We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!!!”
Review of PGL Barton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
PGL Barton Hall
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I went with my two boys [ages 9 & 11] whilst hubby had to work. I was a bit nervous on how we'd get on but we really had so much fun. We were paired up with 2 other families with kids of similar ages. There were 4 activities each day, each one lasting about 1 hour 45 mins. Then after dinner there is a choice of 4 other activities at two at 7pm and two at 9am. Every activity we did was well organized, very safe, and if you really didn't want to take part that was fine too. The staff are a real credit to PGL, friendly, encouraging and relaxed.
Food is basic but plentiful with lots of choice. We never went hungry, there is also a shop on site in case you have forgotten anything and also a Sainsbury's within 5 mins drive. There are 2 bars on site and after some of the activities you definitely deserve a drink!!! Smoking is kept to 3 areas on the site just by the bars.
Accommodation is basic [think one step up from camping] and I heard lots of people complaining the beds were uncomfortable, but tbh if you throw yourself into the activities full on you will be so tired you would sleep well on a bed of nails!!!
The outdoor pool is heated, don't forget to take towels for the pool and the room, although bedding is provided we chose to take our own pillows. There is a laundry onsite in case you are unlucky with the weather. Take old clothes you WILL get dirty.
We most enjoyed the quad biking, giant swing, trapeze, zip wire, scavenger hunt, sensory trail and abseiling. The only activity we didn't enjoy was the mountain biking as it is designed specifically for beginners.
All the evening activities were fun [and most involved lots of running around to tire the kids out EVEN more ;-) ]
Leave your pre-conceptions at home, be prepared to have a laugh and expect to laugh at yourself, the more you throw yourself into this the more fun you will have.
Also look out for late deal special offers. We paid for 1 adult and 2 kids went free. I don't think it is possible to have this much fun for a week on just over £400!!! Oh and a real bonus for me was that there were no screens - yeah a week without TV and watching the kids having fun with other forms of entertainment.

Room Tip: don't expect 5 star luxury it's not about that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JeanetteHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

Have just come back today from a fantastic fun packed week, would reccomend to everyone!! ignore the comments regarding the accomadation as when u are walking through the corridoors soaked through with muddy water after a fab time canoeing or raft building u understand y they are so basic!! The food was better than i expected, the management staff were very competent and eager to please but more importantly the young adults whose faith u put yours and most importantly your childrens safety in are absolutely fantastic, so dedicated, safety conscience, patient, encouraging, enthusiastic the list goes on!!! A truly fantastic holiday

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna7535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I stayed for five days in Barton Hall with my school and shared a room with three other girls. I still remember my first impressions as I swung open the door to my cabin. To be frank, it was appalling... two bunk beds squashed in a room with no walking space. There was a tiny shelf in the corner just before the door to the bathroom. If I thought the bedroom was bad, the bathroom was ten times worse. There was no shower only a small bath tub lined with scum, toenails and hairs. The toilet woyldnt flush properly so I advise you bring something to dump your tissues in! There was no mirror and the ceiling was covered in mould, damp and mildew. Don't forget to bring your own soap as there is none provided.
In contrast to this, the service and food was wonderful and I never went hungry as there was always something delicious on the menu. The canteen was nice and cosy and the 'groupies' were always kind, welcoming and helpful. The location of the cabins are rather unfortunate as you have to climb at least twenty flights of stairs in order to get fron the canteen to the rooms, and when you are lugging a huge suitcase behind you that can be quite exhausting.
All in all I didn't have an enjoyable experience and I was very happy to be going home.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Koolkat8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Just came back from my trip with jfk school and had a excellent time. The group leaders Rob, Niomi and Sam were excellent as they were great at explaining everything from start to finish. The food there was nice and had plenty to choose from. The rooms were okay but could do with more secure locks. Activities were brilliant and instructors were really helpful and gave great tips and help.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Conor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We have just returned from a half term family holiday at Barton Hall in Devon. My children are aged 12, 10 and 7. We had an amazing time. Some reviews said the rooms are very basic but you are literally only in them to sleep so it doesn't matter at all. Personally, I thought they were fine! My husband and I had one room with an ensuite, and the kids were next door in bunk beds with their own bathroom. There was an internal door between the 2 rooms that we just left open. Other reviews said the food was of a poor standard. Again, we thought it was fine! All the staff were fantastic - they really couldn't have been more helpful. The outdoor pool was glorious after all the fun activities. If you want a fun-filled time with your kids, this is the holiday for you!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Happybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I have just come back from Barton Hall with my 10yr old daughter and 2 friends and there 4 children.
We had a fab time you dont go 4 the food or accomadation, its all about doing the activities with your children.
Thanks to all the pgl staff they were great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cracking39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

It was lovely that all my first watchet guides didnt want to leave!
Kieran are grop leader was great and he was very good with the kids.
he made it fun and enjoyible every were we went so thank you so much kieran
but thank you to all the staff at PGL as we had a great time and the food was lovely!
thank you so much and we will like to visite you all soon...
xxxx

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocking9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,188 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#53 of 149 in Torquay
287 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PGL Barton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PGL Barton Hall

Address: Barton Hall Kingskerswell Road, Torquay TQ2 8JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location near Torquay and popular with groups of all ages. There are many blue flag beaches close by and Dartmoor is also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barton Hall Hotel Torquay
Barton Hall Torquay
PGL Barton Hall Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing