We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first family PGL experience!”
Review of PGL Barton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
PGL Barton Hall
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I visited Barton Hall PGL with my Hubby & 3 children (ages 10, 15 &17). We didn't know what to expect other than our through our children's accounts of previous visits to other PGL centres. We were expecting one level up from camping but we were pleasantly suprised....

What a wonderful holiday!!

We were given a warm and friendly welcome by one of the many enthusiastic PGL staff members who even offered to help carry our luggage.

The chalet style accommodation was very clean and comfortable, and exceeded our expectations. (Think vintage Pontins chalets and you will be on the right track!)I was pleasantly suprised to find that it included room service of sorts... floors and beds cleaned/ made and bathroom replenished.

The food is canteen style and has ample good hearty food with veggie options too. You won't go hungry. Tip...take a few treats or goodies for occasional treats in the evening... although there are plenty of vending machines around.

The activities were varied and planned carefully with excellent supervision. Safety was always paramount. The staff really encouraged you to have a go.

The whole family, teenagers included got stuck in and enjoyed the whole week.

The outdoor heated pool was a real treat this scorching week. It was very, very clean and constantly supervised by two lifeguards.

A great way to meet like minded people and make new friends. WE WILL BE COMING BACK!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Treemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just spent the most amazing week at Barton Hall with our children aged 12, 13, 15 & 17. The activities were fun and very well planned, and we found the staff without exception to be incredibly friendly, welcoming & encouraging. Our accommodation was the adult & child room (which comprises adjoining chalets - the children having 2 sets of bunk beds in their room, and ours having twin beds). Both have private bathrooms and we also had tea/coffee making facilities. The rooms are small and basic but clean & perfectly suited for purpose. We were lucky in that we had a week of unbroken sunshine, so could dry towels/ swimwear on the low rail fences that border a lot of the chalets. There is however a laundrette: a wash is £1.50 (you don't need washing powder as it's preloaded with detergent) and dryers (£1) if you need it.

Make sure you pack a mixture of long and short sleeved tops and bottoms as different activities have different requirements, but they'll send you information about this before you arrive. I would definitely recommend taking water shoes if you have them, we did, they were perfect for the lake activities and saved getting soggy trainers - you will get wet!!

There are absolutely no complaints about the food - the hot meal choice is served canteen style, but you can help yourself to other items. They cater for special dietary requests too. You definitely don't need to take anything dressy for the evening - it's all very casual!

The dry ski-slope on site is owned by a separate company, we had the opportunity to pay to use it during one of our flexi-sessions; but also found that on a couple of occasions whilst we were there we could swap one of our timetabled sessions at no extra cost, but don't expect it to be part of your planned programme.

There were a last few school groups in whilst we were there - we couldn't believe what a good job PGL do of keeping the schools hidden though! Families are scheduled for different meal times from the schools groups and there are separate venues that they hold their evening entertainment in, so the only time we were really aware of them was when they were on the move around the site, but it wasn't a problem.

PGL is wonderful for active families who want to spend time together, it's a very social and inclusive holiday with lots of integration between families. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Suzanne_Thorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and a good experience on the whole.

Accommodation is basic but to be expected and although small can't moan about room too much. Very hot however which made sleeping uncomfortable.

Activities were varied and of a good quality on the whole, however can be frustrating when the majority of activties are 2 person activties resulting in longer waits.

Staff are 99% great and personable although 1 or 2 are monotone and unenthusiastic but law of averages suggests this anyway.

Food is varied but more quantity than quality but this is to be expected i guess.

A great experience for kids who shouldn't be affected by the above issues like an adult would. Great for families and young people!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Spent a week with the kids doing more activities in one week than they probably do all year. Activities run into the evening 9-10ish if you have the energy. Staff is brill-- positive attitudes from everyone-even the catering staff. The buffet style food is good enough to get by, you generate good appetite from all the activities that you don't mind. Accomodation is basic but at least it's not camping! beds and linen were comfortable and clean. Shower is very lacking- dark, loud extraction fan. half broken shower curtain, took forever to get hot, looks grimy, slow drain. Not much closet space so we lived out of our suitcases. nowhere to put your wet swim/canoe gear (we ended up leaving on the rails by the swimming pool . unless you are ones placed in the chalets which open to porch area.)

lots of people used the bar in the evening to get popcorn and drink. Wifi is poor but shame on you spending your family holiday on the internet! if you want hot chocolate, bring your own as the hot drink machine is locked up after 8pm(inside the shop). you will get wet and mucky in canoeing and raft building so bring wet gear on shoes you don't mind ruining.

for all the inconveniences, the activities and experience was so good, a great bonding time with the family, you practically see the kids grow in confidence over the week. kids just love it (and it's a better environment for the adults than Butlins). you'll need another holiday to relax when you're done with this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heehawEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Yes the food is basic, and yes the accommodation is basic, but what can you expect for the price? There are activities planned from morning until evening, there are bars if you just want a drink and there's a (heated) outdoor pool and games room if you have a spare moment. 99% of the staff are brilliant, the views are lovely. Torquay and paignton are close by, with a water park for your day off, or you can relax by the pool. We took our children, 7, 10 and 12 and they loved it and are desperate to go back next year. We had adjoining rooms so got some peace and the room was clean, had comfortable beds and tea/coffe making facilities. The only addition I could have done with is a drying rack.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The whole week's experience was great on the whole. There were lots of pluses however, our shower was mouldy. Three time, I asked for it to be cleaned until something was finally done about it but not very well. The whole of the bathroom area needed redecorating, as it smelled dodgy all week. To be fair, we were offered another room in the main house but it was on the top floor and the chalet was better positioned, so I cleaned the bathroom myself and we just stayed put. Some of the accommodation was definitely better than others, but I suppose it's pot luck as to which chalet/room you get. Other than that I couldn't fault it. The bedding seemed fairy new and the quilt and pillow very clean and comfortable. If you need more pillows then ask straight away, as they ran out of them, but they gave me an extra quilt to use as a pillow! The really active activities were more popular with the kids, whereas the less active activities were a little boring. Food was fine. Most of instructors were fine. Loved the position, surrounded by woodland - beautiful. Children want to go again.

Room Tip: No idea! Perhaps, request a good room at time of booking??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Fantastic Holiday!
Just come back from PGL Barton Hall, very near Torquay. I went with my wife and two children 7 and 10 years and we all loved it. It's a great location well worth staying an extra couple of nights to explore Torbay. We were on a long weekend Friday to Monday and we got absolutely loads done, 4 activities a day and 2 on Monday. The instructors are fantastic, so friendly and very good with the kids. The only thing that let us down was the accommodation, very basic, but clean and the food, not much choice and you can’t have seconds!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,116 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#56 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glenorleigh
Glenorleigh
#57 of 149 in Torquay
73 reviews
2 mi away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#50 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PGL Barton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PGL Barton Hall

Address: Barton Hall Kingskerswell Road, Torquay TQ2 8JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Torquay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location near Torquay and popular with groups of all ages. There are many blue flag beaches close by and Dartmoor is also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barton Hall Hotel Torquay
Barton Hall Torquay
PGL Barton Hall Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing