We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxed”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Rooms were very clean there has been new carpets fitted and rooms and decorated up to date. There was all that you needed in the room, very well equipped. The food was good portion sizes but you get what you pay for with standard. The hotel was kept in good order and the staff were very friendly and most helpful. The Balmoral's Scottish theme was a little dated in the reception and the smell on arrival was a little off putting, but realised that was due to the tired carpet in the entrance, reception and staircase, so would recommend that is updated too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had an excellent weekend, from the cream tea at the start to the farewell lunch on Sunday we had a wonderful time. The room was cosy yet large the food was plentiful and very tasty with a great variety and nothing was too much trouble with everything being done for those people with special dietary requirements. As always the staff was warm and friendly and you are made to feel extremely welcome. This was not our first stay at the Balmoral and it won’t be our last. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily life and have little rest and recuperation.

Room Tip: Just sak the staff - they will always help you get what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helend123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed for valentines weekend a party of six of us. We had a lovely time the staff Rhys, Alex and Lauren are so friendly and attentive. They are such lovely guys and really made out stay at the balmoral. The food here is wonderful, the entertainment was perhaps a little old school for us so we headed into town each night and were guided by Alex and Rhys in the best places to go. This hotel is amazing value for money and the owner is very welcoming. I will definitely be returning with my family and perhaps a few friends too. Ps thanks guys for helping me decide which of the starters to choose from lol :-)) many thanks to you all the McMahon family xxx

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathiemcma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Very enjoyable stay. Very comfortable room and food excellent. Staff always very helpful and with a pleasant manner. Small quiet beach a couple of minutes walk away and bus stop outside hotel for trips into town centre without needing to use car. Would stay again and have recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The food was exceptionally good and merited five stars. We enjoyed the entertainment and would like to thank all the staff who worked so hard on our behalf. We shall certainly come again, and would highly recommend the Hotel Balmoral.'

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chugglewump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Yet again, we had another fantastic stay at the Balmoral. A good location near the sea within easy reach of the town centre either by walking or bus stop just outside. Lovely food and good company, a real relaxing break. The staff are friendly and helpful and I have already recommended it to people who have stayed and will continue to do so.'

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We visited the Balmoral this New Year- our second visit, the last being in October 2010. We have never been on a New Year 'package' before and were a little hesitant about being a couple amongst a lot of 'unknown' people. We shouldn't have worried - all the great things we had previously enjoyed at the Balmoral : good food with excellent choices, comfortable well-decorated rooms, very reasonable drinks prices and lovely staff - were still the same and the other guests were great company. We discovered that some had been visiting the hotel for about 20 years. The entertainment was excellent - good music to suit all tastes and plenty of time for dancing, plus some fun quizzes with prizes and even some hilarious tongue-in-cheek bingo !
On the practical tips side : go for a bedroom with bath if you can as they're larger and ask for a sea view, as it's lovely; don't worry about a car, the local bus stops outside and Torquay station is very accessible from all over the country; go out of season if you can, the prices for 3/4 day stays are unbeatable.
The standard of everything at the Balmoral was first class and the staff are really excellent. Over the years we have stayed at some 5* establishments and the Balmoral can knock spots of a lot of them at a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Ask for one with bath - bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonAnnabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 86 in Torquay
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
656 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing