite, all have televisions, complimentary beverage trays, hair dryers and free wi-fi. Cary Court is renowned for its "Full English Breakfasts" served in elegant surroundings with views over the Verandah and subtropical garden. There is a heated out door pool ( seasonal - open from the end of May to end of September ) surrounded by south facing gardens and sundecks. There is car parking on site for eight to ten vehicles supplemented by un restricted on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cary Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cary Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing