We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but fun”
Review of PGL Barton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
PGL Barton Hall
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic but fun”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Yes the food is basic, and yes the accommodation is basic, but what can you expect for the price? There are activities planned from morning until evening, there are bars if you just want a drink and there's a (heated) outdoor pool and games room if you have a spare moment. 99% of the staff are brilliant, the views are lovely. Torquay and paignton are close by, with a water park for your day off, or you can relax by the pool. We took our children, 7, 10 and 12 and they loved it and are desperate to go back next year. We had adjoining rooms so got some peace and the room was clean, had comfortable beds and tea/coffe making facilities. The only addition I could have done with is a drying rack.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    20
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
Couples
0
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The whole week's experience was great on the whole. There were lots of pluses however, our shower was mouldy. Three time, I asked for it to be cleaned until something was finally done about it but not very well. The whole of the bathroom area needed redecorating, as it smelled dodgy all week. To be fair, we were offered another room in the main house but it was on the top floor and the chalet was better positioned, so I cleaned the bathroom myself and we just stayed put. Some of the accommodation was definitely better than others, but I suppose it's pot luck as to which chalet/room you get. Other than that I couldn't fault it. The bedding seemed fairy new and the quilt and pillow very clean and comfortable. If you need more pillows then ask straight away, as they ran out of them, but they gave me an extra quilt to use as a pillow! The really active activities were more popular with the kids, whereas the less active activities were a little boring. Food was fine. Most of instructors were fine. Loved the position, surrounded by woodland - beautiful. Children want to go again.

Room Tip: No idea! Perhaps, request a good room at time of booking??
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury-on-Thames, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Fantastic Holiday!
Just come back from PGL Barton Hall, very near Torquay. I went with my wife and two children 7 and 10 years and we all loved it. It's a great location well worth staying an extra couple of nights to explore Torbay. We were on a long weekend Friday to Monday and we got absolutely loads done, 4 activities a day and 2 on Monday. The instructors are fantastic, so friendly and very good with the kids. The only thing that let us down was the accommodation, very basic, but clean and the food, not much choice and you can’t have seconds!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I thought it was a family resort only in the summer, was really enjoying our stay
Then 4 or 5 coaches arrived of excited 12 year olds? Yes of course they were noisy they were excited. I was told PGL stands for parents get lost, great but there were families staying.
I asked to move room to be away from the noise and excitement of children also on holiday despite there being rooms available, no one got back to me, so we decided rather than spoil what fun we had had we left two days early

We did have a good time and had fun with the families we met, but to truthful it depended on the staff that took the activity some were distinctly indifferent whilst one or two were awesome.

Also I had to mend the broken toilet seat, Sorry to be negative
Advice. Make sure you are not near party of school children when you think it is families only.

Room Tip: Stay nearer the main hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank happejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgmont, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

just got home from a week at Barton Hall PGL, Devon with my partner and three children aged 7 - 12.
When we arrived we were meet with a warm welcome. Staff took us to our room, chatted about our journey etc told us a bit of info about the week ahead, A pack of info was ready with out timetable of activities for the week included, as well as some other useful stuff.
The room was as we expected, for the 5 of us we had 2 adjoining rooms one with twin beds and the other with two sets of bunks, both had en-suite bathrooms (bath and shower, toilet, hand basin) and small wardrobe area. kettle and basic tea/coffee facilities in twin room. (bring your own hangers) Rooms were very basic but also very clean and as we were only even in them to sleep or change clothes they had everything we needed.
Each day consisted of breakfast then and activity, half hour break, then another activity before lunch, time for a quick swim etc then two activities in the afternoon with another hafhour break in between, then dinner. Leaving an hour or so to get showered and changed before the kids were off again to the early evening activities giving us an hour 'adult time' in the bar before the later evening activities in the 'dartmoore room' and then we were so tired we were in bed by 10.30pm (although the other bar was open til 12 for those with more stamina)
We did a wide varieties of activities during our week including Zipwire (from a top floor window), Jacobs ladder, Cannoning (with lots of games and getting wet), Archery, Raft building (we did kids v's adults), Trapeze, Vertical challenge, Mountain biking, abseiling, team games (rounders, football etc) and challenge course (an obstacle course with crates and a ladder), aero ball (basketball on a trampoline!), and speed orienteering.
everyone is put into group which we spend all week with and we had great people with kids of a similar age, by the end of the week we were all good friend especially the kids.
The staff were the nicest bunch of people you could ask to meet, Friendly, hard-working, polite, encouraging and fun. They go out of their way to be nice and helpful and we were shocked had how good they were. Everyone from the cleaners, food servers, instructors, and management said good morning etc had had time for a chat, too explain something or just throw a ball back for the kids. Making for a brilliant atmosphere.
Food was canteen style, but there was always something to eat and enough choice to keep all but the fussiest happy, we built up such appetites during the day we ate well!
All in all we were extremely pleased with the service, variety of activities, accommodation, and value for money and staff. Would highly recommend and will go again, as the kids have ranked it 'epically awesome' and better than euro disney!

Room Tip: Ask for down stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just got back from what is undoubtedly the best family holiday we have ever had bar the trip to Florida and Disney.
Yes the rooms are as basic as a youth hostel, yes the food was like being back at school BUT the rooms were spotlessly clean and the food was excellent quality and with two choices per meal plus unlimited soup and salad bar we certainly didn't starve!!
At the end of the day, we weren't there for 5* accommodation and dining. It was for the wonderful range of activities that we could enjoy together as a family... and we were certainly not disappointed!!!
From the first morning with fencing to the last activity of archery it was the best family time we have ever spent, and enjoyed trying out so many things that we have never done before. Every activity is perfectly organised and safely executed (even if some of the safety briefings were a big long in the tooth for us adults!)
The instructors are all so helpful, and their enthusiasm is incredibly infectious, that even if my 11yo was doubtful of anything, they put him right at ease (adults too I might add LOL)
I think we were lucky that we were paired with another family that wanted to participate in everything they could , because I did hear some parents moaning in the bars in the evenings about some that would rather sit round the pool than take on some of the more physically demanding ones ( but IMO that was their loss)
We did go on a special offer week, £700 (£25 per person a day) but considering all the activities and food, would gladly have paid full price.
The security on the site is also top notch, so you don't have to worry about just anybody walking in, and leave the kids to just run riot everywhere safe in the knowledge that they can't come to any harm.
My only gripe was the WiFi. It was dire, mainly due the fact that a lot of dads would leave their laptops in the bar to download movies to watch later in the evening i suppose, but there was hardly any bandwidth so start with.
All in all, I would recommend this holiday to any family (loads of single parents there too) with kids between 8 and 16, If my daughter wasn't so old I'd probably go back again next year, but then again I could always borrow somebodies kids ;O)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSussexGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Best holiday! Great weather helped. PGL staff were excellent as always. The food was great; good variety, balanced menu and lots of it. This was our third consecutive visit. The kids were really keen to go again and I was a bit dubious, thinking I would be bored. I needn't have worried, even doing many of the same activities again, it's great fun and there's always something new to learn. It's great for single parents because your children are occupied the whole time, playing with new friends, in the pool, or doing activities. You get to meet like minded families and the atmosphere is so relaxed it's easy to mix in. We think it's the perfect active family holiday and we will be going again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boo4Boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 87 in Torquay
578 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,888 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#56 of 149 in Torquay
66 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#50 of 87 in Torquay
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PGL Barton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PGL Barton Hall

Property: PGL Barton Hall
Address: Barton Hall Kingskerswell Road, Torquay TQ2 8JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location near Torquay and popular with groups of all ages. There are many blue flag beaches close by and Dartmoor is also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barton Hall Hotel Torquay
Barton Hall Torquay
PGL Barton Hall Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing