We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I lead a party of twenty men on a golf tour of this south Devon resort (Torquay). We had a marvellous break away and could not believe that such high quality service came at such a low price.

I will certainly use this place again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drimptonbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

A wonderful stay in the Hotel Balmoral. I was made to feel very welcome and the staff were excellent. The room was comfortable and serviced well. As for the food - it well surpasses the 2* rating the hotel has. I would definitely recommend.
I have already booked for a weekend in April 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanglewood17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This establishemnt comes in two parts.
1. The restaurant. In my opinion the only thing that keeps this place afloat. Superb varied menus every day. Food really well prepared and severed really well by very efficient , obliging staff.
This part gets 5 out of 5 and was the only reason we stayed.
2. The bedrooms. Our room was number 25 a large ensuite.
The room is in need of a complete make over. The double bed was in fact two single beds pushed together with what the hotel receptionist claimed was a sipped and linked mattress.
The bath has not been changed in 10 years plastic side splt and not very clean, wooden toilet seat marked, the bowl could do with a good bleaching. The wall paper is peeling.
The room had just been made ready for us when we arrived. Found that the bedside light needed a replacement bulb. During the week had to ask for towels to be changed weven though we followed the replacement instructions. Reported the wall lights on one wall were not working and 5 days later when we left they still had not been looked at. The top of the wardrobe had about 2 ins of dust, had not seen a duster in a very long time.
On some of the stairs the carpet is threadbare and did not appear to have been swept during our stay. We will never stay there again and would not reccommend this hotel to anyone else.
Think the chef and restaurant staff should consider starting up their own business.

Room Tip: No experience of other rooms in this hotel. Web site does not seemed to give a true reflection of al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Lovely views over Meadfoot Bay. Booked a garden view and wasn't disappointed as sea view as well. Bed breakfast and evening meal. Food was varied to suit all tastes and plenty of it. Room slightly small but ok. Very good value and only a short walk to the town. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayersSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Have just spent a week on a half-board basis at the Hotel Balmoral and was sorry to leave. The staff were friendly and obliging, the food was excellently presented and full of flavour, the en-suite room was generously sized and the ambience of the establishment first class. In a nutshell my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you

Room Tip: ground floor room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4408davem408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My wife and I had a weekend break with friends at the Hotel Balmoral and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were lovely and the hotel itself is reminiscent or past times but in a lovely welcoming way. We had booked on a dinner bed and breakfast basis and were not disappointed. There was a varied menu on both evenings and service was excellent with a minimal delay. After exhausting walks and visits to the local attractions is was nice to get back, freshen up and then sit down to a five course dinner. Then to be able to relax in the comfortable lounge and chat with other residents was s real pleasure. I would recommend the hotel with just two provisos. The room we had overlooking the gardens was small but had all you could really want for the amount of time spent in it and for the less mobile there are no lifts.

Room Tip: Pay extra to overlook the gardens with a small view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

just returned from a relaxing stay at the hotel balmoral. the staff are all hardworking, friendly and very helpful. the food was all home made and amazing!! served piping hot, which is a bonus. rooms clean and very adequate.can definately reccomend the hotel to otheres. see you soon hotel balmoral!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sazs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
671 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 85 in Torquay
417 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £61 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing