We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel rooms are a very small problen as are the bathrooms.”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2011

The hotel it self is lovely well decorated and very very clean, the food on the whole is lovely with quite a good sellection of choices. Its the rooms that are tiny, you have to kneel down on the bed to open the wardrobe and drawers, the bathroom is the smallest I have ever seen twice I banged my head on the sink picking something up and to turn around you catch your heels on the shower cubicle, if you like a bit of privacy when getting dressed these are not the rooms for you. It is a physical impossability to get changed in the bathroom. You can up grade to a larger room, we didnt know this till the next day. To be honest my first impression as I walked into the room was of dissapointment. We had room 12 our view was of the back end of the kitchen wall, no garden no sea no nothing. Please when booking ask not to have this room it will spoil your holiday. I think you can take pets as we saw two dogs walking freely around the hotel. This is only based on the rooms we had. The beds are 2 foot six inches so quite small. Be carefull when turning on sink taps they splash all over the toilet and floor.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirley-robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

Very pleasant, comfortable hotel. Surperb breakfast. We were visiting relatives nearby and didn't therefore book for an evening meal - but the daily menu looked really good. Only stayed for a couple of days, but the children really loved the place, lovely gardens and since the weather was good, we were able to take advantage of them. Booked in early (no problems as room was ready for us) and the bar was open, which was an added bonus. Overall a very relaxing few days in Torquay and will definitely be returning later in the year. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangerous67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We have just spent a very pleasant weekend at this hotel and the customer service from the staff was superb. The food was 4* quality with a good choices and extremely good value.

If we have any complaint it would be the matress on the bed which was very soft and not at all conducive to a good night's sleep. Some of the guests went to bed in the early hours passing our room on route which did not help.

We felt that overall for the price of a weekend at the Balmoral one could not get better value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenthatway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

A three night stay, 2 different starter/mains/dessert dinner choice each day + cheesboard and tea/coffee which is served in the lounge. Full range of breakfast menu including kippers and haddock. Excellent finger lunch time buffet on the Friday whilst watching royal wedding. Menu was imaginative and tasty, waiting staff friendy and attentive, bottles of dinner wine from £12.95. My room number 19 was clean ensuite and a decent size I had no view but it was a quiet room, the room maid thoroughly cleaned the room every day including cups/teapot being put through the dishwasher and clean towels. 2 nights evening entertainment with dancing in the lounge was very good too no need to go out anywhere else. There are some lovely walks and places to visit around and about in Torquay but the area is hilly so some many need to use the Taxi or bus service if not driving. This has been my second sping trip to Balmoral and Torquay and I have already booked again for 2012 so I would reccommend this hotel for adults as singles/couples or groups whom are especially accommadated for.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pymmes48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We enjoyed our four day/three night stay here, the meals were excellent, entertainment Friday & Saturday nights. Excellent choice of breakfasts & evening meal & very attentive service from all concerned in the dining room. What we liked was that after the main course they gave you time to let your meal go down before asking about desserts (we didn't have the desserts, we went straight to the cheese board!) Coffee was served in the lounge. Rocky the dog appeared then when the chocolate mints were served (although most people knew not to give dogs chocolates). Our only diappointment was the size of the bedroom (no 4). Small isn't the word! Paid for a sea view, we were going to ask for an upgrade to a larger room but it was fully booked. Be warned....very hilly on the walk to town centre. Up one hill, then down a l..o..n..g hill, which meant it had to be climbed on the way back. Did it once, then used our bus passes. All-in-all an excellent break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We really enjoyed our four night 'midweek break'. Nicely decorated, though small, bedroom; the hotel had plenty of character and we would jump at the opportunity to stay there again. The staff were very friendly and efficient, and the room cleaned well every day. The temperature of the shower was rather variable, however. The food was excellent throughout, with a wide range of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Incognitoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We found the ambience of this place perfect. Our few days there were met with friendly staff ,owners and Rocky dog.
The meals were amazing -choice and quality. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trendytrainers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
671 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 85 in Torquay
417 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £62 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing