We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect little break”
Review of Mulberry House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mulberry House
Ranked #98 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little break”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Bryan is a lovely host. We stayed for 2 nights in September & with all 3 rooms taken he was eager to offer everybody anything they required. We will definately be booking to stay here again. With the location a short walk from the life of Torquay it is just far enough away to be lovely & relaxing. The perfect romantic weekend away

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurapeel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Mulberry house was everything we wanted for a stay in the beautiful Torquay!
The house itself is lovely, and the rooms did not dissappoint. Tea and coffee, lovely bed, en suite shower which was lovely and always hot water!
The breakfast was so much better than other B&Bs, infact better than the big hotel chains, always on hand to offer advise on where to visit and always seeing if we needed anything....it seemed nothing was too much trouble!!
I will advise anybody to stay here...we will be returning again and again!
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived early and the room was ready. Good sized room with en suite shower & toilet. Comfortable bed. TV and tea making facilities were a plus. Excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful proprietor. Good location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

An elegant and tastefully decorated Victorian corner house in a quiet tree lined road.
We stayed for a mid week break in early January.
Our room was large, well furnished, bay fronted and en suite.
It was warm and cosy, as was the whole house.
This was matched by the warmth of the welcome from our host Brian.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Any breakfast requirements were happily provided.
You could come and go as you pleased with your own keys.
Comfortable guest lounge, tasty breakfasts, real coffee, and free fast BT WiFi.
The relaxed and friendly atmosphere really did make it home from home.
Our recommendation is unconditional.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Brian is a brilliant host, helpful and friendly. The B&B is perfectly situated for the beach, shops and pier. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The only thing I had a slight issue with is the hardness of the bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manor186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at the Mulberry House for 2 nights whilst visiting Torquay. Brian the owner was very friendly and welcoming and kept the B&B to a high standard of cleanliness. The room was modern and obviously newly fitted out. Brian was at hand to find us when we got lost on arrival and was always at hand whenever we needed something. The B&B was very reasonably priced for the standard and location

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We (me, my wife and our 13 year old) stayed at the Mulberry Guest house for 2 days as we were visiting relatives in the area. On arriving the Guest House looks very smart on the outside and continues on the inside. A very welcoming owner Brian helped us with our bags and immediately offered tea or coffee in the comfortable lounge. The rooms are very well decorated and laid out with excellent smart en-suites with hot water all day. The bed we had was a king size and our daughter had a double (she was most impressed). Modern bed linen, big fluffy towels and the usual soap, shower gel etc as well as tea and coffee making facilities. A digital freeview flatscreen TV ideally situated in front of the bed and a table and chairs to sit by and look out of the large Victorian windows. All was spotlessly clean and tidied every day of our stay. Brian was always on hand to help if we had any questions and would make tea and coffee whenever we asked (at no extra cost). The breakfast was also excellent - premium sausage, bacon, egg (cooked as you liked), beans, mushrooms, fried bread and grilled tomatoes. An array of other items (as well as endless toast) - cerial, fruit, yoghurt and juice were available. Brian also offered to purchase any other breakfast items if required. The size of the full English was enormouse and kept us going well into the afternoon.

Overall a very pleasant stay and well worth the asking price for the personal attention from the owner and the top notch accomodation and breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artyfufkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Ferndale Lodge
Ferndale Lodge
#76 of 148 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burleigh House
Burleigh House
#27 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#13 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry House

Property: Mulberry House
Address: 1 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mulberry House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant grade II listed Victorian corner property is ideally situated in the heart of Torquay, just a short level stroll to the sea front and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mulberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulberry House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing