We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were booked in for 2 nights from the 14th June, for our Honeymoon. We drove nearly 6 hours to get there, but when we arrived,and we were shown to our room, to say we were disappointed would be an understatement...

The room was dirty, half an inch of dust on lamps, something had been spilt on the bedside tables and not when up, i scraped it off with my nail, it also looked as if someone had thrown some kind of drink up the window.

We had booked a kingsize room, to be given 2 singles bolted together,badly, the headboards overlapped.

After discussing it,my Husband & I decided not to stay, but when we informed the Lady at reception of this, she didnt even enquire as to why we were leaving.

Completely ruined the trip as we had to then drive another 6 hours tp alternative accomodation..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We visited this hotel and thought it 'looked nice' however the reality was far more impressive. The service is absolutely brilliant, Alex the manager is a credit to the hotel and if only every hotel manager (and we've encountered a few) were as pleasant, friendly and most of all as helpful as he was. He gave us lots of information, was helpful with everything and was generally an nice chap to deal with. Additionally Nuno in the restaurant and the other waitress were very helpful and were provided great service.
The drawing room/lounge/bar area of the hotel are lovely and relaxing and the hotel gardens and patio area are a big plus, especially on a sunny day.
The food is of a very high standard and clearly the chef knows what he/she's doing. We were celebrating one of our birthdays whilst we were there they kindly gave us an absolutely fantastic cake at no charge, Additionally the location of the hotel is great, with some lovely coastal walks and a quiet beach nearby and 10-15 minute walk into Torquay centre.
This is a great base for a weekend or a holiday and we loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodToGetAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

8 of us just got back from a wonderful weekend the food and service was of a 3 star hotel but its only 2 .all the food is homely cook and the room with had room 5 was lovely nothing was two much trouble for all the staff our waitress was really ;lovely we are all going back so lovely

Room Tip: rooms 3 and 5 are lovely sea and garden viwes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee42d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel's surpassed all our expectations. Firstly Id like to comment on the hard working staff. They work long hours and always have a big smile on their face, always willing to help. Alex the hotel manager was very helpful and gave us directions to a number of local places and was always happy to chat. Nuno was our waiter morning and evening and also served our welcome cream tea(which was delicious!) The other waitress was also very helpful and requested a birthday cake for us as we were celebrating whilst we were away which was very nice!!!
The food was brilliant. 5 courses every night...you will not go Hungary!! The quality of the food was outstanding and the price of drinks was also very reasonable. The lounge and drawing room are a great asset and good to get talking to people and meet other guests. The singer on the Friday night, Steve Parr was very good. Very high standard. I am not surprised he has been snapped up by the cruise ships!

The garden was beautiful and made it for us. We were fortunate enough to have some lovely weather and we had cream tea on the lawn whilst reading and looking out to mead foot beach.

It is in a good location. There is a beautiful coastal walk into the town centre, or an more direct route through the streets. Both very hilly but a nice walk all the same. If you want to get a taxi this is only £4.

We are already looking at when we can come back as it was really fantastic and great value for money. Do not hesitate in booking this hotel's you will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed at the balmoral at Easter with my husband and sister, food was excellent and staff very helpfull. Lovely hotel paid little extra to have a larger room well worth it, room 23. We are visiting my family again shortly and defenetaly going to this hotel again. Would recommend this hotel as it was very clean and homely. Pauline.

Room Tip: Room 23 was very large nice bathroom plenty of space just paid little more but well worth it. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We spent a very enjoyable weekend at the Balmoral and were not really sure what to expect.
Our room was surprisingly large and very comfortable.
Our greeting was very pleasant and although we were too late for our cream tea we were promised it the following day. Promise delivered and a very nice cream tea indeed.
We stayed on a special weekend deal which included dinner and Sunday Lunch. The food was excellent although we had to leave before Sunday Lunch (pity).
We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank algie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This was our first visit, but from the moment we stepped in we felt like part of the family. I was amazed at how many of the visitors come every year and made us feel so welcome as well as the staff. The food was excellent home made food with good choice. There was 8 of us and the service in the restaurant was timed perfectly between each of the 5 courses. There were enough tables in the restaurant for the whole hotel to be seated in 1 go, and the same in the entertainment room which meant we could relax on both occasions knowing we would get a seat! The room was very clean and comfortable, the bathroom does need updating but it was very clean and we were hardly in our room so didn't worry us at all. All the rooms seem light and spacious. Is close enough for a hilly walk to the town shopping (about 10 mins) however on the last night the taxi ride was only £4 between 4 of us so that was welcome too! The beach is beautiful and is only a 2 min walk, wish we had more sunsine! And the coastal walk a super walk too. Entertainment was good traditional singing and jokes. And drinks were reasonable. Would highly recommend and will definitely go back! Thanks for a brilliant weekend!

Room Tip: Option to go across and have a spa and swim for only £6 if weather isn't kind to you, or you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
603 reviews
1.2 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
1.1 mi away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £68 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing