We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Balmoral
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
377
181
43
18
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
181
43
18
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeadfoot beachcream tea on arrivalspecial weekendweekend breaksunday lunchcourse dinnerpremium roomsea viewlovely gardenwaiting staffhalf boardwell stocked barother guestslittle gembar pricesbus stopexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
513 - 518 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2012

very good stay at hotel balmoral .staff were very kind treated clients with the most utmost care .service was excellent .The food served at hotel was on par with some classic hotels i have stayed at . i would recommend thisHotel to all my friends

Room Tip: book a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I lead a party of twenty men on a golf tour of this south Devon resort (Torquay). We had a marvellous break away and could not believe that such high quality service came at such a low price.

I will certainly use this place again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drimptonbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

A wonderful stay in the Hotel Balmoral. I was made to feel very welcome and the staff were excellent. The room was comfortable and serviced well. As for the food - it well surpasses the 2* rating the hotel has. I would definitely recommend.
I have already booked for a weekend in April 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanglewood17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This establishemnt comes in two parts.
1. The restaurant. In my opinion the only thing that keeps this place afloat. Superb varied menus every day. Food really well prepared and severed really well by very efficient , obliging staff.
This part gets 5 out of 5 and was the only reason we stayed.
2. The bedrooms. Our room was number 25 a large ensuite.
The room is in need of a complete make over. The double bed was in fact two single beds pushed together with what the hotel receptionist claimed was a sipped and linked mattress.
The bath has not been changed in 10 years plastic side splt and not very clean, wooden toilet seat marked, the bowl could do with a good bleaching. The wall paper is peeling.
The room had just been made ready for us when we arrived. Found that the bedside light needed a replacement bulb. During the week had to ask for towels to be changed weven though we followed the replacement instructions. Reported the wall lights on one wall were not working and 5 days later when we left they still had not been looked at. The top of the wardrobe had about 2 ins of dust, had not seen a duster in a very long time.
On some of the stairs the carpet is threadbare and did not appear to have been swept during our stay. We will never stay there again and would not reccommend this hotel to anyone else.
Think the chef and restaurant staff should consider starting up their own business.

Room Tip: No experience of other rooms in this hotel. Web site does not seemed to give a true reflection of all rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Lovely views over Meadfoot Bay. Booked a garden view and wasn't disappointed as sea view as well. Bed breakfast and evening meal. Food was varied to suit all tastes and plenty of it. Room slightly small but ok. Very good value and only a short walk to the town. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Garden view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayersSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews